We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great workout facility” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Taipei

Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt Taipei to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Taipei
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.2 Song Shou Road, Xinyi District, Taipei 110, Taiwan (Xinyi District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #37 of 428 hotels in Taipei
Newburyport, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great workout facility”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is a fairly typical Grand Hyatt in a great location in Taipei. Right next to the 101 building, City Hall, and the convention center. The lobby area is nice, the restaurant buffet was good for breakfast and lunch and the hotel bar was pretty good. Now the room itself was a little dated in terms of décor - not bad, but just a little 1999. Not the sort of high end bathroom you'd expect from a new 4 star hotel in the US. I took a trip down to the gym and was pretty blown away- very nice main room, spin studio, crazy locker room with hot tubs, nice outdoor pool and spa. The service was outstanding, but this was my first trip to Asia, so maybe it's like this everywhere. So on the whole, the rooms need to be redecorated/updated, the rest of the hotel is very nice and the location is top notch.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    273
    289
    104
    40
    10
See reviews for
83
90
93
389
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

as my conference was at the TCC next to taipei 101, i was happy to be staying at the grand hyatt which is only a 5 minute walk away - it was also good to have the taipei city hall park nearby and my wife was pleased to find a great open air market on a side street opposite the Sun Yat Sen memorial within easy walking distance. the breakfast buffet was good, especially the local selection and service was friendly and excellent. on the negative side, its a 1km walk from the nearest metro station and there are not a lot of interesting restaurants nearby. whilst the lobby is vast, the rooms are small with low ceilings.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The hotel was old and poorly maintained always crowded with banquet guests at the lobby. F&B options were horrible. One evening I was asking the concierge where was a good place in the hotel for a drink. I was surprised to learn that the lobby lounge closed at 5PM, the cafe closed at 9:30PM, the bar opens at 10PM. I was telling myself what kind of five star hotel is this. I was not even sure it is up tp Grand Hyatt standard

Room Tip: Dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Ive been meaning to share my experiences of the Grand Hyatt Taipei for a long while. Ive been staying at this hotel since 2006 and must have stayed on at least 15 separate occasions. My last visit was in June 2012, though I understand not much has changed since then.

The Hyatt is a large hotel, conveniently located next to the 101 and close to the main Xinyi attractions. If you are unfamiliar with Taipei (and I used to live there), Xinyi has the most modern area in Taipei, meaning the Hyatt is in a prime location.

While I remain fond of the Hyatt, ive watched the hotel slowly decay over the years. Built in 1989, the Hyatt is now showing it's age - with the ageing process made worse by some cheap construction and being punished by Taipei's sub-tropical climate.

While room sizes are large, the decor and furniture is dated and in need of renovation. The same applies to the bathrooms, which look and feel very tired. Every room contains a grubby bedside console from which you can control the room lights. In room TVs are also old, with remote controls worn. However, the worst thing about the rooms is their dingy, dark decor. What with low ceilings, its no wonder locals consider the place is haunted, as the rooms certainly have little ambiance. All that said, the rooms are clean and I always slept well enough. For a large hotel, the Hyatt is quiet and I never suffered from noise.

Service at the Hyatt is good to excellent, with friendly staff doing their best to make up for the ageing hotel. Almost all staff speak good english. The Hyatt is a large hotel (nearly 1000 rooms) and contains several bars and restaurants. The main bar is zigga zagga, which is a spacious, decent bar, well suited to one on one meetings, or a quiet drink. Bar food is also good and I used to think their fish and chips was the best I ever tasted! Breakfast at the hotel is still good, though used to be even better. The same goes for the Hyatt's buffett, which used to be legendary, though doesnt quite meet those highs these days.

Ultimately, your decision to stay at the Taipei Hyatt comes down to the following: 1) Your budget and the room price you get; 2) How much luxury you desire.

I used to stay at the Taipei Hyatt as a business traveler. I stayed at the Hyatt as I knew I could get a decent nights sleep, at a conveniently located hotel. My desire for true luxury was tempered by my need to get a relatively cheap room rate, as my company was paying.

If I had a bigger budget, or was looking greater luxury, then I wouldnt stay at the Hyatt. Xinyi has witnessed the arrival of several new 5* hotels in recent years, including the W Hotel, which is a hip and swanky as it gets. However, you will pay through the nose for this.

The decision is yours.

One last word. Yes, its true that the locals think the Hyatt is haunted. Most of my old colleagues (from when I lived in Taipei) told me they would never consider staying at the hotel. The story goes that the Hyatt was built on the grounds of a former execution site. I heard two versions of this story - that it was either a secret KMT execution site, or that it was an execution site used during the Japanese occupation. Either way, many Taiwanese believe there are bad spirits at the site. Someone in the management team clearly believes it as (as has been widely reported), there several framed Daoist Spells (warding off evil spirits) in the hotel's reception. The hotel also uses a number of other fung shui devices to keep away the undead.

