We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like in Japan.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radium Kagaya International Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Radium Kagaya International Hotel to your Saves list
Radium Kagaya International Hotel
No.236 Guangming Road, Peitou District, Taipei, Taiwan (Beitou District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 446 Hotels in Taipei
4.0 of 5 stars 224 Reviews
Taipei
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Feels like in Japan.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Maybe the most kind and considerate staff I had ever met in Taiwan. We know people usually don't give tips here, but we tipped couple times just because they really deserved (comparing to our experience in some countries where the workers just take tips for granted). Nice, clean and comfortable room. This is not a budget hotel, but we think it worth the money and will come back in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RADIUM-KAGAYA, 公關經理 at Radium Kagaya International Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Radium-Kagaya International Hotel, and gives a positive assessment. We will be providing a better service. Thanks your sincere suggestion .Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    57
    34
    17
    17
See reviews for
93
60
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We were recommended to this hotel for its hot spring by our local private guide (not affiliated, as we made this request ourselves on same day) once we had finished with the tour that day, and he introduced it as one of the highest quality and newest hot spring baths in Beitou.

According to our guide, you would want to use more spring water and less of the cold water, so if you have time, you should just use the hot (scalding hot) spring water only to fill up the tub and then wait for it cool to a suitable temperature instead of diluting it with cold water. We were in the onset for only 2 hours and had to mix it in the end, even in a stone tub because it was taking so long to cool down.

We were all Mandarin speaking, so the language wasn't an factor and we brought one of the packages with the usage of 2 private rooms and Japanese dinner afterwards. (Cant remember the price exactly, but its on the high end, you get what you paid for. We walked in at around 6pm and left at around 10pm after our dinner).

The environment is excellent, the hotel/ bath is Japanese themed and in good condition. Once we had decided on the package (do recommend that you consider the deluxe dinner package with private room for 2, as the fresh seafood dinner we had was absolutely Heaven !), you get to choose if you want to bathe in a wooden tub or stone tub.

We really enjoyed the quality of the hot spring water.

The pictures would show that the rooms are well equipped and perfect for us since we had been travelling the whole day and it was a wonderful to relax before dinner.

I have attached pictures of the dinner, lost count the amount of courses, but the seafood is better than what I can find in HK and close to quality found in Japan. Hope the pictures speak for themselves.

We took a cab to get in and out of the Onsen, but the train station is a good 15-20 min walk.

I look forward to stay here for the night with the Onsen experience on my next Taipei trip !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RADIUM-KAGAYA, 公關經理 at Radium Kagaya International Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Radium-Kagaya International Hotel, and gives a positive assessment. We will be provide a better service.
Thanks your sincere suggestion .Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

房間整體來說,還算是不錯。一開始的客房服務也很好,介紹的非常詳細。
但是餐廳的服務就很普通,餐點很精緻,但需要解說,服務人員只是禮貌的把料理端上桌卻無任何說明。
公共澡堂設備非常簡單、又沒有風景可看,唯一的設備蒸氣室當天還毫無熱度,不如在自己房間內泡澡就好了。

The facilities of the room and the female attendant is very good. The attendant introduced very Instead, the service in restaurant is not completed. I think we need the introduction for these wonderful Japanese food, but the waitress just placed the dishes on the table without any introduction.
And the public bath room is a little poor. There is no view or relaxation. The only one steam room didn't work at the day. I rather took the bath at my room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RADIUM-KAGAYA, 公關經理 at Radium Kagaya International Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Google Translation
親愛的貴賓您好:
感謝您選擇入住日勝生加賀屋溫泉飯店,並不吝分享您的指教與意見給我們,我們十分感謝,但由於我們同仁的疏失導致您與您的家人在入住當日遭遇到不愉快的經驗,我謹代表本公司同仁致上歉意,希望您能給予我們改進的機會。

您的意見已經呈報給各相關主管進行反省檢討,也會請主管加強餐廳人員的教育訓練及提醒同仁注意事項以及大眾湯設備的維護,並且隨時細心注意且以客人的需求及不耽誤顧客的權益為優先。

飯店內的大眾湯主要是以烤箱/蒸氣室(男/女各一,隔天會對換)、氣泡水療床、頂級的ESPA沐浴用品,這些都是房內湯屋所沒有的,只提供入住的貴賓可以同時使用二種不一樣的享受為目的。

