We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-maintained property with excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Taipei

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Taipei to your Saves list
The Westin Taipei
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.133 Section 3, Nanking East Road, Taipei 104, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 446 Hotels in Taipei
4.0 of 5 stars 379 Reviews
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Well-maintained property with excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The Westin is well-run, with updated and well-maintained rooms. I was very impressed with the indoor pool, gym, and hottub--all are available to hotel guests.

My only gripe was that there is significant construction on the road in front of the hotel, and I was given a room in the front facing the construction despite a request to be away from the street. Was unable to sleep during the day.

Otherwise, excellent 5-star hotel. This Westin is much better run than most other equivalent locations in the U.S. I would consider staying here again if construction settles down.

I am a Starwood Preferred Plus member. Perhaps if I had higher status, my room request would have been considered.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryanL34, Marketing at The Westin Taipei, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Patrick,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,
The Westin Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    181
    55
    13
    7
See reviews for
46
61
43
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Hotel doesn't look as glamorous as the other newer 5* hotels in taipei, maybe it has been around for many years, so it's lacks the wow factor. There is MRT construction in front of the hotel, noise is bearable and stopped after office hours. There is a starbucks at the hotel, so +5 points for me. Service is good, no complains but nothing impressive. Location of the hotel is average, around 100NT to the major popular locations in taipei, easy to take cab at the lobby.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the back of the hotel (facing the carpark) to minimise the noise from the const...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryanL34, Marketing at The Westin Taipei, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear L046,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,
The Westin Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The Westin is located conveniently near business and transportation. A Taipei Metro (MRT) station is a short 2 block walk away from the hotel. With a deposit, you can get a one day pass or a rechargeable EasyCard and connect to hundreds of stations. It’s a good way to avoid the traffic; however, taxis are plentiful in the area and relatively inexpensive compared to other cities.

The hotel itself is very nice and the staff and customer service is excellent. There is a fair amount of rad construction on Nanking East Road, so you may want to request a room on the back side of the hotel and a high floor to avoid noise, though I never found it to be a problem. The restaurants are located in the two basement floors. The buffet breakfast choices are fantastic, the food is excellent and fresh. The service is impeccable; a large amount of the staff speak English very well and they are all 100% pleasant to deal with. Overall a great stay and a hotel that I would recommend for business travel!

Room Tip: back side away from the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryanL34, Marketing at The Westin Taipei, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Jack :

Thank you for sharing your stay experience with us. We are happy to know that you had a good time here and enjoyed our food and services. Your valuable feedback is highly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,
The Westin Taipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Orange, NJ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

My office recommended and booked this hotel for me. My first time arriving in Teipei, take the taxi after 24 hours of traveling into the hotel, it's already late at night, entire town closed down. I arrive at hotel and it feels like my salvation. Bar is open, brings me food, it's delicious, beers are cold. Go up to the room - stylish large and comfortable. The bed really is heavenly. I sleep so well. In morning I go to the gym, swim in the lap pool. I know there are other guests but feels like I have entire hotel to myself, staff is attentive but discrete, and room is perfectly suited with space for plugging in laptop, getting work done. Nice robe, slippers, bathroom. All the comforts of home when in unfamiliar place. I take pictures of the room as the style is modern with Asian touches, just what I'd love to do in guest room at home.

I don't think I'll stay anyplace else when on business in Taipei.

Room Tip: Don't know if there's a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryanL34, Marketing at The Westin Taipei, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Highcon :

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We are happy to know that you had a good time here and enjoyed our facilities & services. Thank you for your support and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,
The Westin Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, Seoul, South Korea
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

It takes just 20mins to main IT district like Samsung, Foxconn etc. I used standard room (1king bed), very clean. Laundry service is also good. At front desk, they are good at English. On 4th floor, there is good cigar bar,church hill.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryanL34, Marketing at The Westin Taipei, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Jinuya :

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We are happy to know that you had a good time here and enjoyed our facilities & services. Churchill bar is indeed a very nice place for customer to enjoy wine and jazz. We would like to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,
The Westin Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The hotel is perfect for a business trip. Located in the financial area. The rooms are a nice size and well layed out. The bathroom is also a good size.

The bed was very comfortable.

Great breakfast buffet.

Nice workout room in a controlled area.

Staff pleasant and professional.

Stay was quiet and comfortable.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryanL34, Marketing at The Westin Taipei, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear sir :

Thank you for sharing your stay experience with us. We are happy to know that you had a good time here and enjoyed our food and services. Your valuable feedback is highly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,
The Westin Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We had a high floor room, very nice, comfortable beds, quiet (facing the side street) and in the bathroom high quality amenities. Westin is in walking distance to the metro station. Metro in Taipei is very effective, we used it many times.

Service at the reception is friendly and helpful. They wrote to us all the needed adresses in Chinese, this is important because all the taiwanese (or taxi drivers) don´t speak english. There is a Starbucks café in the same building. We had a dinner at the Italian restaurant, it was tasty.

Westin is a very good choice in Taipei.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryanL34, Marketing at The Westin Taipei, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Hak :

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We are happy to know that you had a good time here and enjoyed our services and facilities. Your feedback and support are highly appreciated and we sincerely look forward to having you back again in the near future.

Best regards,
The Westin Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Taipei

Address: No.133 Section 3, Nanking East Road, Taipei 104, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Taipei
#35 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#38 Business Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Taipei 4.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Taipei provides a unique cultural touch and an oasis for rejuvenation in the financial, commercial and entertainment district of Taipei City’s Nanking East Road. Our hotel is a mere 40 minutes drive from Tao Yuan International Airport and convenient to the MRT. We are also just 15 minutes from the Taipei World Trade Center and the Nangang Exhibition Hall, via the Mass Rapid Transit Muzha Neihu Line.Ideal for both business and leisure travelers, we are conveniently located near major shopping centers and global corporate enterprises. We are very close to Taipei 101 -the tallest building in Taiwan- and not far from the National Palace Museum with its exquisite collections of ancient treasures, as well as night markets bustling with activities.Our Sensory Welcome will help you revitalize the minute you walk through the doors. You will be met with a delightful smile and Westin’s signature White Tea Scented Towel Service, a freshly prepared welcome drink, and Westin music and lighting to create an energizing ambiance. It will make your arrival experience refreshingly unique.288 deluxe rooms, including 42 suites, are comfortably appointed with contemporary amenities and beautiful city views. Each is equipped with our signature Heavenly Bed® for a relaxing night’s sleep. You can re-energize in the WestinWORKOUT® Gym, or work out in the privacy and comfort of your WestinWORKOUT® Room should you prefer. Our dining options offer culinary treats from both east and west, featuring a wide selection of the finest Chinese, Western, Italian, and Japanese cuisines.Find total renewal at The Westin Taipei. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Taipei Hotel Taipei
Westin Taipei
Taipei Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Taipei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.