My view? Well, after 15 or so visits to the hotel, I can say I never saw, or heard anything and slept soundly. You should remember that the Chinese/ Taiwanese are a very superstitious bunch. As my great grandmother used to say: "Its not the dead you should be worried about.. Its the living!" She should know. She ran a funeral directors business during the 1940s in London!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Nice hotel in Taipei. Convenient location, in the middle of the city, really close to the famous 101 Mall. Comfortable rooms, kind staff. The japanese restaurant is not the best, but if go to the lounge you have excellent selection of fruit, cheese, salads, desserts, coffee, tea, good wine, and always a choice of hot food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with city view, not courtyard view, to have privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leysin, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I usually stay at the Grand Hyatt when I am in Taipei because of the location and the service. My last stay here was such a disappointment. The service that I was given was just not what it was.

At the concierge desk I see only one familiar face when it used to be several. The ladies that used to work at the Concierge desk was wonderful and would always go above and beyond their call of duty. They would remember you even though you have been away from the hotel for several months. Now you're lucky if they remember your request.

I arrive at the hotel late at night and there was no line checking in. The check in process was fine. However it took a long time time for my luggage to reach my room. Late at night you just want to unpack your bag and turn in for the night.

The front door used to be well staffed but not this stay. Perhaps the times I was entering and exiting the hotel was when all front door personnel was busy.

The guest rooms are comfortable although some rooms the work area need more light. In this room I did not have a table lamp. The hotel guests rooms are currently undergoing renovation and it is needed as some rooms are showing signs of wear and tear.

The gym and spa is great and well maintained. That is one of the plus of the hotel. And the other is the location of the hotel. Being next to Taipei 101 and city hall, the hotel is within walking distances of shops and the metro.

Try to get a room rate that includes internet as internet is not free here and it is expensive. Hotel prices for international chains in Taipei is high. Perhaps it is time for me to find a local chain.

Room Tip: Always ask for a quiet room so you're not put on a floor where there are tour groups as this can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed 10 nights at the hotel. The location was decent because I could gaze at Taipei 101 from my room. There's also a sheltered walkway to 101, and the nearby malls. However it is a bit of a walk to the City Hall station (650m) which can be covered in 5 to 10 mins but a bit of a drag if it's raining. There are many malls around so there is no lack of restaurants for dining but they are a tad on the pricey side.

I find the interior of the hotel rather dated. It definitely needs a renovation which the hotel is undertaking. However, rooms are clean and 2 televisions are provided in a single room so if you want to view different channels from your companion, you have the option of doing so.

The food selection for breakfast at the hotel was rather limited and I did wish they had more choices of food. It was rather boring eating similar items for 10 days but on the bright side, the quality of food was decent.

The gym was lovely, lots of equipment and space. I only found out on my last night that there was a hot bath facility but did not have the time to try it out.

Service quality was inconsistent. Most of the time the service staff were really friendly but on a couple of occasions, they did not seem very friendly though they were still helpful.

All in all, the hotel is decent but I'm not sure it's worth the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hyatt Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Taipei

Address: No.2 Song Shou Road, Xinyi District, Taipei 110, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Taipei > Xinyi District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Taipei
#18 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#32 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
#39 Family Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hyatt Taipei 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Taipei hotel anchors the city’s most vibrant commercial centre in the Xinyi district. Adjacent to Taipei 101 Mall and Financial Tower, this 5 star luxury business hotel is conveniently linked to the Taipei World Trade Centre, the Taipei International Convention Centre and the Exhibition Halls. Located in the heart of Taipei’s most dynamic business, shopping and entertainment district, our hotel in Taipei affords both business and leisure travellers the utmost in convenience.The grandeur of the atrium lobby, entrance and driveways projects the luxurious image of Grand Hyatt Taipei, where the design concept is centered on embracing the local culture. while also offering grand, luxurious and innovative style. The hotel’s guestrooms and suites have a residential ambience offering scenic views of Taipei 101, the mountains and Taipei city, while our Grand Club rooms provide added luxury and personalised services. The residential, apartment-style suites on the top floor of the hotel provide distinct and exclusive accommodation, as well as stunning views over the city. Grand Hyatt Taipei is a city hotel that offers a variety of culinary choices in its multi-cuisine restaurants and bars. Food and beverage options include Chinese seafood and grilled US prime steaks. Visitors can also unwind in relaxing and luxurious bars. Grand Hyatt Taipei is home to extensive meeting and event facilities, including a magnificent pillar-free Grand Ballroom and the grand residence, Taipei’s unique residential-style multi-event venue. All venues are professionally equipped and the hotel can host any event, from a private seminar for eight to a large convention for 1,200. Grand Hyatt Taipei also offers the best in luxury hotel recreation, including two 24-hour gymnasiums and an outdoor heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Amex, Tingo, AsiaRooms, Otel, Despegar.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Grand Hyatt Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Taipei Hotel Taipei
Taipei Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Taipei
Taipei Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Taipei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.