We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Landis Taipei Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Landis Taipei Hotel to your Saves list
Landis Taipei Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.41 Min Chuan East Road, Section 2, Taipei 104, Taiwan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 446 Hotels in Taipei
Hollywood, Florida
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

I travel often for work and am very hotel "weary" having stayed for months at a time in hotels. When you stay a long time you learn a lot from the staff about how the pillows are never washed, linen is dragged around sometimes and then just put on a bed. A "semi-cleaned" room may be given to you upon check in, and the worst I heard; if someone is there only for a night or two and the bed looks clean, the maids sometimes brush the beds off and shake the sheets and re-make the bed! The latter I learnt as I am quite friendly and outgoing and usually make friends with staff. The Landis offers a whole different experience. This was not my first time nor will it be my last but they are meticulous about cleanliness, my suite was ready as soon as I arrived, which was pretty early, and they even recognised me from my last stay. The staff always go out of their way to be helpful and I have learnt a lot of Mandarin Chinese from them. I highly recommend this for business or leisure. It is a beautiful hotel with a warm friendly staff.

Room Tip: I can only say the suites are magnificent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMLandis, 客戶關係經理 at Landis Taipei Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2012
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for your valuable comments as well as your patronage of The Landis Hotel. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your room and the overall customer service. We sincerely appreciate your encouragements and feedbacks so that t we may serve our guests better in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back at The Landis Taipei very soon.


Truthfully yours,

Anastasia Su
Guest Relations Manager
Landis Hotel Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    154
    32
    5
    3
See reviews for
103
100
45
152
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vallejo, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

The Landis Hotel is a great property convenient to the subway and fairly centrally located. We reserved online at the last minute (we had to bail on our first hotel) and were upgraded to a suite even at the discounted internet rate. The room was very nicely appointed, large and comfortable. Facilities were top notch. But te best thing about this already great hotel was the staff. They could not have been nicer, and were falling over one another to cater to our every whim and answer every question, not matter how esoteric. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMLandis, 客戶關係經理 at Landis Taipei Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for selecting Landis Hotel Taipei and for taking time to share your recent staying experience with us. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always delightful to receive compliments from our guests and we have shared your kind words with all the associates. The whole team of Landis Hotel Taipei sincerely appreciates your encouragements and feedbacks so that we may serve our guests better in the future. We look forward to more of your valuable comments and visits in the future.


Truthfully yours,

Anastasia Su
Guest Relations Manager
Landis Hotel Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

I was a guest at the Landis between Dec 29 to Jan 1. I was so impressed with everything. At a very reasonable cost, we had great, clean, modern rooms equipped with a bidet. Fruit and water was provided everyday. The service was amazing and the staff show you to your room when you first check in. They were also very helpful and willing to assist in making reservations for you and providing good recommendations on places to go. While I was there, Lucy Chou was especially amazing and always met our requests with a smile. The breakfast buffet is nothing short of amazing with an egg station, congee, smoked salmon, fresh fruit (and peeled clementines), among many other foods. Breakfast was one of the highlights of the day. The door staff are also great and ensure that the taxi does not rip you off. I would totally stay here again and recommend it to anyone. The location is also super close to a subway station!

Room Tip: Try to get a room in a higher level if possible because traffic in Taiwan can be noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMLandis, 客戶關係經理 at Landis Taipei Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Landis Hotel Taipei and taking your precious time to share a review with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and breakfast during your staying. Your generous and kind compliments are highly appreciated and have been shared with our associates. Through such input, we hope to provide even greater comfort and enjoyment to our guests. The Entire team of Landis Hotel Taipei appreciates your support and look forward to welcoming you back again and again in the future.

Truthfully yours,

Anastasia Su
Guest Relations Manager
Landis Hotel Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

It's been a few years since I last visited Taipei. I was lucky that my company booked me this hotel. The hotel is located at a junctions, full of eateries on both streets. So location wise is excellent. Only a few minutes walk to savor all kinds of Taiwan local food. The room I have is super clean and feel newly renovated. The bed firmness is just nice to my liking. The whole experience is so good that I did not find anything to complain about. Definitely will stay in this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMLandis, 客戶關係經理 at Landis Taipei Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your valuable comments as well as your patronage of The Landis Hotel Taipei. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our newly renovated suite . We sincerely appreciate your encouragements and feedbacks so that we may provide even great service to our guest in the future. We truly look forward to welcoming you back at The Landis Taipei very soon.


