We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Forward Hotel - Sonjiang

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Forward Hotel - Sonjiang to your Saves list
Forward Hotel - Sonjiang
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.3 Yijiang Street, Jhongshan District, Taipei 104, Taiwan (Formerly Viscount Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 446 Hotels in Taipei
4.0 of 5 stars 91 Reviews
St. Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This review is from an American viewpoint. We traveled to Taipei in April 2014 for my son's wedding. We stayed at the Forward Hotel for 10 days.
Overall the hotel is very nice. The staff is friendly and the front desk staff speak excellent English.

The room had a king size bed that was very comfortable. There is a safe and mini-fridge, with two bottles of water provided everday. The bathroom had a seperate shower and bathtub. We had a large flatscreen TV, with CNN, HBO, Showtime and Cinemax.

Every morning we had the free breakfast buffet, that was open from 7:00 - 10:00. The menu changed daily and we always found food we enjoyed.

The hotel has free wifi in the rooms and lobby. The lobby also has three computers that have good internet speed.Off the lobby there is a laundry room with two washer and dryers. There is no cost to use the machines and they also had free laundry soap.

There is a MRT station one block from the hotel. If you need a taxi, ask the front desk and a taxi will arrive within five minutes.

Just out the front door and to the right is a 7-11 convience store. If you want American fast food there is a MacDonalds, Burger King and Pizza Hut within about a ten minute walk. There are many small local restaurants within easy walking distance to the hotel.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    35
    9
    1
    4
See reviews for
16
22
13
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

its quite a convenient location. around 3 mins walk to Songjiang Nanjing. there's a 7-11 next to the hotel. Only thing is room is quite small and there are mosquitos in the room. Was disturbed by the mosquitos that i can't sleep in the middle of the night.
Also, bathroom is not very thoroughly cleaned. Can see hair here and there. But overall, room is clean and nice. There's also sufficient lighting in the hotel and service is quite good.
Breakfast not that fantastic though. There's laundry room where you can wash your own clothes and also computer at the lobby area for guests use.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

My hotel of choice in Taipei was unfortunately fully booked when I scheduled a last minute trip to the city so I unexpectedly discovered this hotel during my frantic search for accomodations. The decent reviews allayed my fears since I am not familiar with the area where the Forward Hotel is located. So I went along with recommendations from fellow travellers and booked my 3-night stay without setting high expectations.

Upon my arrival, I was welcomed by a receptionist who was a tad abrupt but efficient nonetheless so I had no reason to complain. I was then assigned to a double-bedded corner room on the 5th floor after the customary check-in formalities. Room 507 was modern, clean, and equipped with most of the amenities which a regular traveller requires. The bed was firm; the bathroom was commodious and had a separate glass-enclosed shower, Japanese toilet, and even its own steam bath! The only missing fixture in the room was a wardrobe where one can hang clothes; in its place was a decorative wrought-iron stand which could hold only a few hangers. A good-sized nest of drawers directly below the flat screen TV can however be used for folded clothing items.

The buffet breakfast in the hotel's sole restaurant is served from 0700-1000 everyday. While many dishes are offered, most will probably appeal more to Asian rather than Western palates. But many items are changed daily so there are days when the options are more familiar to Western guests.

As for location, the hotel is no more than 3 minutes away from the entrance of the Sonjiang Nanjing Station of Taipei's highly efficient metro system. Although going to most of the city' s sights will require a line transfer, the station's proximity from the hotel is still a major convenience. Within a 5-10 minute radius from the hotel are many restaurants serving local cuisine, as well as a number of shops and convenience stores. Vegetarians will also be pleased to know that there are 2 interesting vegetarian restaurants which are very close to the hotel.

