We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and chilled” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JV's Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added JV's Hostel to your Saves list
JV's Hostel
2F No.57 Alley 50,Lane 39,Tonghua Street, Taipei, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 180 Specialty Lodging in Taipei
Traveling
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice and chilled”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed here twice and would stay here again.

The location is fab, right on the night market, 10 minutes from the MRT and close to 101. There are plenty of shops around to get all your essentials like Watsons, 7/11 etc.

Dorms are spacious and kept fresh by reprinting on a regular basis, they have funky sheets, lockers and ample space so you don't feel cramped. We also tried a budget double which had no window, but with great air on this made no difference.

The social area has a massive projector with cable TV, there is a basic kitchen and cheap laundry. The staff are super helpful, they saved us from having to rough it as they often keep an empty room for emergencies. They were also happy to received a UPS parcel for me while I toured the island and kept it safe until my return.

Vanessa, Peter and their staff are all very knowledgable about everything a traveler needs, there is no reason to avoid we this place. Lastly the prices are probably the best in Taipei, you couldn't really ask for more.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    29
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
5
23
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Hangzhou
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Not sure why TA put their city name as Xinbei since it is in Xinyi District, Taipei,

Well, it is one of the best hostels in my list. It is more like Khaosan style, hiden in the old territory, nice staff, clean enough for backpackers, The surroundings with all you need.

Tonghua Street night market just working distance.

It is also easy to reach Taipei City center by metro.

Anything you want, ask the lovly staff, they will not disappoint you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed in the mixed dorm room, the windows were open and still it got a bit stuffy there at night. The beds were very comfy, after along day of walking, I'd lay down and be out like a light. The only thing, I was on the top bunk and the gentleman below me was a bit bigger, so the bunk moved quite a bit especially when he got in and out of the bunk. And at night it was a bit noisy, with dogs barking and motorists. But overall, I did sleep quite well. And I'm a very light sleeper, who wakes up at the slightest noise.

The staff are absolutely AMAZING and so HELPFULl! I loved it!

It's in a GREAT location, you can get to the blue subway line in about 15 min, walking or the brown line, about 10 min walking distance. The hostel is right next to a night market, which was so much fun to walk through. There are a lot of nice places to eat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hsinchu, T'ai-wan, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My friends and I stayed here for one night during the end of Chinese New Year. I selected this hostel based on the good reviews, location, and availability during this busy time of year. We stayed in two private rooms, which is in a separate building that the main reception and backpacker rooms.
Rooms were small but clean. Comfy beds. Hot water. TV and mini fridge. The only bummer was that the wireless interned wasn't working but we were told that was because it has failed that same day and they couldn't get a technician out to fix it since it was the holiday. No worries.

Location is great. Right in the Tonghua night market so very convenient for finding good food and shopping. Somewhat hard to find initially but if you call Vanessa when you arrive, she will come meet you on the street and show you where to go. Not too close to the MRT though but since there were 4 of us, taxis were super cheap and take you anywhere you want to go.

Vanessa is very nice, speaks great English, and was helpful getting us settled into our rooms. Value was great for the time of year and considering you get your own private room and bathroom, which is really nice after a long night out in Taipei.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

helpful staff n nice location. so many sights just close to it. definitely stay when the next time i m in town. and there's a really great bar nearby. everyone should visit there!!! drink out all of your soul!! last but not the least, the you-bike system in taipei is really great!! do try it!! pals!!

ps. always remember to bring your keys!!! otherwise will bother the staff really much....hehe just one my sad story.

樂於助人的工作人員Ň不錯的位置。所以很多景點只是接近它。客房時,下一次我米鎮。是一個真正偉大附近的酒吧。每個人都應該參觀那裡!喝了你的靈魂!最後但並非最不重要,你在台北自行車系統是真是太棒了!試試吧!的好朋友!

PS。始終記得帶上你的鑰匙!否則會打擾的工作人員還真多......呵呵只是一個悲傷的故事,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

The JV's is located in a nice area next to a night market with many booths for eating and shopping. Unfortunately the next subway station to get to Taipeis hotspots is in 15 minutes footway distance and is quite tricky to find if you're not well versed. We booked a double with shared bathroom, our room was clean so far, but it had only the bare necessities: a mattress on the floor, a small cupboard and only one ceiling lamp and no window!! The restroom and the shower on our floor could have been cleanlier, but it was ok. The staff and the manager Vanessa have always been very friendly and helpfull. If you're in Taipei for a few days and don't want to spend to much money for a proper accommodation this place is a good option.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I went to this place because of the great reviews. Great staff and location. The private room is very spacious with a double bed, desk and a flat screen TV. Also free wi-fi. I highly reccomend this place !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JV's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JV's Hostel

Address: 2F No.57 Alley 50,Lane 39,Tonghua Street, Taipei, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 180 Specialty Lodging in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What separates us from the rest is the good feeling that you get from staying with us. Besides getting to know our genuinely friendly and helpful staff, you will form lifelong friendships with the other guests that you meet from around the world and whom you might just end up going sightseeing and partying with during your stay here. Many of our past guests stay in touch with us and each other long after they have left Taipei and many choose to stay at JV’s again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your JV's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jv`s Hotel Xinbei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JV's Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.