We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible choice of ''hotel''” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ximen Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ximen Hotel to your Saves list
Ximen Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4F., No.78 Section 1, Zhonghua Road, Taipei 108, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #390 of 467 Hotels in Taipei
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible choice of ''hotel''”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Upon reaching the so-called Hotel, our trip was ruined by it. We booked online via agoda and paid the Superior Deluxe Room. When we checked in, the room was super small. Basically when you opened the door, it's the bed within 1-2 steps. And the first thing we saw was a thick collection of dust on the wall ledge. We checked the other areas upon seeing the dust and realised that the handle of the bathroom door was loose, some minor stains on the towels plus the dusts again, on the air ventilation in the toilet. The chair in the room was smaller than a normal stool. We were in fact calm about all these until we went to the counter. We asked if the room was standard room and the lady at the counter replied yes. We reverted very nicely that we booked and paid for superior deluxe and the reply was that every room is almost the same! We had one thought in mind then~WHY the different PRICE if all the room is almost the SAME? She offered us two other rooms for us to view and see if we wanted to change, we went to check...the room has no windows one thing which is not a big matter...the thing is,it stinks of smoke. The lady told us that they cannot control what the customers want to do in their room~ and while we are deciding if we should change rooms, the lady called and rush us to return the keys. In addition, she told us that we have used the room and because of that we cannot change room anymore. The sad thing is~we called Agoda and still they refused to refund us money or charge us standard room price. we have to pay for 2 nights stay although we only stayed for a night and we actually sourced for another hotel last minute. Totally felt being SCAMMED. There are alot more affordable and nice hotels out there people, just don't go to this hotel. Looking at those corridors remind us of those scary movie motels... and ya, only level 6 is newly refurbished i think...and the reception is located on the 4th storey. Definitely will not go back to this hotel nor will book hotel through Agoda again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    3
    2
    14
See reviews for
5
6
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This hotel is along the main road, Zhonghua street. Hotel signboard is yellow in colour that says "Ximen Hotel". Signboard is not obvious though & reception is on level 4.

Free Wifi in the room & location of this hotel is about 10 mins walk to the Ximen subway station. Ximen subway station is located in the heart of Ximending, with many shopping and eateries.

Although hotel is located along the main road, the rooms are quiet and sound proof in the rooms are good. Noises from the cars cannot be heard too.

I stayed on level 6 and the rooms had just been refurbished. Rooms are clean and bright though small. Many TV channels are available.

Room Tip: Rooms on level 6 which had been refurnished are clean, bright and quiet though small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

The hotel is located within a commercial complex and the hotel reception is on the 4th floor. We checked in to the hotel after our day trip at around 11 plus 12 midnight and boy was I shocked at the type of people I saw checking in. They looked like not-that-decent type of people, solo travellers with an over-night bag which really makes me wonder what they were doing checking in that late! I felt really uncomfortable at the reception area and the check-in took a while despite having a number of staff behind the counter. It was a no-frills check-in - they gave you the keys and you made your own way to the room.

The room and amenities provided was basic but I guess with such a bad first impression, I had already formed an opinion about the place. I felt that the room was "dirty" not quite in the physical dust, bugs sense but as in "I cannot imagine what has been done in this room". Needless to say, I kept my slippers on and tried not to touch the floor with my bare feet. The purple wallpaper added on to the clandestine atmosphere.

The hotel, however, was quite convenient. In fact, it was just a 2 mins walk from JoggingBear and about a 4 mins walk to the Ximending Station. There's also a Mos Burger just 2 steps away from the building so fairly convenient to settle a meal.

Overall: I would not recommend this hotel and would request couples, families with kids to steer clear!

Room Tip: I would not recommend this hotel and would request couples, families with kids to steer clear!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

While searching to book a hotel room for my family trip of 5 to Taipei, i saw nice pictures of this Ximen hotel on the internet. As it is 2 weeks to my travelling date, i quickly booked it online for 5 days and payment have to be made in full by credit card. On the first day when we reached the building, there was no reception lobby and was directed by a sign to take the lift to the 4th flr where we saw a small old counter with a lady inside. She prepared the check-in for us and we took the lift to the 5th storey and when the door opened as we stepped out we saw peel off carpet on the floor with bed sheets dump at a corner and as we walked along the lobby to our hotel room we can smell joss burning. The nightmare just began..the room has the wear n tear paint, no wardrobe and the toilet is small n run down. We had booked a family room for 5 of us to stay together. We thought we will just bear with it as we had already paid for it. But the next morning while bathing half way the shower head broke, the tap was leaking and the whole floor was very wet with water flowing out from a hose connected to the bath tub to the floor where there's a drainage hole instead of to the drainage pipe. We have to step into the bath tub to shower. The hair dryer suddenly stop working while drying my hair half way. We went to complain to the receptionist n she said she will get a technician to connect the shower head back to the hose and to call her again should it come out again. Oh my god..i just cant take it anymore so i requesedt for check out and ask for refund of the next few days room rates and they refused saying they can do the repairs. I told her the pictures posted in their website is completely different from what we see. It is deceiving and we had to pay in full as requested. In the end, we decided we cant stay there anymore and moved to another hotel which is decent and clean. It nearly spoilt our family yearly holiday trip. I know there's no way they will refund us the money but i need to let others be aware of this hotel as this is not the right way to earn money. They shouldnt deceive tourist by posting nice pictures of hotel rooms instead of the current original state that it is.

Room Tip: Better to book hotel room early and get recommended ones by ppl who had stayed there before.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ximen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ximen Hotel

Address: 4F., No.78 Section 1, Zhonghua Road, Taipei 108, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #390 of 467 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ximen Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Ximen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ximen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.