由於飯店本身位於台北市區,對面是北投公園、北投綠建築圖書館及北投溫泉博物館,而大眾湯設於飯店4樓,故整體是設計成整片由內可看出外面的大面窗戶(由外看不進來的設計)若您是白天使用,可以一覽一片綠意風情。

再次深感抱歉及謝謝您的指教與建議,我們會時刻警醒自身,努力改進,以提供更好的服務給客人,希望下次您有機會蒞臨時,能看到我們的改進。
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

The service quality did not live up to its brand. I went for a nice relaxing soak but left feeling more disturbed. A 90 minutes session in the hotel's private hot spring bathroom cost US$83. The hotel has a lovely view over the park and it is very close to the MRT; and its deco is functional or even pleasant but failed to convey a sense of Zen. The real let down was its service; it is way too casual or even blasé. The receptionist made repeated calls to the bathroom to facilitate his chores without consideration to the quite enjoyment of his quests.

Room Tip: Pick the hotel's public bath if you really want to take a soak in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RADIUM-KAGAYA, 公關經理 at Radium Kagaya International Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Radium Kagaya international Hotel. Please feel free to share your comments and ideas to us, we are most grateful.
We would like to make an apology that we make your colleagues and family feel uncomfortable and had unpleasant experience on the day when you arrival. On behalf of my colleagues our deepest apologies and I hope you could give us opportunities to improve our service.
Your comments have been reported to the relevant competent for reflecting on the review, we also ask the Director to strengthen education and remind our colleague most to take care of the guests first.
Thanks for your comments and suggestions again, we will be self-reflection and provide better service to customer. Hope you could give us an opportunity and let you see our improvements when you coming again. Thanks you in deep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

A famous hotel in Japan and we thought it should be good in Taipei too. However, when we walked into the room, as the room is very compact due to its design and felt very pressurized.

We ate in the room, but the food quality and taste are far below expectation as the value was not there !

The only positive impression we have is the one who served us, Miss Michiko Hsu who is always smiling and showed very good attitude !

Room Tip: No comment !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RADIUM-KAGAYA, 業者 at Radium Kagaya International Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Radium Kagaya international Hotel , and feel free to share your comments and ideas to us, and we are most grateful, but because of our negligence causes your colleagues and your family suffered unpleasant experience on the day of arrival, on behalf of my colleagues our deepest apologies and I hope you will give us opportunities to improve.
Your comments have been reported to the relevant supervisor to reflect on review will also request the competent education and remind my colleagues note, be sure to give priority to the needs of guests.
Thanks again for your comments and suggestions, we will always watch itself and works to improve in order to provide better service to customers, and hope that next time when you have the opportunity to visit, to see our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

good with hot spring and Japan feel room and service. a little bit expensive. after all it's one of the best hot spring hotel in Taiwan. can choose stay here is you have some special days to celerbrate.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RADIUM-KAGAYA, 業者 at Radium Kagaya International Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Radium-Kagaya International Hotel, and gives a positive assessment. We will be provide a better service. Thanks your sincere suggestion .Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

1. Services are poor - not attentive enough. Paying @USD 300 a night, supposed to have an assigned butler on each floor. We experience that we have to search for her instead of her showing up to help us on any issues or problems.
2. Knowledge of the butler is limited - e.g. we were served afternoon snack in our room but the butler given the coffee flavor mochi to a child instead of an adult. The afternoon dishes never clean up till the next day of room cleaning even the room is empty.
3. Food is way below the standard - e.g eating in their restaurant. Food and the ingredients were never introduce to us. Drinks only arrived when we nearly finished the main course. The next dishes arrive before we have even a chance to finish the current dish. Same ingredients dishes after dishes.

Well, still more and more but the experience with this hotel has already put me off to come again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RADIUM-KAGAYA, 業者 at Radium Kagaya International Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Radium Kagaya international Hotel , and feel free to share your comments and ideas to us, and we are most grateful, but because of our negligence causes your colleagues and your family suffered unpleasant experience on the day of arrival, on behalf of my colleagues our deepest apologies and I hope you will give us opportunities to improve.
Your comments have been reported to the relevant supervisor to reflect on review will also request the competent education and remind my colleagues note, be sure to give priority to the needs of guests.
Thanks again for your comments and suggestions, we will always watch itself and works to improve in order to provide better service to customers, and hope that next time when you have the opportunity to visit, to see our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radium Kagaya International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radium Kagaya International Hotel

Address: No.236 Guangming Road, Peitou District, Taipei, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei > Beitou District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 446 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Radium Kagaya International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radium Kagaya International Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.