We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capital Hotel Dazhi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Capital Hotel Dazhi to your Saves list
Capital Hotel Dazhi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.288 Zhifu Road, Zhongshan District, Taipei, Taiwan (Formerly Golden Palace Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 446 Hotels in Taipei
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel is now called Golden Palace. We loved the room. It was big, nice, jacuzzi, the works. The area is quiet and clean. MRT stop is 7 minutes walk. Free breakfast buffet was not for me but it was nice to have it available. Seems to be for people traveling on business. It is very close to Shongshan airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
itsJC2013, 業者 at Capital Hotel Dazhi, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for staying Capital Hotel Dazh. We are very proud that you enjoy the trip. Hope you travel to Taipei next time; we have pleasure to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
4
4
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I was fortunate enough to have found the Capital Hotel (on Expedia it is listed as the Golden Palace) the hotel is very unassuming however once you get to the rooms you will be shocked. It’s a mini Four Seasons. The rooms are beautifully decorated, the bathrooms are all marble, with Jacuzzi tubs and awesome showers. All the rooms come with free bottled water and some random snacks. The rooms are fantastic!

The location is a little off the beaten path but very close to a huge shopping mall with restaurants and theaters.

The breakfast buffet was not very good, there were very few food selections, mainly Asian dishes, there was nothing wrong with the buffet it just wasn’t great.

I found the staff at the hotel VERY rude and very unaccommodating. I was at the hotel for only one night checking in very late, the next morning I asked for a “late checkout” and they denied my request, they told me I needed to me out of the room by 12pm, if I wanted to stay later they would charge me by the hour. At 1145am, my phone rang and it was the front desk “reminding me” I needed to be out of the room in 15 minutes.

The hotel itself is fantastic but the staff, not very helpful or nice.

By the way, there is NO gym at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
itsJC2013, 業者 at Capital Hotel Dazhi, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for staying Capital Hotel Dazhi. We are very appreciated for your recommendation and apologized for the uncomfortable for the attitude of our staffs. Your kindly suggestion is very helpful to improved ourselves. We sincerely invite you to stay at Capital Hotel Dazhi when you visit Taiwan next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

It's not too far from the nearest train stations, and not too far from the nearest supermarket. Its within walking distance to all necessarily and getting beyond the district, there were always taxis lined up front of the hotel awaiting you. The surrounding were clean and so was within the hotel. Well kept and grandeur are good words to describe the small hotel with all rooms non smoking. Within the bedrooms, large and spacious surprisingly, a showcase of the designers for they are decorated with Chinese art and features. And in the equally impressive grand bathroom, a large Jacuzzi welcomes me after my tired workday. The breakfast was slightly a letdown, the selection limited. And if you stayed for a week you will get to presume the entire Taiwanese diet is limited to just plain porridge and that same few condiments. Nevertheless, this hotel though small, is a decent hotel to stay for business if your offices are in the nearby science park. Not too expensive, not too cheap.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I stayed in this hotel from 15 to 18th May 2013 for a business trips. The rooms were huge, the bed was comfortable and there were many channels to choose from. You can't go wrong with the Taiwanese channels. The room was complete with high speed wifi. The bathroom was huge as well and best thing of all is that it came with a Jacuzzi tub!

The staff at the reception and breakfast area were very polite and they always greeted me warmly when I walk pass.

This hotel provided daily free fruits and mini bar in the rooms.

They had a excellent range of complimentary toiletries. They even provided free cleansing foam, mouth wash and contact lens solution.

In terms of breakfast, I felt that the spread wasn't really fantastic though the food tasted ok.

I guess the only bad thing about this hotel is it's location. It is far away from the usual tourist spots.

It takes about 10 to 15 minutes walk to get to the nearest Jian Nan MRT station. Miramar shopping complex is just diagonally opposite the MRT station. I took about 30 minutes to reach Xi Men Ding from Jian Nan station. The cab ride back from Xi Men Ding was about 300 TWD.

I would really recommend this hotel only if you do not mind staying in such a far away location in exchange for comfort and luxury at a affordable price.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room not facing the road. My room was on the second floor and it faced the road. On...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Good value hotel in a fantastic part of Taipei - next to Miramax and the metro. I had a top floor room - bit more expensive but even so much cheaper than even a standard in the adjacent hotels. This is an international hotel - many westerners, chinese, Indian and that is to its vredit. Very friendly and helpful reception - great room cheap same day laundry and a really great breakfast. For me it is brilliant that I can go out for a run and very quicky arrive on the riverside trails nearby. This hotel does not have a restaurant outside of breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Beautiful rooms and bathrooms. Large and new. Great American and Asian breakfast. Do not let the front of the hotel fool you, The front desk service is very good too. Quiet, except for some dogs outside occasionally. Great wifi service. No exercise room, but nice park is about .5 mile away for walk/run. Markets close if you need to buy necessities.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel is one of the best value we have ever stayed in. We stayed in this small hotel in January for 4 days. For a budget price, we got a very spacious room for 3 with "palace like" red and gold decor. The room is very clean and well maintained with a big bathroom with a spa bath. The complimentary buffet breakfast offers a variety of Chinese and western food. Also worth mentioning is the daily supply in the room of complimentary fresh fruit, bottled water and other freebies in the fridge which would usually cost you an arm and a leg in hotels in other parts of the world. Services and facilities in the hotel, which include free in room wifi and cable TV, are basic but sufficient. This hotel is just 5 minute walk from the MRT Jiannan Rd station from where you can essentially go to anywhere in Taipei easily. There are lots of shops nearby, including a very modern shopping center and a gigantic Ferris wheel. Highly recommended for family or business travelers who are not after other facilities such as a gym, a pool, a fancy French restaurant or a business center.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capital Hotel Dazhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hotel Dazhi

Address: No.288 Zhifu Road, Zhongshan District, Taipei, Taiwan (Formerly Golden Palace Hotel)
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 446 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Capital Hotel Dazhi 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capital Hotel Dazhi (Former Golden Palace Hotel) located in the Miramar shopping area of Dazhi District, next to Neihu Technology Park, enriched with business and leisure living functions. Convenient transportation, you can walk to Miramar Entertainment Park, Carrefour, Geant and other shopping centers. It only takes five to eight minutes drive to National Palace Museum, Martyrs' Shrine and Neihu Technology Park; 10 minutes drive to Songshan Airport, Yangmingshan National Park, World Trade Center, Xinyi District; 15 minutes drive to WTO Nangang Exhibition Hall.The deco style and furniture design are exquisite and luxurious; while thoughtful services warm the heart of every guest. At Capital Hotel Dazhi, you would be treated with pamper and respect, just enjoy the sophisticated and thoughtful atmosphere that we create for you. We keep on trying to present sophisticated and thoughtful high quality services to pursue the comprehensive satisfaction of every guest and to create the most wonderful experience for our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Capital Hotel Dazhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capital Hotel Dazhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.