The Forward Hotel is a pleasant discovery which would otherwise remain unknown to me had my favorite hotel in Taipei been available during my stay. The room amenities, breakfast buffet, location, and reasonably helpful staff all make this hotel a good option when you visit this vibrant city.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located within 1-minute to a convenient store and 2-minute walk to the train station. There is also a reasonably priced cafe selling western food within 30 foot steps of the hotel. This hotel has free self service laundry facility. There are two washing machines and two dryers located on the first floor of the hotel. Wifi reception is very strong with extremely fast speed in the room. There is a free charging port for all types of hand held devices at the lobby. The room is small but very well maintained. The toilet is unexpectedly spacious with heat spa, bathtub and standing shower. We could easily set up a table for four in the toilet (although no one in the right mind would do that). Toilet seat has automatic cleaning function for your ?? after you are done and the auto heating device keeps the toilet seat warm throughout our stay. The bed is extremely comfortable and the TV has channels with Video on Demand free of charge. There is even an restricted adult-only channel provided free of charge with password access which could be obtained by calling the front desk. There is a heat spa right in the room with automatic timing which can be adjusted. Breakfast area is clean and food is replenished very fast. Each floor is decorated with painting of birds and writings on the wall which make staying in this hotel soothing and unique.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

This place is simple yet elegant and very modern. Their furniture and fixture are of great quality for the price that we paid. It wasn't exactly a backpacker's haven, but it was presentable and for the size of the hotel, I would say that the rooms are spacious and comfortable. Their service was excellent and their breakfast was divine. The environment was really something I appreciate because although it was very much accessible, we get to sleep quietly and you can barely hear any vehicles passing by. We had an excellent trip around China, and it was a great solace to come here and to recharge and help us move "forward" for our next destination.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The staff was excellent and the room was comfortable, clean and nicely appointed. I don't speak Chinese, so I was especial grateful for the staff's excellent English. One note: taxi drivers didn't recognize name or street address- helps to have a map on your phone or printed to show them.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
80146267, 主任 at Forward Hotel - Sonjiang, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Kelly M ,
We are thankful that you chose us for this journey of yours. It has been our honor to serve you and wish that you are completely satisfied with our services. Should there be anything we can do to improve our services, please do not hesitate to drop us a note.
We are looking forward to hearing from you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is a cute, quaint little hotel. The bathroom in our room was almost as big as the room itself! It's a 5-min walk to the nearest subway station and one station away from Taipei Main Station. They offer free breakfast every morning, free wi-fi, and even free laundry!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
80146267, 主任 at Forward Hotel - Sonjiang, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear L S ,
We are thankful that you chose us for this journey of yours. It has been our honor to serve you and wish that you are completely satisfied with our services. Should there be anything we can do to improve our services, please do not hesitate to drop us a note.
We are looking forward to hearing from you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Forward Hotel - Sonjiang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forward Hotel - Sonjiang

Address: No.3 Yijiang Street, Jhongshan District, Taipei 104, Taiwan (Formerly Viscount Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 446 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Forward Hotel - Sonjiang 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About HotelForward Hotel Taipei is located along Yi-Jiang Street, just next to the busy Nanjing East Road and Songjiang Road intersection. The hotel incorporates classic, elegant design with rich foreign flavor, enhancing the leisurely romantic atmosphere of the Zhongshan District. A 32 LCD television, free wireless Internet access and Japanese satellite TV channels are some of the amenities in each of the 90 guest rooms that make it easy for you to receive up-to-date business information in your own room. All rooms have automatic smoke detectors and are constructed with fire-resistant materials to ensure our guests safety and to enable you to enjoy a peaceful and comfortable stay with us. The lobby also has free, 24-hour computers, broadband Internet access, and mail and fax service for our business travelers.Hotel HistoryForward Hotel Taipei was previously known as the Viscount Hotel, which was one of the most famous tourist hotels in Taipei City. The scale and amenities of Viscount Hotel were acknowledged by many to be among the best and due to its complete lifestyle amenities and high accessibility, Viscount Hotel quickly become the premier tourist hotel among Japanese tourists.Older generations still remember the Viscount Hotel Western Restaurant which was located on the first floor of the hotel. Its European-style interior design and the fact that it was also an expensive steak house made it both a great place to do business and a romantic setting for couples to enjoy a meal together.As time passed, Viscount Hotel finally ceased operations in 2007 after serving guests for more than 10 years. The all-new Forward Hotel Taipei will stand at Viscount Hotel's former location along Yi-Jiang Street and, after six months of renovation efforts, will revive its glorious past and continue to provide a comfortable stay to all tourists. This hotel is another success of Forward Enterprise Group, other hotels under this group include: Ban-Qiao Forward Hotel Taipei, Taipei Grandforward Hotel, Forward Suites Hotel, and Hotel Purity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Forward Hotel - Sonjiang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forward Hotel - Sonjiang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.