We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Artsy Hotel near Taipei 101” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W Taipei

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added W Taipei to your Saves list
W Taipei
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.10 Section 5, Zhongxiao East Road, Xinyi District, Taipei 110, Taiwan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Enjoy Free Breakfasts!
Ranked #15 of 467 Hotels in Taipei
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Artsy Hotel near Taipei 101”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for business for 5 days. It is a new hotel in walking distance to the Taipei 101 tower and the surrounding shopping malls. This is really a great hotel if yo stay in Taipei. Interior, style is very modern, fresh and young. The room, I stayed in a "Fabulous", is exceptional well equipped and large, even for US standards. The resting place near the window is great (pic attached), the bed extremely comfortable. The bathroom has everything one can wish for, tub, extra shower with rainfall head, very stylish, very modern. I wished for some of the 5 star hotels in the US to take an example.
The room has a lot of extra details, like a bose sound system, USB plugs to charge your gadgets, iPhone radios, etc. are great for helping if you have to work in your room. Internet is free if you have a Starwood Guest account.
A subway station is nearby if you want the excellent transportation system in Taipei. Airport (Int'l) is about 40min and sets you back TW$1200.- (US$40.-).
The staff is extremely helpful and friendly, the restaurants at the lobby level serve excellent food, the breakfast buffet is outstanding.I have stayed at many hotels in Taipei but never felt as "at home" as at the W-Taipei (spending more than 90 days a year in hotels).
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wtaipeiofficial, Manager at W Taipei, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Hello dear Thomas D,

Nothing can be more inspiring than receiving such a great comments! We are glad to know that you enjoyed every aspect of our hotel and are also honored to be your “home away from home” when you travel. Your compliments to the food in the kitchen table (our all-day dining restaurant) have been conveyed to the team and surely will motivate them to deliver outstanding food and service to all our guests. Thank you again for the cheerful review and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,
W Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    762
    266
    66
    28
    17
See reviews for
197
232
90
349
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I have never felt compelled to write a review before the conclusion of my stay, but I believe the W Taipei deserves some special recognition. I spend roughly 75 nights per year in hotels, and I have never experienced such superb customer service levels. From the reservations line, to check in (Charles), to the wait staff at breakfast, to the room cleaning staff, to the lobby greeting staff - service has been extremely attentive. Even the cleaning staff are extremely courteous. It seems as if all staff here are cross trained, sufficiently knowledgeable, and empowered to service guests in many ways. The attention to detail is surprisingly delightful. Service organizations worldwide should come here to learn.

Additional comments that may be useful:
- Lobby bar is loud, so if you need some quiet time, it is best to ask for a room on a higher floor. Charles at check-in was kind and aware enough to alert us.
- We are staying in a "marvelous suite", but note that the suite layout does not have a completely separate living room and bedroom. The doors shut, but serve merely as a room divider. Those with young children who need silence and darkness to sleep may want to take this into consideration. Luckily, our children have no problem sleeping with some light noise from the living room.
- Location is excellent - central to everything, taxis abundant, right on top of the subway and loads of shopping.
- Lobby bar is the most happening lobby bar I can remember.
- Gym is very well equipped with machines and free weights.

We have stayed at many other hotels in Taipei, and we now have a very clear first choice.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wtaipeiofficial, Manager at W Taipei, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear euwang,

Great thanks for your review towards our services and talents! We do appreciate your recognition of “the first choice in Taipei”, and we are thrilled to hear your remarkable suggestion: “service organizations worldwide should come here to learn”, we would say this is the nicest complement to our efforts. We have already forwarded this feedback to our service team, and it would definitely encourage them to serve more outstanding and consistent service to our guests. Thanks again for your recognition, and we do look forward to see you again soon!

With best regards,
W Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Nice room, spacious and comfortable. Would like more writing paper and stationery. Too much traffic especially during evening so i find it little noisy. Lobby is small and too many unnecessary decorations. Trendy hotel with nice young staff but lack of warm feeling. Location is excellent as there is a shopping mall attached. Many constructions around the hotel so it's quite dusty.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wtaipeiofficial, Manager at W Taipei, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Alice C,

Thank you for your review on us. We are glad that you like the spaciousness and comfortableness of our room. And we have taken notes and actions to improve the area you mentioned. As Xinyi area where our hotel located in is the rising star in Taipei, we believe in the coming future the city environment will become more trendy and comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you again to see our improvement.

With best regards,
W Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed at W Taipei for a short trip. It was extremely nice & the location is perfect.

W Hotel is located next to the subway, it is also surrounded by many different shopping malls. It is also easy for you to grasp a drink at night as there are quite some club nearby.

The room is stylish & well equipped. It is also extremely new and provide you a cozy feeling that you would expect from W hotel.

