We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most dangerous shoer area I have come across” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fortune Hiya Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fortune Hiya Hotel to your Saves list
Fortune Hiya Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.62 Section 1, Chongcing North Road, Datong District, Taipei 103, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #297 of 467 Hotels in Taipei
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Most dangerous shoer area I have come across”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

I have booked 2 rms. One twin rm and the other triple rm.Clealiness of the rm was average as carpet was rather old but acceptable condition. The most scary area was the shower area,It is a 5 hands length bath tub but shape like an L inside the tub. Can you imagine in such a small tub and yet it is not flat inside....How to go in and out safely??? I nearly fall and crack my back and I'm just 40+. No matter what age you are it is not worth to try your luck. I will try to attach the photo for you.This apply to the triplet rm and the twin rm was fine.Hope the hotel will consider my view and get the bath tub change to a flat shower area so that my granny can have her shower the next time if i bring her.Thanks

Room Tip: So far i know twin rm is ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    27
    17
    9
    4
See reviews for
19
12
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

We were assigned to a Deluxe Twin Room on the 11th floor that came with a shower and bathtub as well as a number of toilet amenities. There was also an electric kettle, hair dryer and a LCD television(plus points). The beds were clean and comfortable. The service from the staff at the front desk and housekeeping was excellent. The breakfast buffet spread was very good. It was international style with breakfast items like few types of bread with jam or butter, green salad, eggs, 2 types of meat(bacon, ham, chicken or fish), 2 types of stir fried vegetables, pau and dimsum, congee with a wide selection of side dishes including kimchi and sushi, dessert, fruits and beverages like coffee, tea, fresh milk, juices, hot soya milk. The train station was about 20 minutes walk away via Taipei Main Station Underground Mall. It is alomost fully sheltered along the way. 10 minutes walk away from Ningxia Night Market where we had dinner twice!

The only complaint we had was that the windows in the room were not secure as it opens easily(I brought my 3 years old girl along so I had to be extra careful) and the carpet was pretty worn out, dusty and bumpy.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

The location is ok.No MRT nearby.the main difficulty was to find a good restaurant outside the hotel and couldn't find any.But the hotel itself has a good restaurent with a roof top garden .dining there was a good experience.service was good but felt could be better.Most of the staff speak english so communication was not a problem.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

I booked through a well-known online agency but for that rate I got what the hotel euphemistically called an 'inside room'. What that means is a room with no windows or natural light. When I objected, they offered me a room with a window - but at a higher rate. I said I'd prefer to cancel altogether and then they became very apologetic and offered me a better room at the original rate for four nights. The room I ended up in (for just one night) was fine but a bit drab. (The bathroom was good, however.) But I'd been left with a bad taste in my mouth and checked out after one night. NB the word 'Hyatt' in the name is a con. It has no connection to the chain!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

Stayed at the hotel in Dec 09, and had a bad experience there.

1) The aircon control in the room does not work, and the reason I discovered later was because the air-conditioning in the room is a central aircon, which means that you could not adjust the temperature.

When I checked into the hotel, I felt the room a bit stuffy and warm. I let the aircon run, adjusting it to 10 degrees, but it did not seem to make any difference. When I called the front desk, all they could say was that the hotel had adjusted the aircon to a heater as most of the guest felt it cold as it was winter. This was the 1st time I had stayed in a hotel where the aircon in the room was central control. At the end, to cool the room, I was told to open the windows, so I turned off the aircon and opened the windows, which had another problem - the noise from the roads.

2) The first room I was assigned had a 2 feet platform to access the bath area. The bath area had the smallest bath tub I'd seen, and the base of the tub was not flat. The non-slip mat on the bath tub did not help, and both my wife and I slipped while taking a shower. I had to request for another room without a bath tub and had a window (not all rooms had windows), and after being reassigned, the bath area was much better.

Both the air con and bath area problems are both design flaws.

Also, this hotel is not related to the Hyatt chain of hotels. Their collaterals and print on towels, shampoo, etc. show 3 different names:
a. Fortune Hotel
b. Fortune Hyatt Hotel
c. Fortune Haiyatt Hotel

The hotel had a lot of tour groups going in and out.

I would not go back to this hotel and would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fortune Hiya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune Hiya Hotel

Address: No.62 Section 1, Chongcing North Road, Datong District, Taipei 103, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #297 of 467 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fortune Hiya Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fortunehiyahotel is located in Taipei's financial and commercial, boutique shopping, and cultural arts center, sitting on 14 and 15 million pyeong, green parks, near Zhongshan MRT Linsen Park underground parking, convenient transportation extending in all directions, while both businessand casual environment. Museum design and decorating adopt a simple and elegant lines everywhere, Chinese and Western fusion, classic modern ingenuity. The hotel has 192 rooms, between between good daylighting, the average ping ranks the highest in the industry; every room and offers ADSL broadband Internet access and wireless dial-up system, the guest may at any time easily online world. In addition, the rooms provide intimate "pillow menu" Total feather pillow, air pillow, wool pillow, memory pillow eight different hardness of the material of the multiple choices. The combination of high-tech materials, plastic, relief, Sleep effect the Wellspring lying Shuli mattress, more guest to create the most comfortable sleeping environment. The hotel features a number of fine dining cuisine restaurant, providing the ultimate enjoyment of consumer tastes in the West, Japanese cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Fortune Hiya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Hotel Fortune

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fortune Hiya Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.