We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant hotel lobby, with great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Landis Taipei Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Landis Taipei Hotel to your Saves list
Landis Taipei Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.41 Min Chuan East Road, Section 2, Taipei 104, Taiwan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 446 Hotels in Taipei
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Elegant hotel lobby, with great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

From the time the doorman greets you until the porter drops your luggage in your room, the service is great. Personal checkin desk instead of an impersonal long counter. Plenty of staff around waiting to assist.

Location is also good, within about 6 minute walk from the metro station. Travel via underground is super easy and the boards are clear enough without reading Chinese. Just head out the front doors and turn right. If you go left, there is a McDonalds and of course, 7-11 is everywhere.

The hotel offers a small business room with computer, internet and printer. There is also a meeting room next door, but you must reserve it first. The hotel offers 2 hours use daily of the room, and only about 5-10 minutes internet time at no charge.

Skip the overpriced breakfast buffet. At about $33 US it's not worth it. However, the Chinese restaurant downstairs is pretty good, but also a bit pricey.

The most famous Shin-Lin Night Market is about 10 minutes by cab, or you can take the Metro. Downtown near Taipei 101 is only about 4 stops on the metro as well.

Although this hotel is not the most upscale and elegant compared to others, it is small and quaint and located within a few metro stops of all the things you want to see and do in Taipei. I've stayed there at least twice so far, and will certainly consider staying there again.

Room Tip: Most rooms are quiet, but if they offer a room+breakfast deal, think about passing on that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMLandis, Guest Relations Manager at Landis Taipei Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at The Landis Taipei and taking your precious time to share your comments with us. I am pleased to know that you were satisfied with our service as well as the location of our hotel. It is always delightful to receive compliments from our guests and I have shared your kind words with all the associates.

The entire team and I sincerely appreciate your encouragements and feedback so that we may serve our guests better in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back at The Landis Taipei very soon.


Truthfully yours,


Akiko Saito
Guest Relations Manager
The Landis Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    154
    32
    5
    3
See reviews for
103
100
45
152
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I just stayed at the Landis Taipei this week for 3 nights. The hotel quality is good, rooms are clean and bright. Good for business travel. Breakfast is average, variety is limited. For the > TWD 5000 per night I paid, I have stayed at better hotels in Taipei that cost less. The service of the reception staff and concerige are execellent, check in was fast.
Only downside is there is nothing around it to explore or shop around except a famous temple. The nearest Shi Lin night market is 10 min by taxi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMLandis, Guest Relations Manager at Landis Taipei Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Greetings from Taiwan!

We would like to thank you for publishing your review about The Landis Taipei. We truly appreciate your comments and patronage. It is always a delight to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We would be happy to recommend some famous and very tasty restaurants in the hotel's neibourhood as well as the walking-distance MRT Station if you want to get easily and quickly to Taipei's main places of interest.

The entire team sincerely appreciates your encouragements and feedbacks so that we may serve our guests better in the future. We are willing to welcoming you again soon.

All the best for the Chinese New Year of the Snake!

Best regards,
Aurore Mousset
Guest Relations Officer
The Landis Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

A good hotel in a good location. not great, but good.

Not so good: The breakfast buffett was expensive and the selection and quality of the food items could have been better. We just decided we would go right across the street and eat at Mcdonalds for breakfast.

Good: It was within 5 min walking distance to the nearest subway.

Good: I used the internet in the lobby business office twice for a total of 8 hours at no charge.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMLandis, Guest Relations Manager at Landis Taipei Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at The Landis Taipei and takeing your precious time to share your comments with us. I am pleased to know that you gave us good comments about location and business center. It is always delightful to receive compliments from our guests and I have shared your kind words with all the associates.

With regards to your comments about our breakfast buffet, I am very sorry that it was not meet your expectation. I have shared your opinion with our associates from the Food and Bevergage department to improve the selection as well as the quality of the food.

The entire team and I sincerely appreciate your encouragements and feedbaks so that we may serve our guests better in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back at The Landis Taipei very soon.


Truthfully yours,

Akiko Saito
Guest Relations Manager
The Landis Taiei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

A little out of the centre, but it is less than 5 minutes to a metro station so this is not a big issue.
The room was standard size and had a bath, which I prefer. I do not like carpets, and this had a carpet which smelt for at least half an hour whenever the maid came in and did the hoovering and made all the dust fly up.
The gym was on the 12th floor on the top of the building. It is fairly good with all the basic equipment that you need.
The breakfast is pretty basic, but there is some choice.
Its really overpriced for what you get in a standard room, at over £115 per night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMLandis, Guest Relations Manager at Landis Taipei Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at The Landis Taipei and taking your precious time to share your comments with us.

About the carpet smell which you mentioned, we sincerely apologize for that. I understand that this must have been disappointed for you during your stay with us. I appreciate your opinions and will certainly take them into consideration.

The entire team and I sincerely thank you for your encouragements and feedbacks so that we may serve our guests better in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back at The Landis Taipei again.

