We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel with friendly staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Home Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Home Hotel to your Saves list
Home Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.90 Songren Road, Taipei, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 446 Hotels in Taipei
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Average hotel with friendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We chose this hotel because of a friend's recommendation. However the guest room and breakfast was a bit disappointing.

I chose the marvelous room with the 101 tower view which is supposed to be a suite but it's not as spacious as expected and since my room is on 8/F, the view to 101 is not as marvelous as I would expect (compared to Tokyo tree and Sapporo tower views in Japan).

The room has all that it needs but honestly very basic.

Breakfast was also disappointing. Not a lot of varieties (e.g. No cold cuts) and food quality was average esp the sausages and coffee.

The major PLUS of this hotel is its location as it's only 5-10 minute walk from Taipei 101 and the hotel is within walking distance to all shopping, dining and entertainment (cinema just opposite hotel).

So if anyone is looking for convenience, this is the hotel you are looking for.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    75
    14
    6
    0
See reviews for
21
21
8
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuantan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights. its near the Taipei 101 and convention center. Attended a meeting in Grand Hyatt. Reasonable price for the room. Friendly staff with good english. The breakfast was ok with variety to choose. The coffee was great.
The check-in was flawless. The room facing taipei 101. It is clean and comfortable. The bed and pillows was nice. Clean restroom.
The shopping areas, cinemas etc is at the adjacent building. Its a happening place at night.
The Qafe at the ground floor is very cosy, good service and nice coffee. A place for discussion or just to look at the people around it. Its like a cafe in Paris. Bravo. Keep the good service and continue smiling.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomeHotelTaipei1, 經理 at Home Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear guest: We hope you did have a great stay and wondrful trip while you were in Taiwan. If there is anything we should have improved, please kindly email us and let us know at info@homehotel.com.tw Hope we will see you again in the near future. Best regard!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
On The Move
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
263 helpful votes 263 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel is in a truly killer location : few blocks behind the Xinyi Road (Taipei 101 tower), behind the corner of VieShow cinema complex which is convenient to have some quick bites (lots of restaurants), and also 5-7 minutes walk to the Sinko Mitsukoshi department store complexes, the famous Eslite bookstore, and also close to the luxurious Bellavita shopping center.

I have read some reviews complaining the proximity of cinemas as a noisy area, but to me was not as issue at all, as silence & comfort is secured once you get in the hotel.

The general hotel atmosphere is cozy and woody, just like home, and the rooms are very nicely appointed with emphasis on locally made furnishings and amenities. The overall room lighting felt a bit dark to me, but the desk was separately lit by a pendant lamp so it should be no problem for business travelers.

There are three grades of rooms, and also a standard city view or the 101 tower view to choose from. I personally recommend the cheaper city view as 101 is just a walk away and you can always enjoy it when walking back to the hotel - and I felt no need to see the tower from my bed room.
I stayed in the middle grade named "marvelous room", and found it very comfortable because of the size (53sqm), double the size of the "ordinal room" (27sqm). By the way, all room rates includes buffet breakfasts at the bar on third floor which had nice selection of both western and Chinese food.

Room Tip: Reasonable option : "no amenity" package The hotel offers a low priced package for seas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomeHotelTaipei1, 經理 at Home Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Super_Summilux: Very glad to hear you had a great stay at Home Hotel and happy to hear that you had a wonderful trip. Hope you will plan to come visit Taiwan again and have us to serve you again in the near future. Best regard!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Planted in the heart of the busy city yet tranquil in your own room. Breakfast is always a good fill with smiles of satisfaction, don't miss out on that. Who cares about all the shopping when you can just snuggle up indoors on a cold holiday. Even when you are miles away from home, this is still Home. Bliss.

Room Tip: Always request for the view of 101.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomeHotelTaipei1, 經理 at Home Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Good day Mr.: Glad to hear that you had a great experience to stay at Home Hotel. Hope you had a wonderful trip in Taiwan as well. Looking forward to serve you agian soon in the near future. Best regard!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Your staying in the center of all popular night clubs and eatery and any shopping needs. Rooms are good size and clean. Price is decent for the location. Kinda hard to find the front door or entrance. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomeHotelTaipei1, 經理 at Home Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Mr. Lai: Thanl you for choosing Home Hotel when you were away from home. Hope you did have a great stay with us and wodnerful trip while you were in Taiwan. Looking forward to see you again in the near future! Best regard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Home Hotel gets it right. As a very frequent business traveller you look for the basics done well: cleanliness - yes: switches that are simple, intuitive, and WORK - yes (and the bonus here is that ALL the electrical outlets have international fittings); good bathroom with sufficient water pressure - yes (but the lighting was a bit to "cool" for shaving!); and reliable fast internet - yes. Comfortable bed and a TV with a variety of local and international channels - yes.

Without being over the top, the rooms worked. And well, and with comfort.

Great location in the middle of the entertainment area. Very easy to get taxis and taxis searched for, and held by, the helpful concierge.

Minor drawback was that the quality of the breakfast (at least the western options), could be improved.

I did not use, but my colleagues all commented on the very well appointed gym connected to the hotel.

All told, a great experience and would not hesitiate to return, or to recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomeHotelTaipei1, 經理 at Home Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Ms/Mr De_Chook: Wish you had a great stay with us and had a great trip in Taiwan. For sure, we have a very clean and comfortable gym to work out which is connected to the building. You could try it out when you return next time. Looking forward to see you soon again! Best regard!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for 2 nights, the location is excellent. 101 and other shopping centre can be reached by walking within 10 minutes.
The breakfast is great, have different choices, cereal, bread, and congee. Everything is great in general, will come back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomeHotelTaipei1, 經理 at Home Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Ms Yeung: Thank you for staying with us. Hope you had a great trip in Taiwan and we are looking forward to see you again soon in the near future! Best regard~~~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Home Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Hotel

Address: No.90 Songren Road, Taipei, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 446 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Home Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
+About HOME HOTELNo Place Like HomeTravels are composed of happy memories and wonderful experiences, and to encounter a place like home during your travels is especially precious. Even though the design of home varies across different cultures, the meaning and the perception of home is beyond boundaries. Our goal is to create a place that is welcoming, comforting and relaxing, a place you can call home to in Taiwan!Home Hotel is truly proud to be MIT (Made In Taiwan), therefore we co-operated with various Taiwan specialty and design brands to provide a platform for our guests to experience and learn more about the creativity, innovation and traditions of Taiwan. Taiwan has abundant natural wonders, inspiring cultures and surprising creativity! We would like our guests to open their hearts to new discoveries and new experiences while staying with us and we hope through our creativity and services, you can experience all the wonderful things Taiwan has to offer! +We are proud of MIT (Made in Taiwan)What does MIT (Made In Taiwan) mean? To Home Hotel, it represents quality Taiwan Brands.Our goal is to create a Home at Taiwan for our guests, since it’s a home in Taiwan, there should be many Taiwanese things in it! Therefore we invited famous Taiwanese interior designers to design the hotel and we also invited Taiwanese Artists Jeff Wang and Nicole Teng to design our corporate identity and guest amenities. To reinforce our goal of introducing Taiwanese brands to our guests, we’ve co-operated with numerous Taiwanese design or specialty brands to create cross-over products for the room, including brands such as Zenique Tea, MRKT, CHIMEI, O’Right…etc. We wish to utilize our rooms as a platform for our guests to better understand and enjoy what Taiwan has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Home Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Home Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.