We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over rated hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei to your Saves list
Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.37-1, Section 2, Chung Shan North Road, Taipei 104, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 446 Hotels in Taipei
4.5 of 5 stars 542 Reviews
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Over rated hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Location - you need to walk 10mins from Zhongshan station to the hotel. Unless you exit from (Zhongshan station) entrance 4, maybe you can cut down the distance to 5 mins walk. Those travelling with elderly, you have to go up from entrance 2. Caused only entrance 2 has escalator. Its a longer way but if your folks have difficulty climbing stairs, then you dont have a choice, just like me. Once exit from entrance 2, turn left and walk straight till you see the police station. Cross the road and turn left (pass Mos burger), and you will see the hotel. There isn't may shops around the hotel area. You need to walk back to Zhongshan station, where you will see Xin Kuang San Yue shopping malls and other cafes. There's a small wet market 10 - 15 mins walked from the hotel (turn right once step out from the hotel).

Hotel and service - The hotel was classic and clean. Hotel has its own bakery shop at level 1, a small one.Basically its quite an old hotel. I felt that they should renovate the room. The staff was smartly dress and friendly . Most customers were Japanese, it not surprise that the staff could speak pretty well in Japanese. If you have intention to add beds, be prepared to pay around NT$1900 per night. The counter staff was kind enough to offer me a family room with an additional charge of NT$1500 per night.

There was 3 beds in the room. Air con can be adjusted. But it was the layout that I find it uncomfortable. I was expecting a bigger room with 3 beds. But it turned out to be a room thats more like a suite. Once enter the room, you could see a a room with a queen size bed (left side), and another room with two single beds (right side). There's two toilets besides each room. The centre part was an empty space, more like a mini lobby where you can put your shoes. If you are traveling with two families, this would be an ideal room. Caused there will be privacy. But if you are traveling with kids, then you won't get to sleep together with them. And the bedroom was much smaller, smaller than a superior room. Like for me, I thought I could invite my siblings from another room over for a small gathering, ended up we found it more comfortable staying in their room (superior room). I was really puzzled why am I paying so much?

For house keeping, you could find a green board at the bed light table. If you want the staff to change the bed sheet, you need to turn over the board written to change the bed sheet. I did that, but my bed sheet was not change. There was a stain some where at the bed sheet, so since I am still seeing that stain..I knew it wasn't changed. There was no turned down service. Laundry service yes you have but you need to pay.

Experience - A middle age woman came knocking at my hotel room, asking if I wanted to buy sake. Its around 9.30am. Its a 5 star hotel I thought, how could this happened? Anyway, you do not need to tap your room card to access the hotel lift. Whats their security measure? For me, I won't consider going back to this hotel. The room rate was much too expensive without breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie K, 經理 at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Royal Taipei and taking the time to share your comment about our hotel. We hereby express our gratitude for your comments as well as apologies for the inconveniences you have encountered during your stay.

First of all, thank you for the thorough information on hotel access and the surrounding environment. Hotel Royal Taipei is conveniently located along Chung Shan North Road in the heart of Taipei's vibrant commercial district, which is a 45-minute drive from Taoyuan Airport, 15-minute drive from Songshan Airport, 10-minute drive from Taipei Railway Station, and about 3-minute walk from MRT Chung Shan Station Exit 4. The elevator and escalator are located at Exit 2. High-end boutiques, department stores, and restaurants are all within walking distance; renowned sites such as Taipei 101, Shilin Night Market, and Longshan Temple are easily accessed via MRT.

Moreover, we are pleased that you find our hotel “classic and clean” and our staff “smartly dress and friendly”.Our latest full-scale renovation was completed by Kume Sekkei, a leading Japanese design company, featuring the use of pastel color scheme designed to engender a serene and homely ambience. Our room is furnished with free internet, shower toilet, trouser presser, complimentary mineral water, minibar, stationery kit and more to elevate comfort and convenience.

We offer extra bed at NT$1,500 per bed per night, exclusive of service charge and tax, as well as versatile room adjustment to suit the guests’ needs. However, we understand that the recommended Superior Suite family room was not to your liking. Please accept our apology for the insufficient explanation regarding the room layout. We have notified the issue to the front desk manager and asked for immediate improvement.

