We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location, new building, excellent breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of amba TAIPEI XIMENDING

Save Saved
You added amba TAIPEI XIMENDING to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
amba TAIPEI XIMENDING
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1F, 5-10F, No.77 Section 2, Wuchang Street, Taipei, Taiwan (Wanhua District)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 428 hotels in Taipei
Macau, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Superb location, new building, excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

The location of this hotel is very convenient, the metro station is a few minutes walk.
Even traveling by taxi to various tourist spot won't cost you a fortune.
The hotel lobby is located on the 5th floor which is the same floor as the breakfast buffet and the bar. The lobby/buffet restaurant/bar is very stylish and nicely decorated.
Breakfast buffet is the best part of this hotel and the seating area is very comfortable.

I would recommend travelers to have their breakfast earlier in the morning (7-ish) as it will get crowded and noisy after 8.

The rooms are on the cheap side as the furnitures look like those I would buy for my studio flat I rent as an overseas student.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olga s, General Manager at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear amba guest,

It's so kind of you to taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
Many thanks for the response and the compliment on our breakfast! We are pleased to know that you enjoy our service and the trip.
Thank you so much again for your review, we all looking forward to serve you again.

Warm regards
Teresa Huang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    105
    20
    11
    4
See reviews for
52
51
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

First impression on the exterior of the hotel set a high expectation of the hotel. Hotel's located on the 5th floor and was pleasantly greeted by the vast dining hall and lounge area. Love the quirky spin off of the word '吧' describing the different areas around the hotel.

The hotel staffs were fast to react and very approachable. We were 3 hours early but had to wait till 3 sharp to check-in as the rooms were full. Understood why the wait when we were awed by the contemporary decor and accessories provided. We could hear the hustle and bustle from Ximending downstairs and our room offered a bird's eye view of the busy streets. The area is clean and the room accessories are neatly arranged. (Love the ginger bath accessories!)

Breakfast was good but the long queues was a distraction. The dining area was also mostly occupied and it is recommended to have your breakfast early.

Will highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a refreshing experience.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ambaTaipeiXimending, General Manager at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear amba guest,

Thank you for sharing your amba experiences with us, it is indeed a pleasure to know that you enjoy your stay and like our room and ginger bath accessories!
I appreciate your kindly support and compliment; we all hope to see you soon in amba!


Teresa Huang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

I had extend my business trip @ taipei, and i choose to stay here. Initially the taxi driver not really know the place. (I recommend print the chinese add for those who can't speak chinese, but to avoid better had the chinese add with u all the time) We take sometime to get the right location (maybe it is new too). I fall in love with the modern deco and outlook. Beside it locate at the shopping area which great for shoppers. :> just 7-10mins walking distance to the MRT. The staff are friendly and helpful. I joined a tour to hualian and have to wakeup in the early morning, and the staff was very sweet help me to prepare my breakfast @ 5:30am for me to take away. The room is very simple but nice. I love this hotel and if there is any chance to travel taipei i will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ambaTaipeiXimending, General Manager at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear amba guest,

Thank you for writing this wonderful review, we’re so glad to hear that you enjoy your time in Taiwan and amba staff did help you during your stay! We will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.
Many thanks for your valuable comments and look forward to welcoming you back at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING!

Teresa Huang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We visited Taipei for 4.5 days/4 nights and stayed at Amba Hotel due to the recommendation of those who enjoyed their stay here. We were given a room on the Wuchang St side). Found it very noisy (lots of music and entertainment around here at night) while resting in the afternoon on our 1st day there so asked to be moved to a quieter room. The girls at the reception were great and spoke good English. They moved us to an inside room (no street view but street view is nothing great to look at). This room had a window with a square view of other rooms on each side, comfortable but not claustophobic and ok with us. If guests look carefully there are blinds that can be lowered in the evenings (saw this in the 1st room). I didn't see this until I was looking to see if there was a blind as the sun can be very bright in the mornings and during the afternoons. The inside rooms have different types of blinds. Food was great and plenty to choose from. Amba has a great map that the receptionist will give to you when you check in. Get your money exchanged at the airport or Amba Hotel. Their rate is better.

I was trying to find how to get to Amba Hotel from the airport. We found out from our elementary Mandarin from the ticket collector and another employee of the Kuo Kuang bus company that when you get to Taipei Main Station (East), don't get off, stay on the bus. The bus driver will say in Mandarin that those bound for Ximending to stay on bus, don't get off. The driver will drive you to the other side to Taipei West Station. You get off, take your luggage and driver will take you to a waiting room for the courtesy bus transfer (same size bus/coach). You wait about 5 mins. Look at the map on the wall. 1st stop is Wonstar Hotel. Get off at Stop 1 and walk towards Wuchang Street, turn right into Wuchang Street and walk up this street until you get to the street lights. Walk across this street and you will see Amba Hotel (and shopping centre). It only takes 5 mins to get from drop off stop to Amba Hotel. When you see this this, turn to the alley way with all the whitish tassles. When you get to the end, you will see a set of lifts to your left. Take one of these to Level 5 to Amba Hotel's reception.

