We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Taipei

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Taipei to your Saves list
The Westin Taipei
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.133 Section 3, Nanking East Road, Taipei 104, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 446 Hotels in Taipei
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Location and Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights and like the location of the hotel. It is only 1 train stop away from SOGO department store and within walking distance to a local night market. This area is less congested than those in the Taipei 101 region. Its quiet and safe. The hotel upholds its Westin spacious guest rooms. Only 1 point to note, the breakfast spread is not fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    182
    54
    13
    7
See reviews for
46
60
44
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

There's nothing more than a huge THANK YOU to the staff in this hotel.

Although it was the first time staying in this hotel, but I was treated and cared like a family member. As you can see all the pictures about the room, lobby, and all the facilities of the hotel, I am here to address the wonderful and friendly service I experienced.

I was sick and had a fever on a Saturday night, phoned guest service for the nearest clinic. The agent advised me to go to the ER instead. I didn't feel the need for ER so I decided to stay in the room and rest. Couple minutes later, an agent knocked on the door and delivered a bucket full of ice, towels, and bottled water. The agent greeted me gently and asked if I would need anything else. This is some kind of experience that money can't buy. I was cared and felt better next morning.

Thank you again, for treating me like a VIP. You have insipired me to treat my guests like how you treated me. Would definately come back if I had a chance!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The Westin is a nice hotel with cosy environment. Lobby is not very huge but nice. Convenient location & easy to get around. Staffs were friendly and couldn't have fault my stay here. Checkin & checkout processes we're quick and efficient. After all, nice and simple 5 Star Hotel. Hope to return again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
299 helpful votes 299 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I think I have experienced the perfect stay...the perfect storm of efficiency, professionalism and timing..there was not one point in my stay where I could fault anyone or anything at this hotel despite having stayed here a number of times before.
Everything was on time, everything was as it should be despite having rather bizarre requests ie turn down service (again) at 2 in the morning ! all handled in a professional and efficient manner. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone and everyone had a smile and hello for you :-)
Great executive club area, large and spacious. Great spa are...in the men's changing room a really hot soaking pool and really cold (small) dipping (?) pool, with and I think I have mentioned this before, a spinner to spin dry your wet shorts, invaluable :-)
The room that I had was one of the renovated ones and although the outside environment was slightly ''older'' as a property my stay was perfect....the staff quite literally could not have done any more to make my stay any better ! for me this Hotel and staff have raised the bar past the Grosvener house in Dubai and the St Regis in Singapore it was such a great experience ! Love this hotel, absolutely loved my stay to the point where I would have been quite happy to stay there :-)
Hopefully you will have the same sort of experience that I had. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Try the Churchhill bar, you'll be surprised :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Roomsa are soaciously designed. More so the bathrooms are very spacious. However the bathtub had rust stains which made it feel like a 3star vs a 5. Breakfast fare is good and elaborate. Sushi could be better.

Room Tip: Near the elevators else its a winding walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I had a terrible experience in the hotel beginning with eating plastic from a vegetable dish I had during breakfast.

The sound proofing in my room was terrible. You could hear your neighbour's conversation and trust me they were just talking.

My 1st and last time there. There are a lot of 5 star hotels in Taipei which is much better than Westin.

If I were you and have a choice (not a frequent SP points chaser), stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you have to stay, get a corner room unless you enjoy listening to people's conversation
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taipei
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I would say this hotel is average. May be slightly better than average. I stayed on the Executive Club floor and the exclusivity was nice. However, it is not a new or trendy hotel - in fact, it has been around for a long time and has probably done just good enough as a 5 star hotel. Good sized room with free internet.

However, the breakfast at the Executive Club Lounge was a letdown. The variety was really not much to shout about. The offering was also not sufficiently classy. The staff at the breakfast area was consistently busy to the point that the staff were not able to slow down and greet guests and show them to their tables properly. I was asked to just look for an empty table myself and sit down. And after I sat down, no one asked if I wanted coffee or tea - you simply walk up to the machine and make it yourself. All that for breakfast at Executive Club Lounge? Gee....

The overall service at the hotel I find is not sufficiently nice - you don't feel the warmth or the welcome. It may be sufficiently good if you compare with the level of service one is used to say in Europe or the US. But one should also compare to other hotels in Taiwan - if other hotels are offering what may be an 'exaggerated' type of service, they I feel Westin should follow or better that. Otherwise, it becomes just another hotel that happens to have an international name that only does its job

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Taipei

Address: No.133 Section 3, Nanking East Road, Taipei 104, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Taipei
#34 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#38 Business Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Taipei 4.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Taipei provides a unique cultural touch and an oasis for rejuvenation in the financial, commercial and entertainment district of Taipei City’s Nanking East Road. Our hotel is a mere 40 minutes drive from Tao Yuan International Airport and convenient to the MRT. We are also just 15 minutes from the Taipei World Trade Center and the Nangang Exhibition Hall, via the Mass Rapid Transit Muzha Neihu Line.Ideal for both business and leisure travelers, we are conveniently located near major shopping centers and global corporate enterprises. We are very close to Taipei 101 -the tallest building in Taiwan- and not far from the National Palace Museum with its exquisite collections of ancient treasures, as well as night markets bustling with activities.Our Sensory Welcome will help you revitalize the minute you walk through the doors. You will be met with a delightful smile and Westin’s signature White Tea Scented Towel Service, a freshly prepared welcome drink, and Westin music and lighting to create an energizing ambiance. It will make your arrival experience refreshingly unique.288 deluxe rooms, including 42 suites, are comfortably appointed with contemporary amenities and beautiful city views. Each is equipped with our signature Heavenly Bed® for a relaxing night’s sleep. You can re-energize in the WestinWORKOUT® Gym, or work out in the privacy and comfort of your WestinWORKOUT® Room should you prefer. Our dining options offer culinary treats from both east and west, featuring a wide selection of the finest Chinese, Western, Italian, and Japanese cuisines.Find total renewal at The Westin Taipei. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Taipei Hotel Taipei
Westin Taipei
Taipei Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Taipei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.