In addition, we apologize exceedingly for the unchanged linen. In recently years, we have been implementing environmentally-friendly measures, one of which includes the placement of environmental cards. Guests are welcomed to request for linen change by turning the card over and placing it on the bed. We have informed the matter to the housekeeping manager, who will reinforce the checking of environmental cards on the guests’ beds during routine housekeeping.

Regarding the hotel’s security measure, the security is maintained by 24-hour patrols and surveillance cameras. However, in light of this incidence, we will review the option of access control to further strengthen security on premise.

Finally, we strive to offer best available rates to our guests, with possible adjustment during trade show periods and holiday seasons. Various discounts, such as early bird package and long stay package are also available on the hotel website to meet our guests’ travel needs. Please refer to our website for discount packages when you plan your next visit to Taiwan.

Once again, please accept our apologies. Should you have any further advice for improvement, we most welcome your additional comments. We look forward to meeting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    249
    34
    4
    5
See reviews for
200
111
56
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

While i have not yet stayed in this hotel yet, i just have to write about how professional they are in terms of how they communicate with me. I have a reservation at this hotel on the 23 of dec and i will be staying for a week. As i wanted this vacation with my family to be perfect, i had to check with the hotel's review from time to time. I must say that the hotel is being staffed by efficient personnel since they reply all of my queries within the day. I am really looking forward to our christmas vacation in Taipei and Hotel Royal will be our home for this time. Conf# 100127598.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie K, 經理 at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Royal Taipei for the upcoming Christmas season. We are delighted to hear that you are pleased with our service even before you have personally arrived at our hotel!

Thank you for complimenting on the efficient and expedient correspondence extended by our staff, who replied your queries within the day. Good communication is part and parcel to our service philosophy, which we implement thoroughly in order to give our guests, in particular those from overseas, a sense of security and comfort. We understand the Christmas vacation with your family is of paramount importance, and we are pleased to be able to cater to your requests to satisfaction.

Should you have any further requests or inquiries, please do not hesitate to contact us. We hope that we can truly exceed your expectations once you have arrived and stayed.

We wish you a safe journey to Taipei, and we look forward to see you in Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
東京
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I stayed at this hotel a few times and got always good and friendly service. Room is clearn and well equipped. Internet is free.

Room Tip: Higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie K, 經理 at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Royal Taipei and taking the time to share a favorable comment about our hotel! We are delighted to hear that you were satisfied with our staff service and guest room.

Thank you for recognizing the hospitality extended by our staff. We are pleased to know that they have provided good and friendly service. As a chain hotel of Nikko Hotels International, we ensure to deliver premium services to Japanese as well as all foreign and domestic visitors.

Furthermore, we are pleased to know that you were satisfied with the guest room. Our latest remodeling was completed by Kume Sekkei, a leading Japanese design company, featuring the use of pastel color scheme designed to engender a homely ambience. Our room is furnished with free internet, shower toilet, trouser presser, complimentary mineral water, minibar, stationery kit and more to elevate comfort and convenience.

Thank you again for staying at Hotel Royal Taipei. Should you have any further comments, please do not hesitate to notify us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This was our first visit to Taipei and the hotel was recommended by a previous hotel guest. The staff were so friendly and helpful. Great location for easy access to the MRT and buses. We were given an upgrade for the room which was spotless. I was particularly very pleased to see the amenities for the shower were not tiny bottles which guests invariably take home! Presumably these are refilled which cuts down a lot of plastic bottle waste. Breakfast was included which was very good and had plenty of choice. I would recommend this hotel to anybody.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite which was more than ample for just the two of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie K, 經理 at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Royal Taipei for your first visit to Taipei and taking the time to share a favorable comment about our hotel! We are delighted to hear that you were satisfied with our location, staff service, and breakfast.

Hotel Royal Taipei is conveniently located along Chung Shan North Road in the heart of Taipei's vibrant commercial district, which is a 45-minute drive from Taoyuan Airport, 10-minute drive from Taipei Railway Station, and about 3-minute walk from MRT Chung Shan Station. High-end boutiques, department stores, and restaurants are all within walking distance; renowned sites such as Taipei 101, Shilin Night Market, and Longshan Temple are easily accessed via MRT.

