We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riviera Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Riviera Hotel to your Saves list
Riviera Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.646 Linsen North Road, Taipei 104, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 505 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed at the Rivera Hotel for two nights in May 2013 - and hands down this is one of my favourite hotels as of to date! Each and every one of the staff provided excellent customer service; they were friendly, professional, efficient, and always went over and beyond to ensure that all our inquiries were addressed. The way we were treated as valued guests at the hotel had really made our stay exceptionally pleasant and comfortable.

The hotel itself is absolutely breathtakingly beautiful. The architecture is of a quaint elegance, featuring designs that captures both Asian and European influences, there is also plentiful of natural lighting in the rooms...

The breakfast selection is also one of the best: fresh and with a lot of options for anyone who prefers either Chinese or Western food choices.

I have only good things to say about my stay at this hotel. When I visit Taipei again, without a doubt I will be booking my stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QWERTY_123_456_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Nice hotel. The bathroom even provides laundry detergent! It's not as close to an MRT station as other hotels but very close to a familymart, 7-11. It's close to the Taipei Songshan Airport, which looks like a problem, but you can't hear the planes! Very quiet. The work out room is extremely tiny but clean. The roof was fun to explore and thanks to the close proximity to the airport, it made for a very interesting view! We did have a drink during happy hour, which is buy one- get one free so we drank taiwan beer. The bed was comfortable but the room never got cool enough for me. My husband slept like a baby. The staff was very friendly and breakfast had made to order eggs. They offer free wi-fi and a shuttle around to a few hot spots in taiwan. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tkap_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

nice staff, breakfast is also good. rooms a large, clean but a little dated. bit of a walk from the mtr but taxi are cheap. if you have tome then go for a walk in the flower park. not sure why there a 200 word minimum but can't really think of anything else to write, so i'm just rambling on. overall taipei was an ok weekend but not really a place to go with family and young kids. its best done with friends or couples.. lots of food to eat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raz1260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Although its a distance walk away from taipei101, I really enjoy staying in this hotel. Although the exterior appearance seems square, the interior is clean, and neat.
The check in is straight forward. The room although is a little old, but everything is in good order. The bed linen does not have any funky smell etc.
breakfast is simple, refreshing served with good English speaking staff.

Would rate this as good as international chains

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mokette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Not the best hotel in Taipei, but there are very few good hotels in the city and they charge a huge a mount. This is a boutique hotel outside the centre and not near any metro stations, so it is not so expensive.

The standard rooms are fairly small and rather olf fashioned, but clean. They have spartan facilities, and they remind guests that every item in the rom has a cost- even the slippers. There is a small gym. Little in the way of TV channels for westerners.

My room was overlookonh the main road- and the windows are not double glazed, so fairly noisy.

It is not easy to find a hotel with even this average description in Taipei. So if you are on a budget this hotel shold be considered.

Room Tip: Ask for a room NOT looking onto the main road if you want a peaceful stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nemo149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel is not one of the newest or biggest hotels in Taipei, but I would say it's one of the best quality you can get.

First of all, the room is big and nice and very clean everywhere.
For people who have longer stay like us, it's really nice to have space to unpack totally and store 2 big suitcases. The bed is very nice for sleep and the sound isolation from the windows is good, so even there is a construction site just in the back of the hotel and flights flying over its head, we didn't hear anything during our stay.
Inside the room, everyting and every details are considered ad well maintaned.

The staff are very friendly ad helpful and no problem to commuicate in English.
And they managed to make it peace and quiet in every corner in the hotel so it's not like noisy tourist hotels. Big plus.

The breakfast is one of the most recommeded I would say.
You ca find both Asian and western options on the buffet table and they taste really good.
If you prefer western breakfast as my boyfriend, the bread/cheese is good and the bacon is right crispy. The omelet is good too. The coffee is strong enough according to the scandinavian standard. And, the fresh passion fruit is one of the favorites (it has been well cut and processed so very easy to enjoy. BTW, taiwanese fruits are great tasty, never plain or boring).
If you prefer Asian breakfast like me, the plain congee and different small side dishes are classic option. The steam fish with soya(?) sauce and the green vegitables are my favorites. You can also enjoy well-made dim sum as living in HongKong. If you want to be more japanese style, there are also steamed rice and seaweed soup and yakult to start a day.
They do make sure you have a good breakfast whatever you prefer cold or warm meal.

There is also gym in the hotel but we didn't have time to use it. Pity.
The functionality around the hotel is rather convenient; there is a FamilyMart opening 24 hours just next to the hotel - easy to buy any small supply or pick up tickets. There is also a post office in walk distance and MRT station is around 10 minutes away by walk. Many dining places are available around the hotel even in late night.

If I have to be picky and say something bad about our stay in this hotel, the only thing I may complain is that there is no hooks by the room enterance so we couldn't hang our coats or winter jackets by the entrance but to hang them with other clothes in the closet. Small minus.

In general, this hotel is definitely worthy the money they charged.
In this hotel, you really see what the word "quality" stands for.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eratolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We arrived early and had to wait for our room we where showen to a confortable sitting lounge offered water coffee 0r tea
We where showen where the free wifi was that made the time fly
The staff are very friendly and nothing is to much trouble
We did not have much time to look around the hotel area as we where going on tours but found plenty of all kinds of budgets eating places

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dillon022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel Taipei
Imperial Hotel Taipei
#88 of 505 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 stars 473 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gloria Residence
Gloria Residence
#34 of 505 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
0.5 mi away
Landis Taipei Hotel
Landis Taipei Hotel
#42 of 505 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 stars 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Miramar Garden Taipei
Miramar Garden Taipei
#69 of 505 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 stars 349 reviews
2.6 mi away
Park Taipei Hotel
Park Taipei Hotel
#73 of 505 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 stars 492 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sense
Hotel Sense
#164 of 505 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel

Address: No.646 Linsen North Road, Taipei 104, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
#24 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#32 Business Hotel in Taipei
#38 Family Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Riviera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riviera Hotel Taipei is proud to be the First and Only hotel in Taiwan to receive our LEED Gold Certification in November, 2012.Situated at the business hub of bustling Taipei city stands an international traveler oasis of serenity and refinement --- the Riviera Taipei boutique hotel, has 112 rooms; a Mediterranean Steak House restaurant, a Yacht Club restaurant, and a banquet room that can seat 240 people banquet style.The Riviera Taipei boutique hotel is designed by the world-renowned French architect, Mr. Gerard Jardonnet, with the theme of cordial sophistication of southern France, punctuated by the mystic authenticity of the Orient. Apart from the traditional accommodation service, the Riviera Taipei Hotel offers to her room guests quite a number of additional benefits completely free of charge. Internet Wired and Wireless Internet Access completely FREE of charge ANYWHERE within the boutique Riviera Taipei Hotel.Free Shuttle To MRT Yuanshan Station, CKS Memorial Hall, Yongkang St, Taipei 101, Confucius Temple, Shilin Night Market, CKS Shilin Residence, National Palace Museum and Taipei World Trade Center / Nangang Exhibition Center during Major Trade Shows in fixed period of time. The Riviera Taipei hotel is adjacent to Taipei Expo Park.Nearby attractions are Shihlin Night Market and National Palace Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing