We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel in Taipei city center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Taipei

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Taipei to your Saves list
The Westin Taipei
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.133 Section 3, Nanking East Road, Taipei 104, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 467 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Superb hotel in Taipei city center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

I have stayed four days in this hotel and everything was really perfect. My room was really spacious, confortable and modern. Fitness center located on top level is awesome : large swimming pool, jacuzzi, fitness room, hammam, sauna.. and was really appreciated after a hard day of work. Hotel is located close to major road and approwimately 200 m away from a major subway station so it is really easy to get anywhere in Taipei and around from this hotel. There is a wide choice at breakfast (continental, english breakfast, asian food). This only bad points I have noticed are : pretty ugly view from hotel rooms, in-house japanese restaurant is not so good.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    201
    61
    16
    9
See reviews for
56
68
52
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

The check in personnel is efficient but somewhat cold and tried to push additional add-ons (breakfast, internet etc) which is uncommon for a Starwood property. The room is decent, the bed is nice and the bathroom is clean and posh. The Heavenly shower is just that. My biggest complaint is the overwhelming smoke odour in the room and the hallway. My room is specified to be non smoking but the strong smokey smell made my throat dry and interferred with my enjoyment of the property.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
310 helpful votes 310 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

Second time stay at this hotel and unfortunately not as good the first time around. The staff where still the same happy and helpful staff that they where before. The only problem was with the lack of good nights sleep as there was construction going on outside the front of the hotel throughout the night. Now I know that this is not the hotels fault but it is still relevant to the stay. The business centre is quite a good one with individual pods for each user. Room service was very punctual and the food of a good quality. The location is about a 5 minute walk from the MTR station.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong Region, China
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
138 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

I stayed here before a few months ago and the place gave a run down impression. Service was great, location excellent and rooms are spacious though, the whole was not very fresh. I wrote a review in tripadvisor and the management reacted that renovation works are under way. And they kept promise. I had a room on the exec floor and the room was nicely renovated. All ran down elements were replaced or fixed and they added a nice big flat screen TV. The only negative remark was that the room had been occupied by a smoker before me (despite the fact that the hotel is non smoking), which left a cigarette smell in the room. But they immediately suggested to give me another room.

Also the exec lounge is excellent with great breakfast and enjoyable happy hour. Fitness is just great. On 2 floors very nicely equipped.

The only negative remark I have has to do with the Churchill bar. If you charge huge amounts for a simple drink, I do not believe that it is necessary to add everywhere that minimum consumption per person is 500NTD. Honestly, it is the second time I was in this bar and it is the second time that the bar is completely empty. With some good musician just playing for themself. If this is the case, why do you communicate such unpopular things to your customers ? I prefer to have a bar with some atmosphere rather than an empty one where customers do not dare to enter because there is a minimum consumption required. Don't forget, Westin : now the consumption in your bar is zero. If you want to have a nice beer in a decent bar, just walk out to the left, turn left again at the big avenue (metro track ) and 500m further at your left, you will find "Brass Monkey". I very good beer/sportsbar. And no minimum consumption with great beers and great food.

Overall, a business hotel h

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

Overall I found this hotel not bad. Location of the hotel is OK..lots of construction and road work going on now. The service is good through out the hotel. The rooms are OK..I did find the hotel a bit outdated in style. I did read some reviews prior to my stay that the hotel is due for a refurbishment..I agree on that. Being a Platinum member, I got upgraded to an executive suite. The suite is a lot smaller than most of the suites that i have found in Taipei. The Executive Club was the major dissappointment. As mentioned service is very good at the club but the club itself is depressing and the choice and quality of food and beverage served at the club is limited and sub standard. I would rate the Executive club very low among other Westins or Sheraton hotels. The management of this hotel makes it very obvious that its cost cutting / revenue raising is all they are interested. Overall I would rate this property as OK. I may not go there again unless I have exhausted other properties in Taipei. I am comparing this hotel to The Shangri-la Far Eastern, The Sheraton Taipei, The Ritz Landis and The Sherwood hotel all of which I have stayed before a few times.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
349 reviews 349 reviews
163 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

I was her for a few days at a meeting. The hotel is well appointed with the usual comfortable bed etc. There are several restaurants to cater for all tastes and the breakfast buffet is excellent.
I was quite jet lagged so wanted to use the gym at about 2am, they opened it for me (usual hours 6am to 10pm). There are 2 levels with stairs between. The gym equipment range is quite amazing. There is a separate cardio and weight area and a lap pool upstairs, plug pools and sauna etc down stairs.
I also got a traditional Taiwanese hot towel massage down the street - right trun from front door of hotel and 2 blocks - the neon sign has a crown on it - 2nd or 3rd floor. This was 900 Taipei dollars about $30. Called Emporers. Recommended for those who cant sleep since its open til 6am.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

Stayed as part of business conference. Excellent conference venue, facilities excellent, service and accomodation of high standard. Excellent venue for business travellers.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Taipei

Address: No.133 Section 3, Nanking East Road, Taipei 104, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Taipei
#35 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#35 Business Hotel in Taipei
#50 Family Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Taipei 4.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Taipei provides a unique cultural touch and an oasis for rejuvenation in the financial, commercial and entertainment district of Taipei City’s Nanking East Road. Our hotel is a mere 40 minutes drive from Tao Yuan International Airport and convenient to the MRT. We are also just 15 minutes from the Taipei World Trade Center and the Nangang Exhibition Hall, via the Mass Rapid Transit Muzha Neihu Line.Ideal for both business and leisure travelers, we are conveniently located near major shopping centers and global corporate enterprises. We are very close to Taipei 101 -the tallest building in Taiwan- and not far from the National Palace Museum with its exquisite collections of ancient treasures, as well as night markets bustling with activities.Our Sensory Welcome will help you revitalize the minute you walk through the doors. You will be met with a delightful smile and Westin’s signature White Tea Scented Towel Service, a freshly prepared welcome drink, and Westin music and lighting to create an energizing ambiance. It will make your arrival experience refreshingly unique.288 deluxe rooms, including 42 suites, are comfortably appointed with contemporary amenities and beautiful city views. Each is equipped with our signature Heavenly Bed® for a relaxing night’s sleep. You can re-energize in the WestinWORKOUT® Gym, or work out in the privacy and comfort of your WestinWORKOUT® Room should you prefer. Our dining options offer culinary treats from both east and west, featuring a wide selection of the finest Chinese, Western, Italian, and Japanese cuisines.Find total renewal at The Westin Taipei. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Starwood APAC, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Westin Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Taipei Hotel Taipei
Westin Taipei
Taipei Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Taipei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.