Truthfully yours,

Anastasia Su
Guest Relations Manager
Landis Hotel Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Nearly a year after the nuclear disaster in Fukushima, Japan, we decided to take a vacation (our home is 36Km from the explosions). We had some unused miles on JAL (so airfare was reasonably cheap) so we decided to splurge on our lodgings. The Landis was a great decision. First of all, when we checked in, our room had been upgraded from a Deluxe to an Executive (we booked our tickets directly from their web site and I later confirmed and added another room for some friends that joined us on our trip.) A great way to start our stay! This is truly a 5 star hotel. Coming from Japan, it is a joy to enjoy first class service with a smile from ALL the staff without anyone expecting a tip. All the staff at the check-in counter could speak English well and many could also communicate in Japanese. The red-caps were hit or miss but there was always someone on duty who could speak English. Taxi fares in Taipei are about a third of what they are in the US or Japan. (A thirty minute ride costs about $6.00 or 450yen, again, tips aren't given.) The door-men are quite busy at the Landis. They are continually opening the doors for the guests and hailing taxis as well. When they get you a taxi, they confirm where you want to go and relay the information the driver in Chinese. They also let the driver know that the Landis has recorded the driver's cab number and for them not to try any shenanigans. The rooms were clean and nicely furnished. I particularly enjoyed the free wifi available in the room and bar. There was your typical twice a day room service and the staff were good at leaving things arranged the way we liked. Note: there was no view from our room.

We stayed there for six nights from the day before Christmas until New Year's Eve. During that time we availed ourselves of the front desk's help for restaurant suggestions, reservations and alternatives. We were pleased every time.

We have only stayed at a couple 5 star hotels. At $180.00 per night and NO tips, we have never had a better deal at this level.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMLandis, 客戶關係經理 at Landis Taipei Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel, and for your generous and kind compliments. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind comments regarding our service and room facilities have been noted and shared with our associates. We will do our very best to continue deserving such high praise.We look forward to welcoming you back at The Landis Hotel Taipei very soon.

Truthfully yours,

Anastasia Su
Guest Relations Manager
Landis Hotel Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

My husband and I loved this hotel. The room was comfortable and very clean. The daily fresh fruit was quite welcomed. The restaurants were wonderful. The staff's recommendations for local restaurants was also wonderful. The staff was amazingly helpful. I agree with Aylo - Lucy was especially helpful. The staff made train reservations for us, helped get guides when we traveled to Tainan, helped us plan our daily activities - even ones that had no cost, and were extraordinarily pleasant. Though the hotel was full, we felt like we had personal attention. My husband and I really liked the location because it was within walking distance of the Flower Exhibit, which was absolutely amazing. We also liked the local restaurants and local shops, and felt comfortable walking at any time. We were so pleased with a hotel, we had a local friend come to meet us there. I will never forget the trip, nor this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMLandis, 客戶關係經理 at Landis Taipei Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing Landis Hotel Taipei and taking your precious time to share a review with us. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and dinning during your staying. Your generous and kind compliments are highly appreciated and have been shared with our associates. We sincerely appreciate your encouragements and feedbacks so that we may serve our guests better in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back soon in the future.

Truthfully yours,

Anastasia Su
Guest Relations Manager
Landis Hotel Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City of London, England
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

As a family we stayed for 4 nights in December 2011. The staff were very welcoming and spoke excellent English; nothing was too much trouble. We had two Deluxe rooms on the sixth floor overlooking a small garden (628 and 630) at the back of the hotel. The hotel has a subtle “art deco” theme in the common parts, but the rooms are very modern – furnished in light brown and green tones, with beautifully pearlised mosaic bathrooms. The beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms large and with a separate rainforest shower.
Our Deluxe rooms also had a separate seating area (with coffee table) and desk as well as an additional TV. We had free WiFi access throughout our stay, a real bonus.
We didn’t visit the famous French restaurant but enjoyed a nice buffet breakfast every day in the ground floor brasserie. There was a sufficient range of Chinese (including congee, dim sum etc) and Western dishes (fruit, croissant, bacon etc), and an egg station.
We chose the hotel for the location. Although it’s a bit out of the very centre of town, it’s a seven minute walk to two MRT stations, about a 40 minute walk to the Confucius and Longshan temples, half an hour wander to the Fine Arts Museum and fifteen minutes to the Taipei Eye show. There were also plenty of restaurants of all shapes and sizes nearby.
I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Taipei; it has a real boutique feel and we were very well looked after.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRMLandis, 客戶關係經理 at Landis Taipei Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your valuable comments as well as your patronage of The Landis Hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and breakfast during your stay. We sincerely appreciate your encouragements and feedbacks so that we may serve our guests better in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back at The Landis Taipei very soon.

Truthfully yours,

Anastasia Su
Guest Relations Manager
Landis Hotel Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Landis Taipei Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landis Taipei Hotel

Address: No.41 Min Chuan East Road, Section 2, Taipei 104, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Taipei
#6 Spa Hotel in Taipei
#9 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#16 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
#17 Family Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Landis Taipei Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, AsiaRooms, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Landis Taipei Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landis Hotel Taipei
Taipei Landis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Landis Taipei Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.