We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hostel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flip Flop Hostel - Main Station

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Flip Flop Hostel - Main Station to your Saves list
Flip Flop Hostel - Main Station
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   No.103 Huayin Street, Datong District, Taipei 103, Taiwan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 201 Specialty Lodging in Taipei
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Loved this hostel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Only stayed here for a night unfortunately, but the experience was great! The staff were very polite and helpful when we arrived and in recommending places we could visit in Taipei. Stayed in a dorm room which was very clean and comfortable, with space for luggage and free wi-fi (as well as free internet downstairs). The bathrooms were well maintained, and on our floor there was two separate showers (both with hot water), a separate toilet and a separate sink area which meant that you never had to wait. The communal areas of the hostel were fantastic and very well equipped with TVs, sofas etc. And finally, the location of the hostel was great. Some good eateries around the place, and very close to the train station. Well worth the money, and a fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
5
32
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

i had a good stay at FFH- the location was central and convenient, the staff very welcoming and friendly. most importantly of all, the hostel is very very clean and comfortable. Definitely a value- for- money stay. i was on a round island taiwan trip and stayed in 6 hostels/hotels during that time. This was definitely the cleanest
do hang out in the communal area - it's quite fun to interact with the other guests. but if you prefer some privacy, you can always head back to the room.

meijia

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taipei
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

they have bunch of traveling expreinces when they were backpackers and they do take care each one of roomers more like their own friends, and i do believe they do makes new friends many friends from their roomers.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Located in a very convenient place, close to mrt station
Good layout of the rooms in the unit was very helpful for relaxation. No other options for us in Taipei.
Moreover Staff has always been very kind and tried to help me as much as possible for anything I needed. Thank you very much :)

My best recommendations
Eddie
From Hong Kong

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kagoshima, Japan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

A great introduction to backpacker's accommodation for my kids (aged 14 and 11).
Very convenient to both the orange (5 mins) and blue (2 mins) MRT lines.
We stayed in a private room for 3 people. The bunk bed was so solid it didn't have any annoying movement or squeakiness.
Thanks, Linn, Jasper and Daniel!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

I will characterize this hostel as "sweet and lovely". Their interaction hall is spacious and you will definitely fall in love with it at the first sight. It's clean and comfy. The room is small but that's no big deal because when u are traveling, bedroom is just a place to take rest. What it really matters is the environment in the hostel actually help you to make friends from all over the world. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful, they will bring you to find good food, explain the culture,history of Taiwan to you.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Brand new, great staff (hey Jasper, wazzuppp?), amazing location, a couple of minutes from NTU station and some 7 minutes to Taipei Main Station, each person has their own locker,free wi-fi, all tthe lot. Highly recommended and probably a killer for the other options in the region as it offers great quality.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flip Flop Hostel - Main Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flip Flop Hostel - Main Station

Address: No.103 Huayin Street, Datong District, Taipei 103, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 201 Specialty Lodging in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Flip Flop Hostel - Main Station 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flip Flip Hostel is your home away from home! Flip Flop Hostel (FFH-Main Station) is located only 5 minutes away from the heart of Taipei, the Taipei Main Station, where there are many bustling shops and stores of all kinds. Just an easy direct bus from the Taiwan Tao-Yuan International Airport, Flip Flop Hostel is easily accessible and it's centralized location makes it easy to explore other parts of Taipei or Taiwan via nearby metro, train or bus. Opening in May 2011, we are already one of the most popular within Taipei given its location, safety, size, cleanliness and comfort and most importantly, its friendly staff who make it their personal job to ensure that you enjoy your stay. All of our rooms are equipped with FREE Wife, air-conditioning, cooling fans and lockers in the dorm rooms. ●Free Public Computer●No Curfew●24-hour hot water● No 24 hour reception (check in time is 15:00~21:30), please email/call us if you are planning to come outside of this window, otherwise we will cancel your booking after 21:30PM, if we do not hear from you.●Check-out is before 11AMCONFIRMATION OF BOOKING:A confirmation email will be sent to you after you have made your booking. ●LOOKING FOR WORK ? House-Cleaning in exchange for free accommodation - We are looking for someone to join our fun team and to help clean our Hostel 6 mornings per week in exchange for free accommodation in our dorm. We also offer free Internet and a weekly laundry allowance. We prefer someone who can stay for at least 3 weeks. If you're interested please e-mail us or call to tell us all about yourself. (Please note: we highly value cleanliness in the Hostel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Flip Flop Hostel - Main Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flip Flop Hostel - Main Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.