We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taipei Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eastern Star Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Eastern Star Hotel to your Saves list
Eastern Star Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11F, No.209, Section 4, Jhongsiao East Road, Da-an District, Taipei, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #302 of 446 Hotels in Taipei
3.0 of 5 stars 19 Reviews
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Taipei Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

excellent location, clean and nice rooms, friendly staff, good value for money, always again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    8
    5
    0
See reviews for
3
5
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cebu
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

The hotel's location is the best in Taipei (just outside the Zhongxiao Dunhua MRT in a busy area with department stores and restaurants within walking distance) and the price is affordable.The main caveat of this small hotel is it is on the 11th floor in an old building. The other tenants in the building are a KTV and some other businesses that might not be so child-friendly. It is also annoying that the guys (most likely working for the other tenants) keep on asking where I want to go when I take the elevator in the evening. The hotel probably is not suitable for small children and a lone businesswoman might not feel at ease given the environment, but the rooms are quiet and clean, the front desk people helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

I stay for 5 days 4 nights. The hotel lobby located on level 11.
Lift lobby iis rather small. you won't expect there's a hotel in this building.

Good :
Location is great, 3min to train station.
Room is clean and staff are friendly.
Watson just right under the same building.
A lot of small shops behine the building,
24hrs book store and Sogo is just winthin walking distance.

Bad:
Ktvs night club within the same building so for female traveller is not very good.
Room is rather small without window.
For budget traveller like me still find it ok just dat no WINDOW.
Breakfast from 7am to 10am. if you want to sleep abit longer u will miss the breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

This isn't a 5 ***** Hotel - so don't expect things like : Swimming pool , gym , etc ..

I find the hotel stay for 7 days kinda expensive .. like : SGD $1000+ which I can obviously use it for a better hotel.

The location is good but not recommended for ladies as there are KTVs .. but the men there don't really disturb you though ..

Staff were friendly. We asked them for recommendation for places of attraction.

Well - with that money .. you can obviously use it for a better hotel BUT location-wise - it's brilliant ! 3 minutes to the train .

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

I reserved a Business room at this hotel for a work trip to Taiwan. When I arrived, I was shown to my room and the first thing that I saw was an erotic picture of a scantily-clad couple making out over the bed. Upon closer examination of the room, I found a condom in the nightstand drawer, cigarette burns all over the furniture and carpeting, and permanently stained drink rings on the nightstand tabletops.

I was offered a different room, which I declined because I was not planning on staying there that night. Realizing that I probably would not be able to find a different hotel that night (it was midnight and I had been traveling for 24 hours), I decided to accept the offer. However, the woman at the front desk who made the offer told me that the other room had just been rented for a half-night.

I ended up staying in my original room that night and finding another hotel the next day. I did partake in their free breakfast buffet, which was mostly traditional Taiwanese breakfast food.

I spent a lot of time looking at the website for this hotel (http://www.eaststarhotel.com.tw/) before I made my reservation and thought I had a good idea of what to expect, but the website looks much nicer than the hotel itself.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2008

Stayed in this hotel for 5 days 4 nights, had promised myself, and calicocat, that i'll share my experience with everyone in Tripadvisor; and here it is.

Positive about the hotel:
- Reasonable rate for the rooms based on its location as it is located in the town - Singapore's Orchard Road so to speak. (room rate can be found at their website: http://www.eaststarhotel.com.tw/en/about.html)
- Within approx 5-15mins walk, one will see 2 Sogo departmental stores
- Right opp the hotel, is another shopping mall as shown in pic
- There's convenient stores such as 7-11 and family mart in every near corner; and a Watsons departmental store right under the same building.
- Approx 5 mins or less to walk to the train station.
- Just right at the back of the hotel building, there is the Bubble Tea street, with Starbucks coffee a few stores down the road. (approx 2mins walk away)
- Ding Tai Feng Restaurant just across the street.
- It's basically a location that is pack with youngsters.
- Service was good, staffs were very friendly and helpful.
- Breakfast was not too bad. In fact consider quite good for a budget hotel like such.

Negative about the hotel:
- As Calicocat had mentioned to me before that the hotel does not have a lobby, when i arrived, it seemed very much like a dodgy place to "live" in.
As it is located only the 11th level, (yes this hotel only has 1 level)there are other tenents running their business within the same building - seem like some Karaoke / Movie rental business (Now i understand what Calicocat was trying to explained to me, tks Calicocat.) Every early evening till late at night, there will be at least 3 men sitting or standing by the entrance of the hotel "lobby" (which is the building entrance). They are believed to be the staffs of the other tenents. It can be rather annoying and uncomfortable to have to walk pass them everyday without fail; unless you decided to stay in the room the whole trip; as esp my if you're a female. You've just got to be more alert and careful whenever if goin back to the hotel late.
BUT then again, to be fair, though the men stood there the whole time, they had never disturb any one of the hotel's guests; not us and a few other guests at least, for what i know.
- Rooms were rather dusty and small
- Drinks stains could be found on the dressing table

Overall, i would say that the stay was ok, may consider going back again.

  • Liked — Location and comfortable beds and toilets
  • Disliked — Location of the hotel, that is being situated among the other tenents
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eastern Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern Star Hotel

Address: 11F, No.209, Section 4, Jhongsiao East Road, Da-an District, Taipei, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #302 of 446 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eastern Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Eastern Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastern Star Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.