We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel in Taipei during a business trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Taipei

Save Saved
You added The Westin Taipei to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westin Taipei
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.133 Section 3, Nanking East Road, Taipei 104, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 428 hotels in Taipei
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Hotel in Taipei during a business trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Overall the hotel is ok but the price is quite expensive for what you get and that is why I reccomend not to use this hotel for holidays.
Room was average and the service as well, the thing I liked the most was the central location of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    166
    45
    11
    6
See reviews for
40
56
41
145
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Have stayed here multiple times over the years. On this visit, I noticed a few extra pluses which I haven't paid as much attention to before. The soundproofing is really good and I could not hear the neighbouring rooms or the hallway. The windows were less tight but was still able to get good sleep despite construction outside. Club floor rooms also provided mouth wash. The gym closes at 10pm, after which you need to ring Service Express to get someone to open the door for you. I got conflicting stories that the 10/F weight room could not be accessed after hours although the 9/F treadmill room was available. This appeared odd given I signed the liability waiver regardless.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

They have maintained Westin standards - , amazing rooms. I was upgraded to a suite as they did not have standard rooms available. However, the construction outside the hotel have somewhat ruined the view.
But the service + room quality makes it a good property to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

What a difference a year can make -- read my review from January 2012 titled "A Bit Worn, Under Renovation" for the baseline and background of this hotel. The renovation of the lobby was completed in the past year and my room this time (6th floor) was also renovated and much improved from a year ago. The renovation of the Westin Club Lounge (for club floor members and Platinum SPG members) is still yet to be complete, and it is still temporarily housed in the third floor bar area. Breakfast at the "lounge" is respectable with an egg station, and a small mix of Chinese food along with the traditional fruits and breads.

Getting There -- it is still a fixed rate NT$1200 TO the international airport by taxi, about 45 minutes, and can be ~NT$1120-NT$1220 on the inbound from the Airport depending on the traffic. Credit cards are still not widely accepted so local currency is still required. There were a LOT more "taxi touts" at the airport this time when I arrived than a year ago - my recommendation is to take the taxi from the official starter line as they record the taxi number and your destination should there be any issues.

It is not clear to me that all rooms have been renovated -- the difference from my room a year ago to this year (not renovated vs renovated) was a big difference. When the executive lounge is completed this hotel should be complete and if the rates stay fairly reasonable, this can be a good choice given its location (depending on where you need to be).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

1017. That was the room I received during check-in. Originally reserved a Deluxe room, as this was my first stay, I used points to upgrade to the Westin Executive floor. Had a nice friendly chat with the lovely ladies at the front desk too. ;)

Having whisked away to my room, I was delighted at the configuration layout as it really shows how spacious the room is. The King bed was pretty big that came with big pillows. Bathroom had a separate bath and shower. I noticed certain toiletries were only available on request to save unnecessary waste, I applaud this green initiative and hope the hotel management do consider joining the Make A Green Choice (MAGC) program. This would benefit both hotel and guests.

It was sad to learn that the Westin Executive Club lounge was under renovation. Current temporary venue for club guests is at the Churchill Bar. A live jazz band plays at night (not sure if every night) so that's nice too. Breakfast was ok with eggs to order, "scrambled please". There's also a Spa and Gym to keep you occupied while staying in.

The Nanjing East Road MRT Station is just a few mins walk away hence makes traveling by MRT a no brainer. There's also a 7-Eleven nearby across the street and around the corner.

Room Tip: Even though my room was facing the main street, it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is an update of my 2012 review.
Hotel is still very good, in particular service, here my 2013 update:
- the gym is (again) a disgrace for a 5* hotel, small, very cramped (treadmills too close to each other, TV is too close, 20cm of the runner's face), 3 OK treadmills + 2 vintage ones... staff are very courteous, but they stay at the entrance counter - I went for a couple of 1hr+ sessions, no staff ever came for water, towel or basic check...
- breakfast closes at 10am even on week-end... to early

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

The Westin hotel in Taipei is wonderful. The rooms are luxurious; the location is convenient; and the staff is courteous. If you are an SPG platinum member, the treatment will be even better than you are used to. We were given a wonderful room upgrade to a lovely suite and offered breakfast, afternoon tea, and evening happy hours at the executive lounge. Our first night, we were surprised with a complimentary fruit bowl, nuts, and beers in our room during turndown service. The staff were always very courteous. In particular, we were grateful to Larry Lai who offered us some delicious specialty coffee drinks in the executive lounge and Elise who took by good care of us during breakfast.

The only downside of this hotel is that it can be a bit pricey, but that is not unusual for this level hotel in Taipei.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Taipei

Address: No.133 Section 3, Nanking East Road, Taipei 104, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Taipei
#26 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#30 Business Hotel in Taipei
#45 Family Hotel in Taipei
#57 Top resorts Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Taipei 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Taipei provides a unique cultural touch and an oasis for rejuvenation in the financial, commercial and entertainment district of Taipei City’s Nanking East Road. Our hotel is a mere 40 minutes drive from Tao Yuan International Airport and convenient to the MRT. We are also just 15 minutes from the Taipei World Trade Center and the Nangang Exhibition Hall, via the Mass Rapid Transit Muzha Neihu Line.Ideal for both business and leisure travelers, we are conveniently located near major shopping centers and global corporate enterprises. We are very close to Taipei 101 -the tallest building in Taiwan- and not far from the National Palace Museum with its exquisite collections of ancient treasures, as well as night markets bustling with activities.Our Sensory Welcome will help you revitalize the minute you walk through the doors. You will be met with a delightful smile and Westin’s signature White Tea Scented Towel Service, a freshly prepared welcome drink, and Westin music and lighting to create an energizing ambiance. It will make your arrival experience refreshingly unique.288 deluxe rooms, including 42 suites, are comfortably appointed with contemporary amenities and beautiful city views. Each is equipped with our signature Heavenly Bed® for a relaxing night’s sleep. You can re-energize in the WestinWORKOUT® Gym, or work out in the privacy and comfort of your WestinWORKOUT® Room should you prefer. Our dining options offer culinary treats from both east and west, featuring a wide selection of the finest Chinese, Western, Italian, and Japanese cuisines.Find total renewal at The Westin Taipei. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your The Westin Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Taipei Hotel Taipei
Westin Taipei
Taipei Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Taipei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.