We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel buffet breakfast I've ever had” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Taipei

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Taipei to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Taipei
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.2 Song Shou Road, Xinyi District, Taipei 110, Taiwan (Xinyi District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #27 of 467 Hotels in Taipei
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Best hotel buffet breakfast I've ever had”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I stayed here for a meeting and the overall experience was solid. Rooms were clean, comfortable but bit a small and not optimally user-friendly. Room lights,TV and phones were very confusing to use but plenty of outlets at the desk, at least. Staff were very professional and accommodating, for example providing a last minute breakfast to-go because of our 6 am checkout. On the other hand, the inclusive breakfast was exceptional in the variety of Western and Asian choices, and food quality and freshness. Best I've ever eaten!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    371
    114
    44
    12
See reviews for
115
128
106
525
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zhongli, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

No question - the rooms and facilities are 5-star.
But their attitude is just HYATT ... They wouldn't let me check in at 1pm - even I am sure that another travel-group checked out early morning - and the rooms should be available.
They charge additional fee for Internet per hour and don't provide wireless internet for phones or tablets. For a small travel group they offered me ridiculus cancellation terms - they wanted 80% payment if cancelled 2 weeks before arrival. And the prices are far too high for Taipei. After I had another bad experience in a Hyatt hotel in India - I will avoid this arrogant hotel-chain in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Grand Hyatt Taipei is a well-maintained establishment, as what you would expect from the Hyatt chain. Its convenient location is a huge plus, with many sites of interest nearby: Taipei 101, world trade center expo halls, city hall, and Sun Yat-Sen Memorial Hall all within walking distance. Rooms are comfortable and there's a variety of good food for breakfast. Professional service.

Room Tip: try to upgrade to club-level rooms on 20th-25th floors if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

I have always stayed at Grand Hyatt whenever I'm in Taipei .

We arrived very early but was allowed to check in - no problem at all. Checking in was fast and pleasant. The staffs in the hotel are all friendly and very helpful. Concierge arranged for phone charger when I realized I forgot to pack one. The lady at the gift shop downstairs was very helpful and gave me directions to the nearest pharmacy when I needed to get some medications. They are always smiling and acknowledging us when we walked pass.

The lobby of the hotel is very grand with big chandeliers and big Christmas tree ( we were there around Christmas) The hotel is well maintained although you can tell that it is getting a bit old.

The rooms are very big, we can easily fit 3 beds and still have plenty of room to walk around. The bathroom has all the amenities and we were given 3 bottles of water everyday. As I was travelling with a 4 year old, they also provided cute little toiletries for her.

The hotel is located right opposite Taipei 101 with a connecting bridge and covered walkway all the way to Mitsukoshi Department Store. Very handy as it was raining when we were there.
There is a supermarket opposite the hotel in 101. Bought all our snacks and drinks there. I did not eat at the hotel this time as I preferred to venture out for my meals. There are plenty of good restaurants as well as cheap food within walking distance from the hotel.

Taxis are cheap in Taipei and it is easy to get one. I prefer travelling everywhere by taxis with kids in tow so I don't mind even if there are no near metro stations around here.

Grand Hyatt would be the choice again if I'm back in Taipei!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Excellent rooms, quite and comfortable place. Great room and restaurant service, variety and tasty food. A great spread for breakfast and many more. The hotel is very good and close to Taipei 101. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try to get higher floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

As you would expect from the Hyatt chain, this is a very nice hotel. The property is showing slight signs of aging, but overall it is a pretty good property.

Rooms are nice, and if you can get a good price on the club level, it is a very nice upgrade. Even the standard rooms are comfortable, with top line amenities all around.

The dining options are good as well. For breakfast, you can't beat the cafe where they have a large buffet with most everything you can ask for. Food quality is very good, though special beverage options are charged extra.

For lunch meetings, I recommend going to Cheers. It's a nice setting, not too loud and the food is good with a fair amount of selections.

The property iteself is in a great location. You are right next door to the massive shopping of Taipei 101, and within walking distance you have other local as well as international options. Don't be too afraid to try one of the local noodle shops by the park. You may want a locals help for translations, but the food there is much less expensive and depending on the shop, quite good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the Taipei 101 tower for a nice view at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

great room suites with comfortable bed to room service and amenities makes more comfortable in the hotel.located in best place to go around in taipei. walking distance to the tallest tower of world and all shopping places makes your time saved a lot

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Taipei

Address: No.2 Song Shou Road, Xinyi District, Taipei 110, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Taipei > Xinyi District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Taipei
#12 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#30 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
#34 Family Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hyatt Taipei 4.5*
Number of rooms: 853
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Taipei is a luxury Taipei Hotel which anchors the city's most vibrant commercial centre in the Xinyi district. Adjacent to Taipei 101 Mall and Financial Tower, this Taipei 5 star hotel is conveniently linked to the Taipei World Trade Centre, the Taipei International Convention Centre and the Exhibition Halls.The grandeur of the atrium lobby, entrance and driveways projects the luxurious image of Grand Hyatt Taipei, where the design concept is centered on embracing the local culture. while also offering grand, luxurious and innovative style.The hotel's guestrooms and suites have a residential ambience offering scenic views of Taipei 101, the mountains and Taipei city, while our Grand Club rooms provide added luxury and personalised services. The residential, apartment-style suites on the top floor of the hotel provide distinct and exclusive accommodation, as well as stunning views over the city. Grand Hyatt Taipei is a city hotel that offers a variety of culinary choices in its multi-cuisine restaurants and bars. Food and beverage options include Chinese seafood and grilled US prime steaks. Visitors can also unwind in relaxing and luxurious bars. Grand Hyatt Taipei is home to extensive meeting and event facilities, including a magnificent pillar-free Grand Ballroom and the grand residence, Taipei's unique residential-style multi-event venue. All venues are professionally equipped and the hotel can host any event, from a private seminar for eight to a large convention for 1,200. Grand Hyatt Taipei also offers the best in luxury hotel recreation, including two 24-hour gymnasiums and an outdoor heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hyatt Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Taipei Hotel Taipei
Taipei Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Taipei
Taipei Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Taipei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.