We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, clean and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Civil Service International House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Howard Civil Service International House to your Saves list
Howard Civil Service International House
No.30 Section 3, Hsinsheng South Road, Taipei 10660, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #206 of 447 Hotels in Taipei
3.5 of 5 stars 62 Reviews
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great value, clean and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I stayed at this hotel while at a conference at the university. It is ideally situated for the university being only a 5 minute walk away. It is also convenient for the MRT train system - the nearest station is 10 minutes walk which gives access to all of Taipei. The hotel is clean and efficiently run. All the staff I spoke to could speak excellent English and they were all very friendly and welcoming. I had a single room which was reasonable size - not large but plenty of room around the bed, with flat screen tv with a couple of channels in English, clean and good sized bathroom. The a/c was essential since the temperatures was around 40 degrees in July but the hotel was cool and comfortable.
A buffet breakfast in the restaurant was included each morning. There was a good variety of food available, hot tea and coffee, fruit juices etc. Western foods (toast, cornflakes etc) and more traditional Taiwanese dishes.
The hotel has a pool with jacuzzi and a gym. I used the pool but not the gym. It's not the most attractive pool area - more functional than somewhere to sit around. It was very quiet with only a few other guests using it in the evening when I was there.
The single room was exceptional value for money at around £30 per night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    40
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
5
8
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

The hotel is nice and situated in the city center. But you still need to walk some time or take taxi to those place needed. Room was comfortable for a business trip but never a leisure one.
I would rate 4 stars if the room has free WIFI service. They charge TWD200 per day for WIFI.
I think they should not have charge this.

Room Tip: Try to walk through those small road where the resident house are, more and cheaper food there. Thos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra, Portugal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Fine suites, with a nice and big living room and bathroom. The room was not that big, but acceptable.
Has some good restaurants nearby and the Metro is not far away.
Very nice and helpful staff, has almost all Taiwanese people.
The breakfast was good with a lot of variety, continental and local, the same for the other meals.
The conference rooms where good and the Auditorium was stunning.
A good experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

This is my 2nd stay, I am hosted so trust others that this is a great value. My room and service is excellent: Breakfast presented all the diversity I could ask for, and they do have expresso machiene which makes a nice americano. Room is large, sleeping area seperate from 'office' type sitting room with fridge, hot water and even every 3rd day 4 nice pieces of fruit provided. Internet functions very well
(I travel with my fine wire, which is always more secure, but they have also wireless), remember to get login and password credentials at check-in, but when ordering by phone the wait was just a few minutes for delivery of paper info. The reason I do not give 5-stars overall is that there is no thrill - this is a nice simple unassuming bedroom near NTU with a vibrant night market and many restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Basic, clean and comfortable for a one night stay. Staff are exceptionally freiendly as one would expect in Taiwan. Breakfast was adequate, congee was best item on the buffet.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for five days while she spoke at an academic conference at the National University just a block away. The room was nice and minimally furnished, but the bed was a bit harder than some people may like (hard memory foam mattress means lots of support for bad backs).

It's not the Westin or a W Hotel, but it was safe, clean, and nice. The included breakfast buffet was a nice touch, as well.

We had a suite, with a couch, flat screen TV, and desk, but I learned from colleagues that single travelers slept on double beds in small rooms. (Admittedly, though, they aren't small compared to NYC hotels.) Recommended for budget travelers. The subway is just a block away, the street traffic is surprisingly quiet at night, and taxis are easy to get.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

I've reviewed this hotel several years ago. I still stay here during each visit to Taiwan which is 6-8 times a year. To my knowledge rooms can only be booked by called or emailing the hotel directly. It's worth it. At only 2000 a night plus 200 internet, it's the best deal in town. The hotel was recently renovated and the lobby is beautiful. The rooms have been updated as well. At times the walls can be thin (I can hear the man next door snoring) and the rooms are small -- even by Taipei standards -- the the great breakfast, super location, friendly staff, huge windows, bright room, etc., make this hotel a perfect location for this very picky business traveler. Will continue to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Civil Service International House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Civil Service International House

Address: No.30 Section 3, Hsinsheng South Road, Taipei 10660, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 447 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Howard Civil Service International House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Civil Service International Hotel Taipei
Howard International Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Civil Service International House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.