We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the hotel interior is badly design....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fortune Hiya Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fortune Hiya Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fortune Hiya Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.62 Section 1, Chongcing North Road, Datong District, Taipei 103, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #295 of 428 hotels in Taipei
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“the hotel interior is badly design....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012 via mobile

we have a 3 nite stay in this hotel, at first we are impressed by the newly renovated room although the room is small. eventually we discovered that it s noisy outside the corridor as high frequency of door close sound which very annoying. a nice advice to the follower, dun choose room 09 as this room with the strongest impact, which will affect your sleep n it s a no window room too, pls avoid.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    22
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
17
10
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Like one of your reviewers, I was quite apprehensive when my agent booked me and my friends into this hotel after reading some of your reviews. I insisted that we would not get rooms without windows! However, we were pleasantly surprised when we saw our rooms. Though the rooms were not big (we had earlier stayed a few nights in hotels outside Taipei and we were spoilt by the spacious rooms we had), they were clean and comfortable. We were told hotels in the city centre have small rooms. Locationwise, it was quite all right, with the metro station about 10-15 mins away and a night market about 5 mins from the hotel. I wasn't too happy about the breakfast especially on the first morning as the restaurant was packed with Chinese tourists and it was quite an ordeal looking for a table and listening to the noise! A word of advice - go for breakfast after 8am as most tourists are in travel groups and they have to leave early or be at the restaurant just before it opens! The food served was average. But generally, my friends and I were happy staying there for 3 nights.

Room Tip: Specify that you want rooms with windows - probably costs a bit more but we passed a room without wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Rooms are clean, tidy and organize. but old. toilet are small. but well lighted. flat screen tv, aircon switch is beside the table lamp,. breakfast is okay. not much for a city hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012 via mobile

The cleaners were very helpful, initiative to ring us up if we need to change our towels and other amendities although we have put up a request not to make up room. Overall this is one of a neat, clean & decent boutique hotel occupies by mostly Singaporean, Japanese and hkg customers.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We (38 pax) initially thought we were staying at "Hyatt" but was a little disappointed when it turned out to be "Haiyatt". The average reviews made some of us worried as we would be spending 5 days in this property. Now that we have experienced the hotel ourselves, I must say most of us are quite happy with the stay.

Rooms are very new (just renovated) with spacious bathrooms. My room has a weird layout (long and narrow corridor with bed right at the end) but it was clean and bed very comfortable. I have to agree that the bathtub is dangerous so try to request for a room with a standing shower. The water pressure is good. My grievances would be insufficient space for luggage and soft pillows.

Breakfast is boring after 5 days but no problem, you will never go hungry in Taipei. Staff could not keep up with the breakfast service when there were groups. There are only 2 guest lifts so you have to wait especially during busy breakfast hours.

I like the location of the hotel. Approximately 10-15 minutes walk can bring you to convenience stores, night market, underground mall, MRT, shopping centre (Qsquare) etc

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

I have booked 2 rms. One twin rm and the other triple rm.Clealiness of the rm was average as carpet was rather old but acceptable condition. The most scary area was the shower area,It is a 5 hands length bath tub but shape like an L inside the tub. Can you imagine in such a small tub and yet it is not flat inside....How to go in and out safely??? I nearly fall and crack my back and I'm just 40+. No matter what age you are it is not worth to try your luck. I will try to attach the photo for you.This apply to the triplet rm and the twin rm was fine.Hope the hotel will consider my view and get the bath tub change to a flat shower area so that my granny can have her shower the next time if i bring her.Thanks

Room Tip: So far i know twin rm is ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

We were assigned to a Deluxe Twin Room on the 11th floor that came with a shower and bathtub as well as a number of toilet amenities. There was also an electric kettle, hair dryer and a LCD television(plus points). The beds were clean and comfortable. The service from the staff at the front desk and housekeeping was excellent. The breakfast buffet spread was very good. It was international style with breakfast items like few types of bread with jam or butter, green salad, eggs, 2 types of meat(bacon, ham, chicken or fish), 2 types of stir fried vegetables, pau and dimsum, congee with a wide selection of side dishes including kimchi and sushi, dessert, fruits and beverages like coffee, tea, fresh milk, juices, hot soya milk. The train station was about 20 minutes walk away via Taipei Main Station Underground Mall. It is alomost fully sheltered along the way. 10 minutes walk away from Ningxia Night Market where we had dinner twice!

The only complaint we had was that the windows in the room were not secure as it opens easily(I brought my 3 years old girl along so I had to be extra careful) and the carpet was pretty worn out, dusty and bumpy.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fortune Hiya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune Hiya Hotel

Address: No.62 Section 1, Chongcing North Road, Datong District, Taipei 103, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#295 Top resorts Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fortune Hiya Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fortunehiyahotel is located in Taipei's financial and commercial, boutique shopping, and cultural arts center, sitting on 14 and 15 million pyeong, green parks, near Zhongshan MRT Linsen Park underground parking, convenient transportation extending in all directions, while both businessand casual environment. Museum design and decorating adopt a simple and elegant lines everywhere, Chinese and Western fusion, classic modern ingenuity. The hotel has 192 rooms, between between good daylighting, the average ping ranks the highest in the industry; every room and offers ADSL broadband Internet access and wireless dial-up system, the guest may at any time easily online world. In addition, the rooms provide intimate "pillow menu" Total feather pillow, air pillow, wool pillow, memory pillow eight different hardness of the material of the multiple choices. The combination of high-tech materials, plastic, relief, Sleep effect the Wellspring lying Shuli mattress, more guest to create the most comfortable sleeping environment. The hotel features a number of fine dining cuisine restaurant, providing the ultimate enjoyment of consumer tastes in the West, Japanese cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, AsiaRooms, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Fortune Hiya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Hotel Fortune

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fortune Hiya Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.