We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Little Hotel That Could” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Les Suites Taipei (Ching Cheng)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Les Suites Taipei (Ching Cheng) to your Saves list
Les Suites Taipei (Ching Cheng)
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.12 Ching Cheng Street, Taipei 105, Taiwan (Xinyi District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 446 Hotels in Taipei
4.5 of 5 stars 471 Reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The Little Hotel That Could”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The term "David vs Goliath" comes to mind. Les Suites is a small hotel, with almost no 'view' to speak of, and yet, it beats larger and more well-known hotels with its relaxed ambience, its excellent service, and its attention to details.
The facilities in the room are impressive, with a high-end single-serve coffee machine, and a kettle providing boiling water at the touch of a button any time of the day. The bathroom is the place to spend the time--with infra-red heater and piped-in classical music.
I spent as much time in one of the tastefully-decorated lounges off the lobby as in my room, tempted as much by the place as by the cakes, cookies, and free-flowing beverages. Staff members are courteous and efficient. One can get spoilt here.
Breakfast was of good quality, though after a while, the limited variety and the novelty do wear off. I missed the gym, which was under renovation during my visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    101
    19
    3
    6
See reviews for
90
120
65
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I have stayed in many hotels in Taipei before, from low end to high end, from local to international. This one, I would say is the best. No wonder it is ranked highly here. I regret that I didn't try this one earlier.

First, the location. Close to MRT and everything. No need to say more.

Second, the room is stylish and clean. Though a little dated, it still looks good.

Third, the staff. They are friendly and willing to help. Their English is average but not that bad either. Some are multi-lingual and I saw them speaking Japanese and Korean too.

Last, it is the final touch. They give you one of the latest Sony Android Smartphone to use. You can use it to surf the net or for free calls (but subject to some conditions, which I couldn't remember). The can double as your room key or the store value to be used as payment card at MRT and other places. So convenient!

With the hotel scene in Taipei getting more crowded in recent years with newer and fancier staying options added, I am glad to see this locally owned boutique hotel keep staying on top by offering new innovative services and keeping its standards. Good work!

If I only need to pick one bad thing? Perhaps there were mosquitos in the breakfast room when I stayed there in June. Not sure it is occasional or it is common. And there is not much view from the rooms.

I would recommend this place both to business travellers and for other leisure visitors.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I spent one night only at les Suites Taipei Ching Cheng and I was extremely happy with all aspects of this hotel. I stayed in a standard room which, eventhough relatively small, was well appointed and decorated. The complimentary breakfast was tasty and fresh, and the hotel staff was extremely attentive and helpful. The location was also nice, close to the MRT station and just a few minutes of Taxi away from Songshan Airport.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This hotel was great. I stayed for one night this past week for business trip. the room is decently sized and has many small touches like optional music in the bathroom, fresh fruit, bottles of water and free toiletries. The service is superb and hotel is very modern. When you check in they give you an Android Smart phone to use as your hotel key, free WiFi hotspot when out and about in Taipei as well as free international phone calls to some countries. They have a happy hour each evening where you get two free drinks, a full service breakfast, strong WiFi everywhere and a fitness center. It's very centrally located and is across the street from a shopping mall filled with food options and shopping. I hope to stay here again when I return to Taipei. The hotel is probably about 40-50min taxi ride from the airport.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel for my past 3 business trips and have always look forward to the hotel stay. I really like the hotel for the following reasons:

1. The location is just great, beside the train station.
2. The rooms are of decent size, with a shower stall and a bathtub.
3. All the necessary toiletries are provided.
4. The breakfast spread is average but are great value.
5. The hotel provided us a phone with free 3G network outside hotel. The phone allows us to call 5 countries for free.
6. Snacks and coffee are provided throughout the whole day.
7. Finally the service is impeccable and they go all out to help the hotel guests. Some of their staff are Japanese, catering to the clientele.

The negative is that there is no view at all; most rooms faces another apartment building.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed for a week once again at Les Suites taipei, Ching Cheng. This is a boutique hotel situated next to a metro station and near a busy street. Lot of restaurants and shopping facilities nearby. Ikea is at a 10 minutes walk away. The hotel is very nicely maintained, with excellent service. The hotel offers a latest Sony Experia Z smartphone which has smart cards to open the room as well to use on the subway. The phone is offered at zero cost and comes with apps which can be used to call the hotel, divert room calls to the mobile etc. The hotel also offers free international calls to 5 countries through the mobile and many more countries on the land line. Unfortunately India was not one of the countries. But overall an excellent facility. The phone also comes with a data plan which means you can use Google Maps to guide you. You can also use Data tethering to ensure that your phone can use the same data. Breakfast is a great spread with lot of continental, local and Japanese options. Overall service is superb. Free snacks, fruits and beers available in the evening. taxis are easily obtainable through the reception.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Great, not too big hotel with a personal touch. Centrally located next to MRT station. Friendly and helpful staff. Free internet. Nice, comfortable rooms. Not too pricey! Felt like a home away from home. Some nice restaurants on the area. Free smartphone and key card can be used as subway card.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Suites Taipei (Ching Cheng)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Suites Taipei (Ching Cheng)

Address: No.12 Ching Cheng Street, Taipei 105, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei > Xinyi District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#6 Business Hotel in Taipei
#11 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
#11 Family Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Les Suites Taipei (Ching Cheng) 4.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, AsiaRooms, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Les Suites Taipei (Ching Cheng) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Suites Taipei (Ching Cheng) Hotel Taipei
Les Hotel Taipei Ching Cheng

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Suites Taipei (Ching Cheng), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.