We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but not worth the $$” 2 of 5 stars
Review of ECFA Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added ECFA Hotel to your Saves list
ECFA Hotel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   No.101 Chengdu Road, Wanhua District, Taipei 108, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #328 of 467 Hotels in Taipei
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good location but not worth the $$”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Ive booked a 6 nights stay at this hotel beginning of march, weekend rate is TWD2680 & weekday rate TWD2480, for a triple room. Been seeing good reviews about staying at the main building, however i was quite disappointed when i was brought up to my room. the bed was hard, my room no 308 got no mirror other than the one inside the bathroom.it's just inconvenient when 3 girls staying together and we need to take turn shower and wait for the mirror to do our makeup. The shower and bathroom area is not separated, the bathroom will get wet easily and its hard to dry due to the weather. On the 4th day we changed to another room on 5th floor just to have room which have mirror placed outside the bathroom area, however the bathroom door faulty and it cant be closed, throughout our stay we need to use the dustbin to block the door whenever we need to use the bathroom. It brought a lot inconvenience and i felt its not worth paying to stay at this kind of comfortable level. My previous stay at cityinn chain group of hotel with the same price is way much better.

good point is the location, 5 mins walk to xi men ding area, very near to mrt. However, i don't think i will come back to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    22
    31
    10
    7
See reviews for
29
5
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We stayed at the ECFA Hotel in February on 2 occasions and therefore had a chance to look at different rooms. All the rooms we looked at are of the regular type, so they are rather small. The first night when we checked in, we were assigned room 505. It reeked of smoke and so I spoke with the front desk and they changed room for me. We ended up staying in room 205, which is basically the same as 505 but without the cigarette smell. These rooms are basic at best... We suspect the mattress went missing and we were sleeping on box springs. The shower and bathroom has no partition in between, so when you take a shower, water gets everywhere and that is quite a bother.

When we returned to Taipei and checked in the second time we were assigned room 703. It was a nicer room than the previous ones... still small, but the shower is separated from the rest of the bathroom so the water doesn't get anywhere. I have no idea why they don't do so for all the rooms!! It's just good sense! The bed is still rock hard, unfortunately.

We stayed in the main building... breakfast was.. uninspiring. The hotel will serve your basic needs. Location is quite good, just a few minutes walk to Ximen MRT Station. The staff is friendly enough. However, I don't think I will return to this hotel in the future. Neither my husband and I slept too well because the bed was rather uncomfortable. If you do choose this hotel, perhaps it's worth it for an upgrade to a larger room with a (hopefully) more comfortable mattress rather than box springs!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daegu, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Overalll a good solid hotel with nice clean rooms, a comfortable bed, and free wifi. They seem to be buying up floors of diffrent buildings in the area of the original hotel. I was in the 3rd buildings about 750m away from the main one on the 11th floor. There was still construction going on in some of the rooms near me. Didn't bother with the breakfast since I was visiting a friend and we grabbed breakfast out every morning.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taichung, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

The staff was friendly although no good english speakers (no problem for me). The price was great. We got the family room. IT was tiny...the bathtub was ginormous! (Thank you Elf!) The room was clean...but it's a brand new motel. The location was prime if you're wanting to hang around XiMenDing for a few days. It's close enough to the Xi Men blue line stop for the MRT. No Parking, I parked nearish in public parking which is 10NT per hour at night time. The walls are VERY thin. I would hear our neighbors TV at 1 AM, also people laughing loudly out near the front desk. There is nothing majorly wrong with it...but there are little things about this place that, when all added together, make me want to say...No.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

The Hotel is in good location and is very near to Ximending.

Stayed there for 3 nights and was very disappointed for the amount of money paid. Was unable to change hotel as the credit card was charged upon check in.

Booked a Double Superior Room few weeks inadvance and have requested for a room in main building, but was told upon check in that the Superior Rooms in the main building are all taken and was given two options to either a) stay in a smaller room (standard room, which is NT400 less per night) without refund or b) to check into the annex building that comes with bigger room.

Chosen b) and were directed to the annex building which the lift will only stop at 10th floor and need to climb a level up to 11th floor to a small room with big smelly toliet. Our immediate reaction are to bring our belonging straight to the reception and request for change back to a). The reception was kind enough to change for us without question. The standard room in the main building is a tiny room (hardly have any walking space, the bedsheet was dirty and can still see stain on it, we suspect that they might not have change after the previous guest checked-out) & facing a toliet that come with a see thru' glass and do not have a proper shower space. Luckily we were given a change to Superior Room on the second day. The Superior room in the main building is much more better/ cleaner (acceptable).

We do not feels comfortable, Condom is placed in all rooms that we have entered...(even in family room that cater for 4 paxs). All rooms are without cabinet, only comes with 2 hangers.

Breakfast so so.. and the dining area is too cramp, sometimes cannot even get a seat.

One good point is that they serve free coffee and tea through out the day.

Room Tip: Get room in the main building and minimum Superior Room (don't ever consider their standard room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

The location of this hotel is really good. It is just a short walk (with shelter) from the Ximenting MRT station, and its neighbourhood is full of cheap food & other shops. Ximenting is just round the corner.

But the rooms are rather small, no storage space for luggage and hardly any walking space left when you leave luggage on the floor. Not a single hanger to hang jackets or other clothes in the room. Number of towel hangers in the washroom is hardly sufficient.

You have to get used to the translucent glass of the washroom & toilet (you'll see shadows unless the washroom light is off). There is a large tub which doubles up as a shower area. Area taken up by the tub could be better used to provide more space in the room area.

Bed mattress is very soft and hardly provide any back support. Pillow very soft too.

Free WiFi with good speed, plus 3 PCs available in the lobby area to keep in touch with the world.

Buffet breakfast menu seems to be the same throughout the 5 days we stayed there. Dining area is abit cramped and you have to clear up the plates & cutlery yourself, but area is well maintained by staffs.

Most important, the staffs are helpful. Local tours can be arranged with one day notice. Weighing balance in the lobby (which can be ued to weigh luggage) really helps to keep tab on luggage allowance & curb excessive shopping.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

we have truly enjoyed ourselves throughout the 4 nights at ECFA hotel!!! the hotel has good location, veyr near to family mart, 7 eleven and even provides u map to go to the famous location like modern toilet and show luo shop-stage etc.

when we arrived at about 1pm, we managed to check in to our room immediately-lucky us as we managed to get the family room at the main building! so it is much more convenience!
they have good wi-fi connection in the room and free-flow of drinks at the lobby as well as coffee which is necessary especilaly during cold weather in December!

the room though is small but it has big TV, fridge and a bath tub as well as essential oil for you to have bubble bath! their bathroom does have blinds so u may pull it down if you are shairng the room with your friends. it will be opaque. the free buffet breakfast, is not too bad!!! we quite like it and it is quite a good spread for a free breakfast , is from 7-10am so if you would like to enjoy it, you got to be early as they have limited seating!

they do have currency exchange too at the hotel itself , so u no need to look out and exchange at banks as most banks don accept SIN dollars!

the only area of improvement is the missing wardrobe. it will be good if a wardrobe can be installed in the room so that clothes can be more conveniently hanged.

nevertheless, it is a nice hotel with reasonable price and service =).. i will stay at the hotel again during my next visit!

Room Tip: main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ECFA Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ECFA Hotel

Address: No.101 Chengdu Road, Wanhua District, Taipei 108, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #328 of 467 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — ECFA Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your ECFA Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ECFA Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.