Thank you for recognizing the hospitality extended by our staff. We are pleased to know that they have been friendly and helpful, and have taken the initiatives to offer you an upgrade to our Superior Suite Room. We are especially enthused by your comment on our environmentally-friendly measures, such as refillable amenities and environmental card. We are grateful to you for joining our efforts to save the planet!

Last but not least, we are ecstatic to hear that you have enjoyed our breakfast. We have always strived to offer a well-rounded spread of Japanese, Chinese, and western fare to accommodate our guests’ variegated preferences. If time allows on your next visit, please try the authentic Japanese fare at Nakayama Restaurant and Cantonese cuisine at Ming Court presented by our executive chef from Hong Kong. At the bakery adjacent to the lobby, we recommend our world-class Macadamia Nut Nougat Candy and hotel-made pineapple cake, both of which are popular take-home souvenirs

Again, thank you for staying at Hotel Royal Taipei. Should you have any further comments, please do not hesitate to notify us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

(+)
Good location: opposite the Taipei Film House and nice independent cafes nearby. If you're into luxury shopping (I'm not), there are also posh shops nearby
Excellent customer service - a friendly member of staff took me out and showed me nearby cafes; another helped me with an airline booking
Nice lobby. Feels suitably "regal"
Good breakfast buffet

(-)
While the location is good, there are few things to do at night within walking distance (bars and snacks excepted). You may have to hop on the metro and visit a night market

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie K, 經理 at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Royal Taipei and taking the time to share a favorable comment about our hotel! We are delighted to hear that you were satisfied with our location, staff service, and breakfast.

Hotel Royal Taipei is conveniently located along Chung Shan North Road in the heart of Taipei's vibrant commercial district, which is a 45-minute drive from Taoyuan Airport, 10-minute drive from Taipei Railway Station, and about 3-minute walk from MRT Chung Shan Station. Besides patronizing high-end boutiques and department stores, other nocturnal entertainments include the following:

1. Catch a flick or luxuriate in the alfresco café at SPOT-Taipei Film House, situated across the street from the hotel

2. Visit NingXia Night Market, which is about a 15-minute walk from the hotel. Another notable night market is Shihlin Night Market, which is only 4 MRT stations away

3. Rejuvenate by getting foot or head-and-shoulder massages at nearby massage establishments

Furthermore, thank you for recognizing the hospitality extended by our staff. We are pleased to know that they have given you a brief orientation of the environment and assisted you with airline booking. As a chain hotel of Nikko Hotels International, we ensure to deliver premium services to Japanese as well as all foreign and domestic visitors.

We are also ecstatic to hear that you have enjoyed our breakfast. We have always strived to offer a well-rounded spread of Japanese, Chinese, and western fare to accommodate our guests’ variegated preferences. If time allows on your next visit, please try the authentic Japanese fare at Nakayama Restaurant and Cantonese cuisine at Ming Court presented by our executive chef from Hong Kong. At the bakery adjacent to the lobby, we recommend our world-class Macadamia Nut Nougat Candy and hotel-made pineapple cake, both of which are popular take-home souvenirs.

Again, thank you for staying at Hotel Royal Taipei. Should you have any further comments, please do not hesitate to notify us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed for three nights. As a family of three, one corner suite and one regular room. Both are excellent and we had a very good sleep.

3 minutes from the central subway station, middle of almost everything.
Very nice and friendly employees, helpful for anything we asked.

Room Tip: Corner suites are really good, it's worth for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie K, 經理 at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Royal Taipei and taking the time to share a favorable comment about our hotel! We are delighted to hear that you were satisfied with our location, guest room, and staff service.

Hotel Royal Taipei is conveniently located along Chung Shan North Road in the heart of Taipei's vibrant commercial district, which is a 45-minute drive from Taoyuan Airport, 10-minute drive from Taipei Railway Station, and about 3-minute walk from MRT Chung Shan Station. High-end boutiques, department stores, and restaurants are all within walking distance; renowned sites such as Taipei 101, Shilin Night Market, and Longshan Temple are easily accessed via MRT.