Truthfully yours,


Akiko Saito
Guest Relations Manager
The Landis Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My partner and I stayed at this property for 5 nights just before our tour of Taiwan started and also for 1 night as part of our tour. The one thing we noticed was that the service was superb. The doormen were friendly and the bellboys were very helpful. Everyone at the front desk were accommodating and were able to help us with directions and bookings.

We arrived early to the hotel and checked in at 12pm. We booked a deluxe room which was big and the bathroom had a bidet. My partner used the Jurlique day spa, which she enjoyed. The location is quite close to the MRT station and all the taxis knew the hotel, which made it easy to get back to even late at night.

We found the price very reasonable and the service truly commendable. We would definitely return to this hotel the next time we visit taipei.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMLandis, 客戶關係經理 at Landis Taipei Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Landis Hotel for your recent stay in Taipei. It is such a pleasure to know that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay at our hotel, especially the service provided by our front desk and bell station staff. Please be assured that your kind words will be shared with them and make them very happy!.

Thank you once again for your positive feedbacks and support, we look forward to welcoming you back at The Landis Taipei very soon.


Truthfully yours,


Anastasia Su
Guest Relations Manager
Landis Hotel Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I was just there over Christmas 2012. All the front desk staff spoke fluent english, which is very convenient for my family since we don't speak mandarin at home, just english and hokkien. Checking in was swift and professional, generously slathered with warmth and hospitality which just made arriving there at 2am less onerous.

We got the deluxe room for 3 pax and it was cheaper than the superior which we initially booked for 2 pax! Mysterious, but nothing we'd complain about. The room was very spacious for three, with 2 TVs and a large sofa set, a business desk and coffee table. It had no problems holding all three of our big hardshell luggages.

They kindly refill the fruit bowl in the room each day, complimentary. Go for the apples, very sweet! They also offer multiple english news publications to be delivered to the room every morning, again, complimentary. All rooms had free wired LAN and wifi internet. Extremely convenient for a family with 2 laptops and 3 smartphones!

The intelligent toilet was a luxurious and pleasant surprise, something we expect in Korea or Japan, but not in Taiwan. Warmed seats are a joy on cold mornings. ^___^ All the toiletries were of some Dead Sea salt range, very good for the skin, according to the more girly ones in my family. XD Bottled water was provided, also free of charge, as many as you wanna request. Again, very nice of them. I recall being charged in other 5-star hotels for water, if you ask for more than 1 bottle per pax. So ngiao.

There's a 7-11 just across the street, and another just around the corner, a 24hr McD's, and a Family Mart too, just within a few minutes walking distance. Might be 5-7 minutes from the train station but just cab it if your legs cannot tahan. Cabs are so cheap there. For those who miss it, there's also a 85 deg cafe across the road and down a block or two. 24hrs too!

Overall, the facilities and service at Landis are great. Fittings all seem very new, and the carpets are vacuumed daily. My only beef is the beds and pillows, both were kinda hard, but for the low price we paid, really a small fry complaint. The comforter was warm and fluffy to offset that. I felt good tipping the chambermaids for the excellent job they did for our week-long stay there. The operators on the hotel line all spoke fluent english, too, just to note.

Room Tip: If you can finagle it, try to grab the deluxe room. You'll love the extra space to sprawl out in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMLandis, Guest Relations Manager at Landis Taipei Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Season’s greetings from The Landis Taipei! We are so glad to read your positive remarks and we are so grateful for the time you spent on writing such useful and detailed comments about us.

We are happy to notice you had pleasant Christmas holidays in Taiwan and that you enjoyed our facilities and customized services. In addition, it is always rewarding for all the departments to receive such compliments. We will make our best to serve you better in the future by considering you prefer softer pillows.

All the Landis Team would like to thank you once more and is willing to welcome you again soon.
Happy New Year 2013!

Warmest regards from Taipei,
Aurore Mousset
Guest Relations Officer – Front Office
The Landis Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The service is excellent and staffs treat you like a VIP.Ever willing to make the stay pleasant one, even offering customized breakfast for long stay guests. Stayed here every time in town and it extremely good business hotel.it show the level of effort made by management in training. I highly recommended this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMLandis, Guest Relations Manager at Landis Taipei Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very grateful for you positive review. It is always a pleasure to receive such rewarding compliments and your support has been shared with all the departments.

Thank you for highlighting our personnalized services: we are glad to hear you appreciated the customized breakfast for long stay guests. We will always make our best to serve and meet each guest's highest expectations.

All the Landis team wishes you the best season's greetings and is sincerely willing to welcoming you again in the nearest future!

Warmest regards from Taipei,
Aurore Mousset
Guest Relations Officer
The Landis Taipei Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Landis Taipei Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landis Taipei Hotel

Address: No.41 Min Chuan East Road, Section 2, Taipei 104, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Taipei
#6 Spa Hotel in Taipei
#9 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#16 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
#17 Family Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Landis Taipei Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, AsiaRooms, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your Landis Taipei Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landis Hotel Taipei
Taipei Landis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Landis Taipei Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.