We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant, enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taipei Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Taipei Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Taipei Garden Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Section 2, Zhonghua Road, Zhongzheng District, Taipei 10065, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 467 Hotels in Taipei
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very pleasant, enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel for a week on business. The hotel is clean and comfortable. It has a lot of meeting rooms which are good for business. It is in a good location, a walk to downtown or any shops you may need. The gym on the top level has plenty of equipment though is very humid.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    187
    39
    15
    3
See reviews for
81
48
25
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We chose this hotel based on it's accessibility to Ximending, a popular shopping district - and lush hotels around Ximending are rather limited.

[Note that we have stayed at older, 3.5 stars hotel in Ximending district itself on previous shopping trips so our standards will naturally be higher when it comes to convenience.]

Accessibility: Taipei Garden Hotel isn't as near to Ximending as we thought it to be, it takes around a 12-15 minutes walk. Needless to say, Ximen train station which is in Ximending itself is the same walk.

There is another station nearer to the hotel - called the Xiao-nan-men station, but as you can see from the map attached, Xiao nan men station, stands alone on the green line, requires a change at an interchange either way.

Hotel is situation right next to a hospital so hearing sirens are rather common.

Hotel standards: A very average international 4-star hotel, without a swimming pool. They have made up the lack by rooftop jacuzzis, which closes at 9pm. You'll need to book to use it, last booking will have to be at 8pm.

Room: We booked the Superior room and it came with 2 couches beside the bed - Not sure where else but we guess that must be the 'extra space' that was indicated in room descriptions.
Note that this is a non-smoking hotel; the smoking options on the hotel websites when booking rooms can be ignored. Room is in good condition.

We are aware that the bath-tub is 'specially sized' but we didn't realize how small the tub was by pictures (cause it seems to be the same size as the shower area) but it IS smaller than it seems. I've got my partner to sit inside to better illustrate the size of the tub, see attached picture. It is rather impossible for 2 to cuddle up in the tub for a relaxing hot bath and get a back rub unless both guests are like.. 120lbs & below ;)

Automated wash on the toilet was also provided but it's not something we use, probably Japanese will appreciate that more than us.
Shower water does not stay hot very constantly - we found ourselves having to adjust the tap during showers at times.

Bed was comfortable, and there are 3 types of pillows to choose from if you aren't satisfied with what's provided.

TV came with like 100 channels - with approx 20 international & 80 Taiwanese.

Our premier room was on the 15th floor (top floor for rooms), suites are also located on this level. Sound proofing isn't good, we can hear people outside and opening doors etc.

One early weekend morning we were awakened by the noise of what seems to be 30 people at the corridor. When attempts to ignore and sleep-on seemed really impossible, we had no choice but to open the door to ask the people to please keep their voices low. We were greeted by a party of at least 20-30 people laughing and chatting at the top of their voices at the corridor. Apparently there was a wedding ceremony being held, the suite was the preparation chamber. "HI! WE'RE HAVING A WEDDING!!! /flash smile". While we wanted to be happy for the newly weds, we were in our half-awaken state and it seems that we were given no choice but to accept the situation.
There weren't any crowd control, limits or attempts to keep voices low in order not to disturb other guests. Well, just our luck.

Room service: Available 24 hours with very limited menu. The usual 2 types of salads with optional meats, 2 types of soups, about 6-8 main courses. I find the room service rather pricey. We had French onion soup, which was very very thick and their club sandwich - delicious with generous serving of fries.
Housekeeping came in the morning around 11am with knocks on the door & HOUSEKEEPINGGGGGGGG yells. Room were made up when we returned at night so they probably came round in the afternoons again.

Interests/ Attractions nearby: This hotel had a 24hour Carrefour & McDonalds across the road. Ok, 3 roads. I've attached a picture from the lobby to show the distance. Right downstairs is the hotel bakery & restaurant.
There're plenty of eateries, convenience stores, fruit stores and pharmacies nearby - For breakfast, choices very near to the hotel will be sandwiches, noodles, soya bean drinks, dough sticks, jian bing (like crepe with fillings of your choice), congee etc.
Note many shops in Taipei open after 10am and there are specialty breakfast places.

Longshan temple is nearby (1+km walk) and we were lucky to catch a big procession from a nearby temple celebrating their 50th anniversary with firecrackers & fireworks in daylight. Very very interesting.

The walk to Longshan temple was also very interesting, passing by many local eateries at the shop houses.

Staff: Many Japanese speaking staff. Not much smiles. Normal service, didn't encounter any go-out-of-the-way kind of service. The bellboy told our taxi the wrong airport terminal.

Summary: Nothing special, nothing wrong. Nothing special to attract us back, we will most likely want to try out a different hotel the next time we return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Hotel is over rated and seems like a 4-star hotel by international standards. Hotel is located not that near to Ximen station. It is closer to xiao nan men station and takes around 8 to 10 mins walk. There is nothing much to see near Xiao nan men station and always have to make a transfer to the other lines making it quite cumbersome. The only good thing about hotel location is that there is a 24 hour Carrefour across the road making it convenient for u to get stuff anytime.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The rooms are clean. The front desk is courteous and can speak English and Japanese. Internet is usually included and is not so fast but reliable. The bath tub is a square, traditional Japanese style shape with separate shower. There is a Carefour across the street but not too many eating establishments nearby. Seven Eleven is nearby (where isn't it I suppose). You can walk 10-15 mins to Ximending or Wan Hua for lots of local choices and they are pretty cheap. There is a minor metro statin nearby, Xiaonanmen Station, but it's almost faster to walk to Ximen station than to take that one if you want to go to the main areas. Overall, you get good rooms and service but not so good location for the average traveller. Five star is definitely stretching it, but it's still good for the price.

Room Tip: There are no big buildings nearby so there is not a big disparity in room quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APO AE
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Hotel staff were very helpful on check in. The breakfast was good and such a large variety. The hotel is in walking distance to the train station and so easy to get around. You can see Taipei 101 from the hotel. There is stores and restaurants all around the hotel and we never had any issues finding any places to eat. The hotels restaurant was not connected to the hotel but right outside and this is where you can order dinner or get drink specials. Food was good and priced decent. My stay was comfortable. The bed was not hard or too soft.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This hotel gives you a very standard feeling in a so called 5 star hotel. Room is standard setting with large bed, clean bathroom, good view from window. However, you cannot find any special or touching feel during the stay.
We were offered free internet but I think it is NTD400 for one day connection for other guests.
Location is not too bad, but not too great. Walking to Ximen Station takes 10mins. At such, we better to take taxi to those spots in Taipei.
Buffet breakfast is not attractive. Although you can see many choices, but none of it is tasty, and it it more or less Taiwan style.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We are satified with our stay last week at this hotel, except that it will be good for us to opt out the high tech toilet with free WiFi provided. Hope you can consider this suggestion for your future implementation.

Thank you & God bless!
Chwee Seng

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taipei Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taipei Garden Hotel

Address: No.1 Section 2, Zhonghua Road, Zhongzheng District, Taipei 10065, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 467 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Taipei Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Taipei Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taipei Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.