We are pleased to know that you were satisfied with the guest room, in particular our Corner Suite. Corner Suite was newly designed and constructed during our last renovation, featuring the use of homely pastel color scheme, a spaciousness of 65 square meters, pleasant view, and separate toilet and bathroom design. In addition, Corner Suite is fully-furnished with free Wi-Fi access, shower toilet, trouser presser, shoe-dryer, stationery kit, complimentary mineral water, L‘Occitane amenity, and more to elevate comfort and convenience.

Furthermore, thank you for recognizing the hospitality extended by our staff. We are pleased to know that they have been nice and friendly. As a chain hotel of Nikko Hotels International, we ensure to deliver premium services to Japanese as well as all foreign and domestic visitors.

Again, thank you for staying at Hotel Royal Taipei. Should you have any further comments, please do not hesitate to notify us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for four nights. The hotel is centrally located. The Chungshan subway station, which is next to a big department store, is just 250 meters away. The Taipei Main Station is one subway stop away. The room was nice and spacious, and the bathroom/toilet was modern and clean. The staff members (receptionists, doormen, chambermaids, restaurant staff) we met were all friendly and courteous; they always took the initiatives to greet us. The buffet breakfast at 'Le Cafe' was very good, with good choices of Chinese and Japanese dishes although the selection for western dishes was comparatively more limited. Overall, we had an enjoyable stay at Hotel Royal Taipei. We will choose to stay there on our next visit to Taipei.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie K, 經理 at Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Royal Taipei and taking the time to share a favorable comment about our hotel! We are delighted to hear that you were satisfied with our location, guest room, staff service, and breakfast.

Hotel Royal Taipei is conveniently located along Chung Shan North Road in the heart of Taipei's vibrant commercial district, which is a 45-minute drive from Taoyuan Airport, 10-minute drive from Taipei Railway Station, and about 3-minute walk from MRT Chung Shan Station. High-end boutiques, department stores, and restaurants are all within walking distance; renowned sites such as Taipei 101, Shilin Night Market, and Longshan Temple are easily accessed via MRT.

We are pleased to know that you were satisfied with the guest room. Our latest remodeling was completed by Kume Sekkei, a leading Japanese design company, featuring the use of pastel color scheme designed to engender a homely ambience. Our room is furnished with shower toilet, free internet, trouser presser, complimentary mineral water, minibar, stationery kit and more to elevate comfort and convenience.

Furthermore, thank you for recognizing the hospitality extended by our staff members.We are pleased to know that they have been friendly, courteous, and have taken the initiatives to greet you during stay. As a chain hotel of Nikko Hotels International, we ensure to deliver premium services to Japanese as well as all foreign and domestic visitors.

Last but not least, we are ecstatic to hear that you have enjoyed our breakfast, although you have reflected that our western fare is comparatively limited. We will be sure to notify your invaluable comment to the restaurant manager and chef for improvement in the future.

If time allows on your next visit, please try the authentic Japanese fare at Nakayama Restaurant and Cantonese cuisine at Ming Court presented by our executive chef from Hong Kong. At the bakery adjacent to the lobby, we recommend our world-class Macadamia Nut Nougat Candy and hotel-made pineapple cake, both of which are popular take-home souvenirs.

Again, thank you for staying at Hotel Royal Taipei. Should you have any further comments, please do not hesitate to notify us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei

Address: No.37-1, Section 2, Chung Shan North Road, Taipei 104, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 446 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei is managed by JAL Hotels Company Limited, an international hotel chain operating under Nikko Hotel International.The hotel is located on Chung Shan North Road, in the heart of Taipei’s commercial district, which is suitable for both business and leisure travelers. It is 45 minutes from Taoyuan International Airport by car, 15 minutes from SongShan International Airport by car, and 3 minutes from MRT Chung Shan Station on foot.The hotel is a 12-storied structure with 3 basements. There are 202 exquisite guest rooms and suites, all furnished with internet access and auto wash toilet. The hotel was remodeled by Kumei Sekkei, a leading Japanese design company. The fusion of modernistic European architecture and unique oriental ambience has earned high international reputation. In additional, there are three dining establishment, namely all-day dining restaurant “Le Café”, Japanese restaurant “Nakayama”, and Cantonese restaurant “Ming Court”, as well as a bakery, lounge, meeting room, and other facilities. With its top-notch facilities and services, Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei has received five-star certification by Taiwan Tourism Bureau in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd. and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.