We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of amba TAIPEI XIMENDING

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added amba TAIPEI XIMENDING to your Saves list
amba TAIPEI XIMENDING
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1F, 5-10F, No.77 Section 2, Wuchang Street, Taipei, Taiwan   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 446 Hotels in Taipei
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Enjoyed the stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Great location. Friendly staff. Trendy hotel with geat concepts- clean and new too. My 4 y.o. love the toilet and my 9 y.o. love the shower. I love the laundry room - lifesaver for young family like me. My husband loved the many food stalls around. Just a bit more challenging to get variety in breakfast in ximending area - but the place is super happening at night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
teresahuang77, 總經理 at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear amba guest,

Thank you for taking time to highlight your recent amba experience with us.

It is and always will be our greatest pleasure knowing that our valued guests like you and your lovely ones enjoyed your stay with us. Your gracious recognition will surely be shared with the entire amba team, whom I believe will be much encouraged and inspired.

Thank you once again for your support towards amba. We all look forward to welcoming you and your lovely family soon in the near future.

Teresa Huang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    134
    29
    13
    4
See reviews for
70
63
34
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is 2nd time staying and it improves a lot not only on the service but also on the overall cleaniness.
Situated in the middle of Ximending where you can get basically everything frm good local food , shopping and cinemas nearby.Although not much variety for breakfast, it will still keep you full.
Parking is not provided and this is not friendly for local pp.

Room Tip: If need bigger room, choose L size, it makes a lot of difference for luggages and all the shopping s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresahuang77, 總經理 at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear amba guest,

Thank you for sparing time to share your recent amba experience online with us.

I am really glad to learn your recognition towards amba. Your kind words along with suggestions will surely be shared with the entire amba team, whom I believe will be much encouraged and inspired.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback. We shall all look forward to seeing you soon in the near future.

Teresa Huang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Amba hotel is a modern and trendy hotel. located in the heart of the bustling Ximending area.
The rooms are not large, but very clean and have all amenities you could expect from a hotel in this range (coffee-making facilities, complimentary drinking water) and even some extra surprises (a pair of take-away trendy slippers).
The hotel is in a reduced-traffic pedestrian street and in the same building as the Eslite shopping center. Reception is on the 5th floor. Take an elevator from street level at the side of the building.
Staff is extremely helpful and friendly.
I have stayed in other hotels during previous visits to Taipei, but from now on I will only stay in Amba.

Room Tip: I think there are rooms without windows. Best to make sure you have a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresahuang77, 總經理 at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear amba friend,

Thank you for choosing amba TAIPEI XIMENDING and sparing time to share your recent amba experience online with us.

We are all happy to learn that you had an overall enjoyable time with us. On top of all, I am especially pleased that you found our staff helpful and friendly during your stay. It is, by all means, the greatest encouragement to the entire team knowing that our efforts are well-delivered to our valued amba friends like you.

Thank you once again for your gracious recognition. We look forward to welcoming you back to amba soon whenever your next trip brings you back to Taipei!


Teresa Huang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Interesting boutique hotel at the hard of ximenting, about 10 mins walk for subway. It is not exactly easy to find as it is part of a building and you need to take a lift to reach the hotel reception area. Nice cozy restaurent with features of toys from yesteryears. There are many shops available for most shops open at 11am only .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresahuang77, 總經理 at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear amba friend,

Thank you for staying with us and I am really glad to read your recent amba experience online.

We are all happy to learn that you found us interesting and convenient during your time in Taipei. Believe you must have taken well advantage of the convenience of Ximending and enjoyed some quality time with your loved ones.

Thank you once again for sharing and we look forward to your next visit in the near future whenever your next trip brings you back to Taipei!


Teresa Huang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed at Amba for 2 nights. Room is clean and new. The hotel located in the heart of Ximending which is very convenient and only 5 minutes walk to the train station. There are lots of art pieces and paintings in the hotel as well. Will stay again next time I visit Taipei!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresahuang77, 總經理 at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear amba friend

Thank you for choosing amba TAIPEI XIMENDING and I am really glad that you spare time to share your recent amba experience online with us.

We are all happy to learn that your overall stay with us was an enjoyable one and that you enjoyed our superb location. Meanwhile, it is and always will be our inspiration to discover more of Taiwan’s creativity and share with all amba friends. Thank you for noticing!

We look forward to serving you soon whenever your next trip brings you back to Taipei!


Teresa Huang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed only for 1 night as the hotel was booked out a month in advance. I think the hotel caters to a lot of package tourists.

Hotel staff are lovely (although the day staff are much better than those on the night shift).

Communication through emails beforehand was very good.

The breakfast involved a large selection but the quality was not great (and the coffee was bad).

The design of the rooms were good sleek and modern, with character.

Location was very good, right in the middle of the busy and hip Ximending area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresahuang77, 總經理 at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear amba friend:

Thank you for choosing amba TAIPEI XIMENDING and spare time to highlight your recent amba experience with us.

I am really glad to learn that your overall stay with us was an enjoyable one. Meanwhile, your valuable comments regarding our breakfast and coffee will surely be shared with the department concerned for any future improvements needed.

Thank you once again for your warm support towards amba!! Your positive recognition is for sure the greatest inspiration to the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you soon whenever your next trip brings you back to Taipei!


Teresa Huang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Very near to MRT station less than 5mins walk, next to cinema, food, shopping, etc. Is the center of Xi Men Ding. It is so convenient. If I come back to Taipei again. This is my first choice hotel to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresahuang77, 總經理 at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear amba friend,

Thank you for choosing amba TAIPEI XIMENDING and spare time to highlight your recent amba experience with us.

I am overwhelmingly glad to learn that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and you took well advantage of our convenient location along with what the neighborhood has to offer during your time in Taipei

Thank you once again for sharing!! We look forward to welcoming you soon whenever your next trip brings you back to Taipei!

Teresa Huang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to amba TAIPEI XIMENDING? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about amba TAIPEI XIMENDING

Address: 1F, 5-10F, No.77 Section 2, Wuchang Street, Taipei, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 446 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — amba TAIPEI XIMENDING 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
amba TAIPEI XIMENDING is the first of the amba hotels collection located in the heart of ximending's central shopping and entertainment district, occupying the upper floors of the fashion landmark Eslite shopping tower with 162 rooms, a cafe, bar and lounge, and a bakery.amba TAIPEI XIMENDING are designed with all the traveler essentials in mind, plus added personality and character to tell a story that enhance guest's overall experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your amba TAIPEI XIMENDING reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage amba TAIPEI XIMENDING, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.