We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Regent Taipei

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Regent Taipei to your Saves list
Regent Taipei
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.3, Lane 39, Section 2, Chungshan North Road, Taipei 104, Taiwan (Formerly The Regent Taipei)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 446 Hotels in Taipei
4.5 of 5 stars 734 Reviews
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“awesome hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

thats a choice to stay in taipei for visitor,my stayed here 1night only ,but it is awesome ,the room clean and super specious living room ,clean and comfortable bed .
staff are very fridendly and helpful . i will come here and stay again .

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton_Johnston, General Manager at Regent Taipei, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Tinakbula:

Thank you very much for your valuable comment and so glad that you enjoyed your time here. Your comments will be shared with the team.

Sincerely we look forward to serving you again soon.

Warm regards,
Morton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    241
    49
    15
    9
See reviews for
176
135
47
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

It was first visit to Taiwan for my family so we had a few information to enjoy in Taiwan. Coincierge team, especially Nina was very helpful for a restaraurant reservation, transportation, shopping information and so on. Front doorman had written down taxi numbers that we have taken in case of any problems such as lost articles, over charge, or a detour to another destination. It was such a nice service that I had never experienced before. We had a very safe and pleasant stay in this hotel in Taiwan.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton_Johnston, General Manager at Regent Taipei, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear SmartJH:

Thank you very much for your valuable comment and so glad that you enjoyed your time here. Your comments will be shared with the team.

Sincerely we look forward to serving you again soon.

Warm regards,
Morton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

This is my first stay in Regent Taipei for holiday, as I always stay in Royal Taipei which is a 5 mins walking distance. The moment you step in to the hotel, you can feel the classic 5 Stars ambiance. Service was excellent throughout my stay.

In addition, room is modern and the bed is very comfy just nice to my liking. What surprised me is that they also prepared amenities for my 2 years old daughter such as mini sandal, mini shower robe and etc.

I loves their breakfast with huge varieties that can satisfy any nationalities. Food qualities is really up to the standard. Although the restaurant is full during breakfast, good service from the staff is not neglected.

Location is very convenient as always and easy reach to anywhere in Taipei. Would consider to stay here again for my next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton_Johnston, General Manager at Regent Taipei, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Ivan_Boey:

Thank you very much for your valuable comment and so glad that you enjoyed your time here. Your comments will be shared with the team.

Sincerely we look forward to serving you again soon.

Warm regards,
Morton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, USA
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

The Regent Taipei did not disappoint. It is a modern hotel with beautiful decor, attentive and helpful staff, high end stores, and nice restaurants. The room was spacious, clean, and very comfortable. The bathroom was big, and bright w/ nice amenities. Robes and slippers were provided, as well as coffee, tea and water. We had the breakfast buffet during our staying and enjoyed it very much. We also tried the bar, and the Azie Cafe and we were happy w/ both places. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton_Johnston, General Manager at Regent Taipei, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Deba2010:

Thank you very much for your valuable comment and so glad that you enjoyed your time here. Your comments will be shared with the team.

Sincerely we look forward to serving you again soon.

Warm regards,
Morton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Spent a week at the Regent as part of a business trip. A spacious room as would be expected. Comfortable and impeccably clean. Huge breakfast buffet cooked to every taste. Mind that the breakfast restaurant tends to get crowded around 9 am. Quality of service as I would expect from a true *****.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton_Johnston, General Manager at Regent Taipei, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear GraemeL:

Thank you very much for your valuable comment and so glad that you enjoyed your time here. Your comments will be shared with the team.

Sincerely we look forward to serving you again soon.

Warm regards,
Morton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I normally stay at the Grand Hyatt Taipei for business convenience reasons, but as I had a weekend in between meetings I wanted to try the Regent.

The Regent has a reputation, much like the Peninsula in Hong Kong or the Raffles in Singapore - of times past, when there was only one luxury Hotel in town. Now there are many. New players in Taipei such as Mandarin Oriental and W Hotels are game-changers for the high end market.

Good

In general, from a guest angle, the service quality and attention to details, the Regent scores highly.

However, as a general observation the higher that you go up in the hotel, the higher the service level. This is a hotel which aims at quality, service and providing a guest experience.

Everybody on the 19th Floor Taipan Club level where I stayed performed excellently, making a visible effort to please, especially in the Taipan lounge and at the Taipan breakfast.

On arrival, a list of exclusive Taipan services was listed on a personally addressed letter left on my desk. By the end of the stay I noted that all of the Taipan services were ticked off, and so this isn't a list of empty promises.

