We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei to your Saves list
Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.201 Tun Hwa South Road, Section 2, Taipei 106, Taiwan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 446 Hotels in Taipei
New York, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great service, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

overall great hotel with great service. my first experience @ a shangri la and i would put its service on par with the four seasons brand.

the horizon lounge is worth it if you want to book a room on a club floor. they have light sandwiches and fruit all day along with drinks. there is also an awesome happy hr from 530-7p daily. you also get to eat a quieter, more exclusive breakfast in the horizon lounge if you want although we chose to go to the bkfst buffest on the 6th floor because it had a wider selection and we didnt mind the business.

the only reason i didnt give the hotel a 5-star rating would have to be the dated decor. per other reviews it does look a bit tired and could use some updating.

would rec the hotel nonetheless and will return here on my next trip to taipei.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    211
    38
    12
    7
See reviews for
134
113
68
285
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We recently stayed at the Far Eastern Plaza Hotel and I have to say it was fantastic! The service was incredibly friendly and helpful. I've traveled to several asian countries where the service was good, but you could almost feel that they either thought you were strange for your requests or begrudged you. I never felt this from the staff at the Far Eastern. In fact, I found them to be eager to help in any way. The room was very comfortable, the temperature (A/C) was easy to set and control, and included a small refrigerator, iron and hairdryer. One thing of note, the bed was plush and comfortable. If you have stayed in other asian countries, you know that you are gambling on getting a bed that is rock hard even in 4-star hotels! Not at the Far Eastern. We were very comfortable. The only complaints I had were that the coffee offered in the room (apart from room service) was instant (wa-wa-wa!) and the electrical outlet was at the desk making curling my hair a tad tedious. That said, the English breakfast offered on the 6th floor was expansive! The staff was wonderful and most spoke English very well. Last, one of the most convenient things about this hotel is that it is directly adjacent (above?) a mall which includes a grocery store. We were able to purchase water, soda, chips, etc. until 9:30 at night by simply going down an escalator. So wonderful to not have to locate the closest convenience store or schlep bottles back to the hotel. If given the opportunity, we would love the opportunity to stay at the Far Eastern again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This was my first stay for business purposes in this hotel, in fact I'm still at the hotel for another couple days. This is also the first review I've ever written about a hotel. I will say that without question, every single employee of this hotel is exceptional, not in the normal sense, but they go so far beyond with all the little details. I've been here for two days, they already know my name and address me as such. This is from he doormen, to those women who work in the Horizon Club. I really can't say enough about the exceptional service. The view from my room on the 36th floor overlooking 101 is unequaled.

The management in everything I've experianced in the short time I've been here is exceptional. Without question, I would recommend this hotel for anyone wishing to stay in a luxury property in Taipei.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear David P,

Thank you very much for taking your time to leave such a pleasant comment for us. It is our pleasure to be your home away from home in Taipei. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our service and liked the view from your room. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Marcel NA Holman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

When staying at a Shangri La property you would expect a high class experience. The Taipei Shangri La is no different. Though the lobby is a lot more modest than the Singapore or Manila hotels it is nicely done. The service of course is excellent. My room on the 15th floor was good. Though one element of poor design is the TV is housed in a cabinet at the side of the bed. Breakfast was just great. If you have time to spend then you can have anything from a full English breakfast to noodles or cereal, yoghurt and fruit. So far Shangri La has yet to disappoint.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We checked in yesterday and feels that the service and room quality of this Shangri-la is consistent with the hotel group's standard. I received personal email greeting from the general manager and 3 sets of towel have already been prepared upon our arrival as they were informed that we have 3 people for a room with 2 beds. The room is stylishly decorated, very spacious with high felling. Our room has a big window with fantastic view from where we can see Taipei 101. The bathroom is hugh with a TV. The bed is very comfortable and air-con is functioning well. As the other Shangri la hotels, this one has plenty of good restaurant choices, and it also connected to a shopping mall with food court. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear JZ,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your recent experience with us. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed the stay, liked the room and the various restaurant choices. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon! Happy Chinese New Year and wish you a prosperous year ahead.

Best Regards,
Marcel NA Holman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augsburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The hotel is a great place an in a very good location,
Staff is very friendly and helpful. All Shopping and leisure activities in Taipeh are nearby. The view on 101 Tower is great from the upper floor.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights. Service across all areas was very good. The gym is very well equipped and has very helpful staff. The hotel also has many good restaurants to choose from within a 200 metre radius should you not wish to eat in the hotel. It is connected to a high end shopping mall which also has a food court.

I particularly liked the room which had a generously sized bathroom and a walk in closet!

Prices are on the higher end but well worth it for location, convenience and service

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei

Address: No.201 Tun Hwa South Road, Section 2, Taipei 106, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 446 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 15 minutes from Taipei Shonshan Airport, Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel, Taipei soars 43 stories above Taipei's premier business and entertainment district with sweeping views of Taipei 101 and the city skyline. Guests may find 4 fine-dining restaurants, a buffet restaurant and 3 lounges in the hotel. The Health Club features a gym, oil massage services and 2 outdoor rooftop swimming pools, while The Horizon Spa provides guests with numerous aromatherapy and beauty services in a serene space. A total of 11 function rooms ranging in sizes suit different customers' needs. In addition, complimentary access to in-house wired Internet and Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.