We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOSPITALITY!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Hotel Taipei

Save Saved
You added Imperial Hotel Taipei to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Imperial Hotel Taipei
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.600 Linshen North Road, Zhongshan District, Taipei 104, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 429 Hotels in Taipei
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“GREAT HOSPITALITY!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stayed at the Imerial Hotel Taipei for a business trip in June 2012. The staff was so friendly and helpful! The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. There was a "westerner" restaruant across the stree. Resturants, shops an a temple were within walking distance. Hotel was short walk to subway & taxis were very easy to get at front of the buidling. Great stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    177
    43
    11
    4
See reviews for
59
37
38
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Approx.10-15min by taxi from SonShan airport to hotel. Less than 1hr by airport limousin bus leaving from nearest bus stop (20 sec. walk from hotel main gate) to TaoYuan airport.
My room was reserved through Rakuten Travel & upgraded.
approx.10min walk to 中山國小 subway station, which is quite convenient to access any main places in Taipei, using rechargeable subway card.
Some staff having a difficulty to communicate in English, however, I'll surelymstay there again next time.
Don't miss the tea shop on way to subway station!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in a triple room. The room was on a low floor but fortunately overlooking the side street rather than the main Lin Sen N Road. Traffic noise was occasionally audible but did not bother us or keep us awake.

The hotel entrance and lobby didn't look very large from the outside, with a low ceiling, but deeper in was a nice atrium with a sweeping curved marble staircase to the restaurants on the second floor. Overhead was an atrium which pleasantly allowed light in.

The rooms were adequate with enough space for the extra bed. The safe was useful for keeping our electronic stuff when we didn't want to bring them along (large enough for an iPad!). The bathtub with shower curtain dated the hotel a bit, but there was enough space on the sink counter to put toiletries.

The breakfast buffet on the 2nd floor was excellent. There was a station where you could cook your own noodles, with choice of ingredients and type of noodles. There was also a significant section with Japanese food, as a nod to the large Japanese clientele. The dimsum in baskets were also rotated to have different varieties on the days we were there.

The location in the north part of the city meant it was far from the usual tourist attractions, but the Chung-Shan elementary school station was a 7-minute walk south, and there was always a taxi waiting at the hotel entrance. We usually would not take taxis while travelling, but given the short time we had and the language, we opted for taxis around Taipei.

This gave us a pleasant surprise as the taxi fares are relatively affordable, and even going from the north to the southeast of the city was about US$10, which took about 20 minutes in daytime traffic.

Shopping tip : For last-minute gifts to bring home, there is a pastry shop in the next block north of the hotel. Turn left on coming out the entrance and cross the small road. Their pineapple pastries are amongst the best. Way better than what you can get at the airport. Get the one which was named after the previous president.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

It was our first time staying at this hotel. We stayed for 8 nights in March 2012 at the Executive Floor.

We checked into a corner room which had a bad smoking odour that lingered throughout the night.

I called the Duty Manager and she explained that her staff would try to remove the odour the next day when we are away at work.

True enough, the odour was no longer in the room when we returned in the evening!

The Lounge service was impeccable.

The staff was always eager to assist and listen to the guests' needs. Even though the hotel has a Neo-Classic design which is rather dated, the hotel service is warm, genuine and sincere.

One small problem, the walls and ceilings are rather thin, so when 12 Floor has a corporate event which involves lots of music and singing, the corner room at the Executive Floor will pick up the noises and it can be rather difficult to sleep.

Other than that, Imperial is an established hotel in Taipei built in the 1960s and has been renovated, where the staff is clearly proud of its hotel heritage and are attentive and caring. Even the apprentice students who work there for their university attachments are serious in their work and most willing to help guests with road directions and suggestions for travelling.

Tip: The Japanese restaurant does a mean desgustation meal and the Japanese chef will plan the menu for you according to the seasons. The food is so fresh, bought from the market the morning itself! You just need to make a booking three days ahead. This degustation meal is little known to many, but if you have time to enjoy one, try it.

The lobby bakery is also very famous, and the types of bread are varied and very interesting! Hotel guests get a discount.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

OK Hotel, OK location, OK outlets, OK rooms...
Location is good, but in the "old Taipei", far away from downtown. Staff is friendly, efficient and helpful, Check-in and -out was fast.
Rooms are in good condition but already quite old. If they want to keep up with the competition in Taipei, its time thinking about a major renovation.
Since the location is good for me due to Business, I will stay there again. Was quite pricey but I suppose thats due to Computer Exhibition during the time of my stay. Overall nothing really good to say about the hotel, but nothing bad as well though...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

I spent 300 sgd for 2 nights in a high peak weekend. Considering the excellent room i was assigned, i can confirm it is good value for money. Most of the other options were sold out or extremely expensive. Very good breakfast as room service. Good location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

This was the spoil stay-over 0f our loing diving trip to Micronesea.... What a great experience. Those pillows! were did they get them? I want one.
We really enjoyed our two nights there. Excellent service, very competitive rates that meant we could upgrade to a suite nogal......
Could fing no fauld did not look for fault.........................

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Imperial Hotel Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel Taipei

Address: No.600 Linshen North Road, Zhongshan District, Taipei 104, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#58 Business Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel Taipei 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, AsiaRooms, HotelsClick, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Imperial Hotel Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taipei Imperial Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Hotel Taipei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.