Service though is not extraordinarily good yet quite acceptable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wtaipeiofficial, Manager at W Taipei, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Jennifer-l-k-y1,

Thank you for sharing your review on us. We are ecstatic to know that you think we are a great hotel with great location. It is our pleasure to provide you a cozy rest after the electrifying Taipei city adventure. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

With best regards,
W Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Nice and new hotel in the most central part of downtown Taipei.
Very close to metro and all the touristy places. Lots of mall and restaurant options close by. As a SPG platinum member, I used my suite upgrade voucher and were upgraded to a suite. The suite has 2 bath rooms, a huge tub with great view, and a large living room designed for partying. The living room in the suite can easily accommodate 10 people.

The negatives: The check-in area is not great. It is in an open area besides the Woo bar. There is no clear designated area for check-in or an express check-in lane for SPG members.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wtaipeiofficial, Manager at W Taipei, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Phil L,

We are happy to receive your kind review on us, and glad to know that you enjoyed our hotel, especially the exclusive benefits for SPG Platinum members. To enhance our service, we have arranged a designated Welcome Desk only to SPG Gold and Platinum on level 10 where we will be able to escort you next time. Thank you kind words again and see you soon at W Taipei.

Best regards,
W Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This is not not exactly your normal traditional hotel. It is very modern, very chic but it does not take away any of the traditional comfort that you are used to. But it does take a little time to get focus as there are so many things to look at...that is if you are a "country-pumpkin" like me.

The entrance is not impressive, but we were directed to the lift immediately to check in upstairs. Rather stunning was not only the view, but the huge bar area with very high ceiling, lots of colours, high tech, a very active place for meeting friends, cocktails, especially it was a Friday afternoon. Stepping out of the bar is the swimming pool area which took on different appearances at different time of the day. There is the wow factor definitely.

Our room was very spacious with every amenities one would need. Large floor to ceiling window with view of the city. The room had a special air purifier. There was a 'couch' for lying down by the window; though I would much prefer a proper sofa to sit on.
The concierge was located on the ground floor so one has to change lift twice to locate him. He was however most knowledgable and courteous.
We had dinner at Kitchen Table which was full with locals. But the service was excellent . I ordered a chirashi which was only on room service menu but the staff took the trouble and comply with the request without any fuss.
My wife and her colleague had a pizza in the bar area which was just average.

Kitchen Table ( the restaurant), the same place we had dinner the evening before was now nearly empty at breakfast. It was beautifully set up, looking very chic indeed with high ceiling allowing a sense of space. The buffet selection was probably one of the best in terms of selection and presentation in Asia and can rival other five- star hotels anywhere.

Unfortunately, We did not have a chance to sit by the pool area which looked extremely attractive. To have an area like this in downtown Taipei is unique.

My take is this is the best hotel to be staying in Taipei today with the finest designer stores, book store, department store lessthan 5 minutes walking distance away. This is a must for any leisure traveler coming to Taipei for a holiday. I therefore wonder if all these fine details and offerings would be overlooked by a everyday traveller on business?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wtaipeiofficial, Manager at W Taipei, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Edmund L,

It is so wonderful to have this detailed review from you. The WOW factor – from our exterior to core service gene – is the essential matter we’d like our guests to experience during their stay. We are thrilled to know that you think our hotel is the best in Taipei, especially in terms of the location, the design, the room, the restaurant and the services. Your recognition towards our The Kitchen Table team has been forwarded to them properly, and we trust it will definitely make their day. We hope to see you again soon to enjoy the dazzling view by our outdoor pool, WET!

With best regards,
W Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

It is quite new and feels new. Hip but also functional. Rooms are large - particularly the suites, some of which are great deals. I have stayed there multiple times and have referred friends to stay there. Everyone loved it. Most of other five star hotels in Taipei have been around for a while and they feel very out of date by comparison.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wtaipeiofficial, Manager at W Taipei, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear B_Shao,

Thank you so much for the recommendations! We appreciate the recognition of “Best five star hotel in Taipei” – it’s appreciated! Look forward to welcoming you and your friends back soon.

With best regards,
W Taipei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Taipei

Address: No.10 Section 5, Zhongxiao East Road, Xinyi District, Taipei 110, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Taipei
#3 Spa Hotel in Taipei
#5 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#10 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
#15 Family Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Taipei 5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Xinyi District, home to W Taipei, there pulses a neon current, creating a sanctuary where serenity meets energy. Here, an endless stream of people, ideas and technology fuses Taipei's rural surroundings with its urban core. From the vibrant markets, theatres and nightclubs to the iconic Taipei 101, everything-even the sky- is electrified. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your W Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Taipei Hotel Taipei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Taipei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.