We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for leisure stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei to your Saves list
Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.201 Tun Hwa South Road, Section 2, Taipei 106, Taiwan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 467 Hotels in Taipei
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good choice for leisure stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Had a 5 night stay in a plaza suite ( taipei 101 view as requested )The standout part of this property is the staff -from the limo greeting at the airport to the concierge and the excellent horizon lounge staff especially May Wu the lounge manager during our stay who was kind ,helpful and interesting to converse with.The hotel itself is due a technology overhaul which is planned we were told in the near future for eg the tv in the bedroom is about twice the size of the one in the lounge of the suite,also the suite lacks power sockets and mood lighting is really needed to bring the rooms up to date, you can only switch on the various lamps in your lounge when the main lights are on as well which kinda defeats the idea of a more relaxing light level.The best part of the suite was the bathroom which was spacious and well maintained & i agree with other reviewers that the tv in here is pretty pointless being next to the sink.We found the bed a little firm and asked for another topper but as best we could tell they changed the whole mattress which was superb.
Horizon lounge very comfortable with good food & breakfast choices and of course the ever helpful staff who wrote out many of the taxi adds on cards for excursions out.
We also used the metro about 7 -10 min walk which was easy to navigate and combined well with the cheap taxi`s.
Would suggest club level is best option for leisure travellers especially if a first time in Taipei

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear fortheride,

It is a great pleasure to receive such great comments here on Tripadvisor. Your encouraging words have been passed on personally to the staff. It is our core value to go the extra mile for our guest and I am delighted to know that my team was able to fulfill it by accommodating your bed preference. I hope that you had a wonderful time during your trip in Taipei and am certainly look forward to your return soon.

Best Regards,
Marcel NA Holman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    228
    44
    15
    7
See reviews for
151
131
74
303
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a big trip . We were upgraded to a suite upon arrival which was a nice surprise . The hotel is a little dated and we had problems with some of the sockets in our room .That said , that was completely made up for by the fabulous staff . We found everyone we interacted with from the guys who got us a taxi , the reception , the room cleaner , and the girls in the Horizon club lounge to be some of the best we have encountered and we could not rate them highly enough .We also got an email saying hello from the general manager , and then one saying goodbye .
Great hotel - if your in Taipei stay here !!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Daniel H,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are very happy to know that our service impressed you during your stay and it is an honor to "meet" you via email. I hope that you had a great trip here in Taipei and hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Marcel NA Holman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Apparently this hotel was rated 2nd best business hotel in the world in 2009, and I think this still shows. I did not find the hotel particularly dated like previous reviewers, but instead had an excellent (and exceedingly large) executive room and was constantly helped by very pleasant staff. My only gripe was that the hotel restaurants all closed at 21.30 (as do most restaurants in Taipei seemingly) - which I found a bit early. Also, the rooftop pool closed at present, and not sure when the refurb will be finished. But neither of these issues seriously detracted from my stay.

Room Tip: The executive rooms (upgrade from the deluxe) are enormous at around 650 sqft, and well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Steve C,

Thank you for taking the time to write us this valuable comment. We regret to know that due to the scheduled maintenance, you were not able to enjoy our rooftop swimming pool. The pool is scheduled to open again around mid July 2013 so we hope that you can enjoy it during your next visit. Hope to welcome you back for either business or pleasure!

Best Regards,
Marcel NA Holman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Always Great standards from Shangri-la ! Once you check in every staff looks like they all known ur room number and even your name. Great 10 out 10 service . great views at the 36 floor with the spa bath and shower room totally seperate. cloth hanger room with messy huge comfy bed when you expect from Shandri-la all the time ~ the higher suite the better sleep in the big city , amaze by the old chinese centrury design for the suite when you walk in. also at 38 floor roof top deep swimming pool great for having a sun bath with a cup of tea in the morning. the breakast buffet it was perfect , quite , great servies wonderful fresh breaky i order an omelets it was magnificent especailly when you just wake up the view out of the window just right after the early morning breaky was amaze by the busy city sun rise.

