We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent no-frills hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of AT Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added AT Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
AT Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3F, No.468, Section 4, Xinyi Road, Xinyi District, Taipei 110, Taiwan (Xinyi District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #241 of 428 hotels in Taipei
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Decent no-frills hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights while sightseeing in Taipei. We had a corner room with a window. The room was small although the shower area was huge (the shower itself had a huge window and needed a black curtain to be pulled before using it, which was a bit odd). Close to Taipei 101 but distance from the nearest MRT station is a bit disappointing (though they were building a new station very nearby, once in place this will definitely help). Overall a fairly good experience for the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    25
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
4
14
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Hotel is in a great location - right by Taipei 101 and close to two Metro lines. Rooms are efficient without many luxuries. Breakfast is included, which is a nice bonus. Request a room on the corner of the building (Rooms 405, 505, 605...) for a fantastic view of Taipei 101.

Room Tip: Corner Rooms (*05)...great view of Taipei 101.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Conveniently located a block away from Taipei 101. A little trek to the closest subway but not too much of a hassle. Rooms where clean and size is not so bad. Lots of food options around. And free wifi!

Room Tip: Book early for room choices with windows, some don't have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Only blocks away from Taipei 101 - a great location for business and tourism. The rooms are very small, but clean and functional. Breakfast isn't great, but lots of local options to choose from nearby. For less than US$100/night including tax - free Internet and breakfast....this is a great find.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Check-in: I arrived at night and the check-in process was very quick. I was in my room in less than 10 minutes. The lobby is on the third floor and is very, very small. There’s like two single seats and that’s it. The breakfast area is also on the third floor behind another door.

Before I go any further – your room key turns on all of the electronics (lights, A/C, TV, etc.). I asked for another key to keep in the holder thing to make sure the electronics (mainly the A/C) wouldn’t turn off when I left the room (make sure you return each key because they will charge you if you don’t). Oh, and wi-fi is free.

Room: I booked the standard room and the one thing that immediately turned me off was it did not have a window. Notwithstanding that, the room was unbelievably small (I swear the next hotel I stayed at their bathroom was as big as my room here). I brought three suitcases and had to stack them to conserve space – there wasn’t a closet to speak. Lighting, especially without a window, was dim at best (even with the lights on). A/C was very weak (couldn't cool the room properly). For people that only will be sleeping, this room will be sufficient. Two people, it seems might be a stretch though if you have a lot of luggage. The TV has a good selection of channels (both in Chinese and English).

Because there was no window in the standard room, I decided to upgrade. The next room was nicer with a window that opens. It was so nice to get fresh air at 15 floors high. Same amenities, and yes, the room was still small. The lighting situation improved because of that window too! From the standard room, there was little outside noise to be heard. From the upgraded room, there was noise that carried up to the 15th floor, even with the window closed and my room's view was of the main street (it's fun watching outside the window). You will see your neighbors across the street when your window blinds are open.

Bathroom: The bathroom is divided from the bedroom by opaque black glass. There were only shower stalls. The standard room’s bathroom was also small. The upgraded room’s bathroom shower stall featured a full-length window (yes, there’s window blinds too) and the size was a marked improvement over the standard room. The hotel provides complimentary toiletries (shower gel, shampoo, etc.).

Service: Very limited. This is not a full-service hotel at all. While basic things could be accommodated I’m sure, you should be prepared to do everything yourself. English-speaking staff are on hand, but full command of English comprehension is limited. But otherwise, staff were pleasant, especially the housekeepers! Complimentary breakfast is provided. I looked at the spread and decided to eat out instead (it didn’t look that appetizing).

Location: Very convenient to public transportation, including the very efficient MRT system (well, it was like a 10-15 minute walk to the MRT station: SYS Memorial Hall). It’s very close to Taipei 101 – and from Taipei 101’s immediate area you can find a lot of upscale shopping. Immediately outside the hotel after dark, it seemed dead, there are a lot of banks and office buildings in the area. But if you walk a little bit over to Taipei 101, there’s a lot to do at night. There’s a night market probably 10 minutes away by taxi.

Overall: If you can get a good rate, definitely consider this place. I would not pay the rack-rate or anything close to it based on the room/service provided. But, the place is clean and in a “nice”, if not the nicest, neighborhood in Taiwan. On a side note, when asking for another key for my room, I was not asked for ID – that, I believe, is simply unacceptable for any hotel.

Room Tip: Don't book a standard room -- there's no windows. I wouldn't count on an upgrade. And, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I don't have a great deal of experience with Taipei hotels, so I'm not 100% sure how representative this hotel is of the average cost/size you normally get in the city. But my room certainly wasn't cheap by Asian standards (but better than HK), so I thought it was "average" purely on a value-for-money basis. Hence, my three-star rating.

The location is good, about 10 minutes walk from Taipei 101, and is convenient to public transport. I booked a Superior Room, and it's true, they are small rooms. Okay for a single, but tight for a couple even with limited luggage. The bed was very nice, with plush pillows and linens. Very limited storage space (no cupboard, a safe that wasn't fixed to the wall, an extremely small fridge). Free wi-fi. A modest breakfast (not a great variety) that is served from 7am to 10am.

Reception is on the third floor, and the hotel has no street frontage, which makes it difficult for taxi drivers to locate. Write down the address carefully, and you want the taxi driver to stay on the right-hand side of Xinyi Road (one-way street).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Our office in Taipei booked this hotel for me, which was just a couple of minutes from our office in the World Trade Center. The room is cleverly designed to take advantage of the minimal space. I agree that the room is small but for one person it was fine, and the quality of the bed, linens and amenities far exceeded the very reasonable room rate. I've stayed in the very beautiful high-end hotel nearby but this was one third the cost and seemed much more local to me, without sacrificing necessary business travel needs. The wireless has hassle-free and strong and the front desk staff was very kind and accommodating. When my key did not work (the battery had gone out on my door lock) the response was immediate and efficient. I was back in my room within 15 minutes. I would suggest that they have a few more hangers for the closet rod and include yogurt on the breakfast line.

Room Tip: I was on the 7th floor and morning traffic was detectable but not annoying. Certainly anything highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to AT Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AT Boutique Hotel

Address: 3F, No.468, Section 4, Xinyi Road, Xinyi District, Taipei 110, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei > Xinyi District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #241 of 428 hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — AT Boutique Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, AsiaRooms, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your AT Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AT Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.