The inclusive suit-pressing, shoes shine and return were perfect. Evening cocktails and canapés at the Club's lounge were somewhere quiet to escape the crowd, before a night out.

Even at the lobby, at the Circular Driveway, the front-line guys overseeing more mundane things like ordering taxis and collecting luggage were perfectly co-ordinated and worked as a team of 2 - offering quality customer service in their own way.

The Regent is a happening place. On Friday night, a black tie event was held for Chanel, an in-house shop, complete with Taiwan glitterati and pop stars, arriving limos, creating a buzz in the foyer. On Saturday night, a live trio in the atrium crooning Jazz and Beach Boys classics with bass and saxophone was one of the best live performances I've seen, and shouldn't be missed.

Bad

I tried the main hotel breakfast in the morning - this was very efficient, and Taipan Club guests get their own private seating area, with more comfortable seats, separate from the main dining area. However, you might also find it more chaotic here - the Taipan Club lounge on the 19th Floor offers a select sub-menu of the Main Buffet providing ample choices which you can eat in Club lounge comfort. The difference is like traveling in Coach or traveling in Business.

The gym is adequate but not flash. The decor is probably late 90s. The machines, aside from the cardio also dates from that era - white awkward and clunky, rather than ergonomic and streamlined. Earphones aren't sterilized. They should send a spy to the Grand Hyatt Taipei's remodeled gym to take notes on what today's guests want.

Ugly

I think that it's in the building's basement that the hotel has room for improvement.

In the last hour of my stay I had one upsetting experience. Here, I was visiting the Regent Galleria, an exclusive shopping centre in the hotel's basement floors. It has every luxury label you can imagine starting from Chanel and Hermes, ending with Valentino.

I was interested to purchase some art displayed by a local artist. I also saw some floral displays which looked like what Joyce Boutique does in Hong Kong. Taking photos of such subjects on an iPhone is a compliment to the hotel and the artist; and not a crime.

I was therefore surprised to be approached and shouted at in Mandarin and English that "no photos were allowed" by a Galleria security staff member. I found his manner, conduct and tone offensive. Seething, I stopped taking photos, as the guard threatened to make a scene, and here I was in the middle of Taipei's ground zero for luxury. I made a written complaints procedure with the hotel - hopefully they are read guest complaints.

All in all, a generally very good experience marred by a bad one. However, from a guest angle it's normally always the bad experiences that are retained.

Stars have been deducted for this review as a result.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

We checked in July 24, 2014, we stayed at the Regent Hotel for 9 nights. I cannot express my feelings enough about this hotel and the staff, superior!!!!!
They honestly do go out of their way to make you feel so welcome, so cared for, so loved.
A special special special thanks to Jamie Lin ( Duty Manager ).
Jamie Lin, I want to thank you for all the wonderful attention you put in our stay during July 24 till August 2,2014 ( room 1537 ).
We will for sure return to Taipei and only stay at the Regent Hotel.
Please each and everyone that is reading my review, I do advise you to try all the restaurants that are at the Regent Hotel because each Resturant has it's own special touch...

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton_Johnston, General Manager at Regent Taipei, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Captainye:

Thank you very much for your valuable comment for our associate Jamie and so glad that you enjoyed your time here. Your comments will be shared with the team.

Sincerely we look forward to serving you again soon.

Warm regards,
Morton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Regent Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Taipei

Address: No.3, Lane 39, Section 2, Chungshan North Road, Taipei 104, Taiwan (Formerly The Regent Taipei)
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Taipei
#5 Spa Hotel in Taipei
#7 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#12 Family Hotel in Taipei
#23 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Regent Taipei 5*
Number of rooms: 538
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regent Taipei has 538 of the most spacious and attractively designed rooms in Taiwan. Standard amenities include the pressure relieving Wellspring Bed, a pillow menu, feather duvet, large marbled bathroom with deep soaking tub and separate shower, 24-hour room service, complimentary wireless Internet, satellite TV, stereo, in-room safe, and mini-bar. On the top floors of Regent Taipei is TAI PAN Residence & Club, an all-butler hotel that coalesces the traditional Oriental milieu with contemporary comfort, where one can Experience Modern Chinese Lifestyle. Also found in the hotel are the Wellspring Spa urban resort, the state-of-the-art Health Club & Sauna, complete meeting and banqueting facilities, a rooftop pool, the Regent Galleria that provides a world-class shopping venue to cater to the needs of global luxury travelers, and eight world-class restaurants that offer traditional and innovative cuisines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Regent Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Taipei Hotel Taipei
Taipei Regent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regent Taipei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.