Room Tip: the Higher room the better you can see the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Sebastian151,

It is so great to receive your positive feedback here on Tripadvisor, and thank you for being a loyal guest to Shangri-La Hotel & Resorts Group! We are happy to know that our Taipei design concept of the Song Dynasty has impressed you and that you were satisfied with our service, facilities and dining experience. It is definitely an experience to witness the city sunrise from our rooftop pool, one of my personal favorites from the hotel. Thank you again for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards,
Marcel NA Holman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We always aspect the quality of service of Shangri-La Hotel. It has been branded as the top notch hotel. We enjoyed the stay very very much. The front staff were very hospitable. The gym is very well equip with the latest equipment. However, we were disappointed that the swimming at the roof were closed for renovation during our stay. We booked this hotel after seeing this beautiful swimming pool marketing photo. This is totally misrepresentation. They could have duly informed the guests.

Room Tip: The roof top swimming is under renovation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Ben K,

Thank you for being a loyal guest to Shangri-la Hotel & Resorts group. It is our pleasure to host you and your family during your visit to Taipei. We are glad to know that you are impressed with our service including our facilities we provided. In regards to the rooftop pool, I am regretful to know that due to the scheduled maintenance, you were not able to enjoy it. We will be sure to convey our information ahead of time in the future so our guests will be well-informed. Thank you again for your feedback and we sincerely look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Marcel NA Holman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flanders, New Jersey
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I have been coming to Taipei for business for twenty years. In the beginning, I was miserable at the local hotels that are the most popular choices for Asian guests. Apparently, most locals prefer hard sleeping surfaces. Butcher block, granite and concrete would be considered comfortable. So, I would make housekeeping services think I was crazy for asking to lay perhaps ten, or more, blankets below the bottom sheet for extra softness. And it did not work. Then, I was told about a hotel that Mel Gibson stayed at: The Far Eastern Plaza. Once I stayed there, I have stayed nowhere else when visiting Taipei. Soft comfortable beds, beautiful rooms, excellent restaurants and great Western food as well as excellent Chinese food. You can get omelets made to order, or sunny side up or over eggs, real bacon and a plethora of other breakfast foods you would find in the USA, and all local cuisine as well. Services are excellent at all levels of operation because this hotel caters to world famous people and plenty of business guys like me, with all the same respectful treatment to all. Bill Clinton was here one time when I was here, so that gives you the quality level needed to be maintained here. (And NO, they do not provide women, Bill) It is not cheap but you get what you pay for and it is more than worth it.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the Taipei 101 building. Best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear BOB b,

Thank you very much for a great comment. We are very happy to know that you are always satisfied and can get a good night sleep when you stay with us in Taipei. For your next visit, we would love to let you know that we also have a pillow menu, that you can use to make your stay even more comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards,
Marcel NA Holman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Shangri-La is the one of excellent luxury hotel in Taipei. Services are excellent that staff can regonise your name. Breakfast is also very good that we can order wider of selection of egg, juice or tea from staff, no need to take from the buffet table. Room is comfortable and have a high quality of sleep. A little old for the room, I think to need to renovate in the near future

Room Tip: There are some rooms at the corner that have a bigger area, please see my pics
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei

Address: No.201 Tun Hwa South Road, Section 2, Taipei 106, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 467 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 15 minutes from Taipei Shonshan Airport, Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel, Taipei soars 43 stories above Taipei's premier business and entertainment district with sweeping views of Taipei 101 and the city skyline. Guests may find 4 fine-dining restaurants, a buffet restaurant and 3 lounges in the hotel. The Health Club features a gym, oil massage services and 2 outdoor rooftop swimming pools, while The Horizon Spa provides guests with numerous aromatherapy and beauty services in a serene space. A total of 11 function rooms ranging in sizes suit different customers' needs. In addition, complimentary access to in-house wired Internet and Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.