Loved the ginger soap, aromatic ginger shower gels, shampoo and conditioner, and the rubber flip flops/thongs. The only thing is Amba may perhaps provide more hangers for clothes and perhaps guests can hire small laptops considering most on holidays don't carry a laptop or perhaps an area in the lounge where guests can use a computer to check-in for their flights etc. Thanks!

I hope other people enjoy their stay at Amba as much as we did.

Room Tip: If you are "sensitive" to street noise, ask for an inside room. You won't be disappoin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ambaTaipeiXimending, General Manager at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear amba guest,

Thank you for choosing amba TAIPEI XIMENDING and share your experiences with us! And your detailed description of how to get amba from airport will surely be great help to us and all amba guests!
More hangers will be provided upon request, if you need any assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact my colleagues, it’s our pleasure to serve you.
Thank you so much for your amba experience! Whenever your travels brings you back in Taipei, we are always welcome you at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING!

Teresa Huang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Just came back from my stay at amba Ximending. Love this hotel, good location, friendly staffs and innovative lobby/restaurant/room designs. Cool in-room amenities and interesting names given to some of them. My favorite is "shanba", which means "quiet".

Buffet breakfast varieties a bit dry, but the eggs, noodles and porridge were sufficient during my 4D3N stay. As I'm not too crazy over salad in the morning, so the cook offered me a bowl of bean sprouts with some minced meat on top. My compliments to the cook, that was very nice of him.

One small disappointment though, limited TV progams, especially English channels and HBO was down during my stay. Did bring up the matter to the reception on the 2nd day twice but it was still not fixed when I checked out on 7/5.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ambaTaipeiXimending, General Manager at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear amba guest,

Thank you for your comments and choosing amba TAIPEI XIMENDING for you 4-day trip in Taipei.
Your inspiring feedback is a big motivation to our staff which will definitely be shared with the team.
amba is always striving for customer’s needs, like the newly-added HBO channel in May. We took some time to test the channel, and now each guest can enjoy HBO during their stay in amba. We are sorry for the inconveniences and disappointments this may have caused.
Thank you for your valuable comments, whenever your travel brings you back in Taipei, we are always looking forward to seeing you again at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING!

Teresa Huang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

First stay as opened this year. Good location in Ximending. Staffs are nice, rooms are clean and buffet breakfast with varieties that taste good. I just got two things that were not satisfy are the sunshine can slip into the room in the morning and wake me up too early and the shampoo is not suitable for my hair.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ambaTaipeiXimending, General Manager at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear amba guest,

Thank you for choosing amba TAIPEI XIMENDING and share your valuable experience with us!
Regarding the lighting, please do share your requirements with us during your next visit and we will try to work out the best way to cater to your needs.
We are glad that you enjoy your stay in amba, and and satisfy with our breakfast, staff and room!We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and truly look forward to be of service to you again next time you visit Taipei!

Teresa Huang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

This is a good 4 star hotel located smack in Ximending, about 5 minutes walk to the Ximending MRT. We stayed for a week and the breakfast was generally the same daily with slight variations BUT that did not bother us as there were sufficient choices with an egg station and noodles station. Coffee (dispensed from a good coffee machine) was good. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were new and clean and beds were really comfortable. There is a security person stationed all hours at the ground floor lift. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ambaTaipeiXimending, General Manager at amba TAIPEI XIMENDING, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear amba guest,

Thank you for your comments and choosing amba TAIPEI XIMENDING for your weeklong trip to Taipei.
Your feedback is a big motivation to our staff and we will definitely share this with the team.
We are glad that you enjoy your stay in amba, and satisfy with our breakfast, staff and room! Many thanks once again for your valuable comment and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Teresa Huang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to amba TAIPEI XIMENDING? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about amba TAIPEI XIMENDING

Address: 1F, 5-10F, No.77 Section 2, Wuchang Street, Taipei, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Taipei > Wanhua District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 428 hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — amba TAIPEI XIMENDING 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
amba TAIPEI XIMENDING is the first of the amba hotels collection located in the heart of ximending's central shopping and entertainment district, occupying the upper floors of the fashion landmark Eslite shopping tower with 162 rooms, a cafe, bar and lounge, and a bakery.amba TAIPEI XIMENDING are designed with all the traveler essentials in mind, plus added personality and character to tell a story that enhance guest's overall experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your amba TAIPEI XIMENDING reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage amba TAIPEI XIMENDING, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.