We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay and good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Hotel Taipei

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Imperial Hotel Taipei to your Saves list
Imperial Hotel Taipei
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.600 Linshen North Road, Zhongshan District, Taipei 104, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 432 Hotels in Taipei
boston
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A nice stay and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Enjoyed our stay here and would consider staying here again. I booked the superior room and requested for to beds via a travel website. Upon arrival they said they did not receive the request but then upgraded us to a suite so we could have the two beds.

We liked our room and it looks quite new, which is a terrific value for what we paid. The hotel is also at an convenient location...just a few minutes walk from a subway stop that is not a long ride from the Taipei Station. It is also close to quite many casual food places, which we also enjoyed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    178
    43
    11
    4
See reviews for
59
38
38
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed there for business, upgraded to a club room on 12th floor. Staff very good and friendly and nice breakfasts, had dinner in the bar on 2nd night and in the main restaruant on 3rd night. They had a steak special in the restaurant and the meal was excellent. Around the area there are several restaurants and many bars. The hotel is older but it does have style.
Had a nightly turn down service and I was in my room on both occasions when his happened I must say they were very professional. The rates are OK and it's a good location, recommend this hotel, I will stay here on my next trip

Room Tip: The hotel only has 12 floors so no real views, stay on club floor if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Many 3- to 4-star hotels in Taipei city which are within 300 meters of a MRT station cost USD100/night. I was pleasantly surprised to find an offer in Agoda for 5-star Imperial Hotel Taipei (華國大飯店) at USD92/night for Superior Double, without breakfast. Imperial’s website rate for Superior room was TWD8,000/night (USD275).

Imperial was an old hotel built in the 1960s but recently refurbished, and was formerly an Intercontinental hotel. Our corner room on 12F had new bathroom fittings and furniture. It had a king bed with 4 pillows, LCD TV, free wifi, hairdryer, safe, kettle, minibar, bathrobe. The work table was well-lighted with table lamp and ceiling LED lights, and a multi-plug electrical socket which was a nice fixture for international guests. However, it was puzzling that the bed had only one bedside table and lamp. The other side had electrical socket, but the side table was missing. Room was large with 2 wardrobes and 2 aircond vents and controls.

The bathroom was big, with bathtub, separate shower cubicle, magnifying mirror, and a very long wash basin counter. The Toto toilet had bidet with electronic controls, but instructions were in Chinese.

Imperial has 12 floors served by elevators. 13F is the Fitness Center. There is no swimming pool. Club rooms are on 10F-11F. The function rooms and breakfast room are on 2F. The restaurant, bar and bakery are on 1F. The building is completely non-smoking. Staff were helpful with information, and quite obliging. Official check-in time was 3:00pm. Although our flight arrived at 5:30am, and we were in the hotel lobby by 7:00am, we could not check-in because the room was unavailable. We left our bags with the bell captain, and explored the neighborhood. By 12:30pm, our room was ready.

Imperial is on Lin Shen North Road, about 200 meters north of the Zhongshan Elementary School MRT station (中山國小站). The Matsusei and Wellcome supermarkets on Shuangcheng Street Lane 19 are 1 block south of the Imperial. On Shuangcheng Street (雙城街) itself is a food street and a small shopping alley. About 10 meters north of Imperial is a bakery that sells pineapple cake (鳳梨酥) named after Taiwan President Ma Ying-jeou. About 200 meters north is the Riviera Hotel and another 100 meters east of Riviera is an entrance to the Taipei Expo Park.

We took the Kuo-Kuang express bus (TWD125, 30mins) from Taoyuan International Airport to Taipei Railway Station, and then took a taxi to Imperial. The AirBus West Line bus from Airport was supposed to stop almost at the doorstep of the Imperial, but the schedule was not regular. On our last day, we waited almost 45min at the bus stop to go to airport, but gave up and instead took a taxi to railway station and then the bus to airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhutan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Booked the reservation through Agoda, double deluxe room with two twin beds. My flight was slightly delayed and when I reach Taipei, it was already 9:30 at night. We were given a king bed, and the receptionist did not believe that I reserved a double deluxe room. After the manager confirmed with Agoda, she shamelessly said that it was already late at night and the double deluxe room is no longer available. Since we are here only to transit, we have no choice but spend a night here, in the hotel, where obviously it is the hotel's mismanagement of not providing us what we reserved. In the end, there is no more compensation or anything given by the hotel to make us feel better. Usually Taiwan service is good, but I guess I am just down on my luck!

The hotel is old, but clean. The bed is a little too soft, perhaps because it is also an old bed.

Room Tip: Re-confirm with the hotel what you require or reserve, because if you arrive a little late, you migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here for a week on a short break. The hotel was excellent in our opinion. Breakfast was very good and would suit most people. Our room was excellent with a separate lounge and bedroom. Everything was very clean and the service was excellent. We were traveling with an 8 month old baby and this was no problem at all. We were provided with a cot and all the hotel restaurants had high chairs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We had such a great time. The staff was so helpful and friendly. This hotel is pushing a 5 star rating. The room was spotless and roomy. Bed was excellent and very comfortable. We stayed on the club level for an extra few dollars a night and discovered it was well worth it, with evening drinks, afternoon tea and a very nice buffet and table service breakfast. We walked down to the second floor to see the non club level breakfast and it look great too but a little on the cramped / busy side. The hotel is old, I remembered when I was a young boy in the 60’s and lived across the street, it was a very nice hotel and I always wanted to stay there. This stay did not disappoint me, and lived up to my expectations. It did not look and feel old at all due to recent renovations. I highly recommend it. The cost to the hotel via taxi was only $1058 NT one way. The trip back to the airport ran a little higher $1200.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for club level; the extra perks are well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stayed at the Imerial Hotel Taipei for a business trip in June 2012. The staff was so friendly and helpful! The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. There was a "westerner" restaruant across the stree. Resturants, shops an a temple were within walking distance. Hotel was short walk to subway & taxis were very easy to get at front of the buidling. Great stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Imperial Hotel Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel Taipei

Address: No.600 Linshen North Road, Zhongshan District, Taipei 104, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#62 Business Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel Taipei 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Venere, AsiaRooms, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Imperial Hotel Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taipei Imperial Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Hotel Taipei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.