We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay with good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dandy Hotel - Tianjin Branch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dandy Hotel - Tianjin Branch to your Saves list
Dandy Hotel - Tianjin Branch
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.70 Tianjin Street, Zhongshan District, Taipei, Taiwan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 467 Hotels in Taipei
Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay with good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed in Elite Room from 31/8 to 7/9 in room 310. WIth window but no view at all but we have nothing to complain because we are out of the room most of the time. Spacious enough for 2 of us plus our luggages on the floor. We find that our stay is very comfortable and pleasant. We had a bathtub and the self service laudry is much appreciated. The room has the sleeping light which is not too bright and we do not have to switch on the bathroom light if we get up in the middle of the nite to use the bathroom. Air con power is good and we still find it cold when we set it to 27 degree celsius. This hotel is not big but really comfortable, pleasant, cosy and clean.

Although we need to leave our keycard everytime we leave the hotel, when we return, the staff all knew which room we stay and they do recognise us. Thanks to Sarah, Iris and some of the guys (sorry cannot remember their names) and the supervisor, Isolde for recommending the pineapple tarts and helping me to order.

Breakfast is adequate and nicely presented. Not much variety but enough for us and there are other breakfast options along the streets.

Round the corner there is 肥前屋 that serves yummylicious eel bento and KaoChi (equivalent to Din Tai Fung, i tink i love this better and value for money). Both places we went twice for our meals. MRT is about 5 mins walk to exit 3 of ZhongShan MRT and is easily accessible to other places by MRT. Ning Xia nite market is about 500m away which is walkable! 新光三月 is just at the ZhongShan MRT station. Try the Melange Cafe, worth the queue!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautylinlin, 經理 at Dandy Hotel - Tianjin Branch, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thanks so much! We are so happy to be interacting and communicating with our guests.
We are so delighted to know that you liked the hotel and enjoyed our services while you were here.
Especially, you remembered our staff's name. We appreciate your kindly and very happy !!!
We do hope that you will recommend us to your friends and family, and look forward to welcoming you back at Dandy Tianjin Hotel again in the near future!
Thank you again and cheers to you!

Warmest Regards

Daniel Chang / Assistant Manager
Dandy Tianjin Branch
(T)+886-2-2541-5788
(F)+886-2-2541-3737
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    115
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
98
94
60
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shenyang, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Me and my wife love this hotel. It is modern and clean. The location is also very good, not far away from a metro station.
The rooms are not very big, but have a plasma tv, refrigrator and safe.
The breakfast was delicious and the service was good.
We will come again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautylinlin, 經理 at Dandy Hotel - Tianjin Branch, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We would like to thank you for your valuable comments as well as your patronage of Dandy Hotel-Tianjin Branch Taipei.
I am pleased you enjoyed your time and our offerings.
Your review will speak to many future guests, and we truly need supporters like yourself to spread the word. You have done that and more and we can't thank you enough!
Thank you again and cheers to you!

Warmest Regards

Daniel Chang / Assistant Manager
Dandy Tianjin Branch
(T)+886-2-2541-5788
(F)+886-2-2541-3737
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. Initially, finding the hotel was a challenge despite having looked up its address on Google Maps, since the hotel is located on a back street away from the trunk roads. This, however, turned out to be a blessing as that also meant the location is quieter. At approximately 5 minutes walk from an underground station access was easy.

The front desk staff were friendly, courteous and efficient. Whilst we had to leave the keys at the desk they soon recognized us and had no problem remembering my name (I was the one who booked the hotel).

Having booked the pricier deluxe room, we were allocated a "designer" room with a green theme. The table was lined with grass (imitation grass, of course) as was the little mechanical organ in the room. There was also a white tree-like coat-hanging contraption which added to the ambience of the room, giving a grassland-like feel. There was a door leading to a tiny balcony but as the hotel was located on this back street there really wasn't much view to see out there.

The public areas of the hotel was also nicely designed. The small but sufficiently sized lobby and front desk was bright and comfortable and the lobbies on each floor were artsy, elegant and warm with features echoing the designs of some of the designer rooms. Pleasant surprises abound!

Breakfast was included but as we wanted to sample the food in the nearby area we skipped every breakfast. The nearby area has a great variety of cuisine ranging from beef noodles to Japanese eel rice. The lack of a proper restaurant on premise was therefore not a problem.

I would definitely return in the future when I need to stay in this part of Taipei!

Thanks everyone at Dandy Tianjin!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautylinlin, 經理 at Dandy Hotel - Tianjin Branch, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Cheers and good day, and thanks to you -not only for taking the time to write a review, but for your enthusiasm about our hotel.
We are really proud to receive your high marks.
We always strive to make sure that every person has a wonderful stay each time they visit Dandy Hotel-Tianjin Branch Taipei.
We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you back!
Thank you again. It means a lot to be able to interact with our guests this way.

Warmest Regards

Daniel Chang / Assistant Manager

Dandy Tianjin Branch
(T)+886-2-2541-5788
(F)+886-2-2541-3737
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

I enjoyed staying here, it is very clean and cute. The staff is very nice, the breakfast is free and not bad (cereal, eggs, toast, coffee and milk/juice etc.), a nice Mac available to use and printer. Newer decoration.

The room is small but has a nice bed, plasma tv, new decoration, clean, table, fridge and safe. The toilet is clean, small shower without tub.

My room had a leaking toilet and when the staff came, they said they were fully booked and to take a quick shower and he put many towels on the floor. So I really couldn't use the toilet, I don't think this is good service. They really offered nothing to make up for it.

Also, they are in the travel book for 2080ntd per night yet the postcard says 3980ntd per night and we paid 2470ntd. It is ok but not fair to publish in a book at a 50 percent discount so beware.

I will try another hotel but you can not go wrong here if you choose to stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DandyhotelTJ, 業者 at Dandy Hotel - Tianjin Branch, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Mr. Booth

Thank you for taking the time to contribute your review and point out our some disadvantage to improve it.

We are so sorry that we failed you in some areas particularly the restroom.
I already take actions to ensure the toilet quality, and will make every effort to avoid similar mistake in the future.
For our room rate which will be flexible amended since the high or low seasons of the tourism.

Truly thank you again for your comment as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do.
If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact us anytime and we hope to accommodate you again soon.

Warm regards,

Isolde Lin, Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stayed at the Dandy Tianjin in early August, partly attracted by the positive reviews on TripAdvisor as well as a decent rate I found on Agoda of about US$106 for their Elite Double. Detailed comments below:

Booking: First, I would recommend that potential travelers book directly from the hotel's website (http://www.dandyhotel.com.tw/EN/DandyT/index.aspx). Or at least check it for comparison's sake. I found out very shortly after making my booking that the rate on the hotel's reservation site was only US$88! Well, no point crying over spilt milk...

Location: The location of this place is excellent. It's within a 3-5 minute walk of the Zhongshan metro station. I prefer this area to Ximending, which can be very noisy at night. Zhongshan is one stop from the Taipei Main Station, where all the airport buses drop you in the city. I will suggest travelers taking the airport bus take a taxi from Taipei Main Station to the hotel (only around NT$20 or US$0.70), which saves from having to drag your baggage over flights of stairs. In terms of surrounding dining and shopping options, they are plentiful and cheap, and I strongly recommend shopping around the Zhongshan North Road Section 2 little alleys, where there are many gems of local designer / artsy stores which are great for relaxing shopping! There is a 7-Eleven convenience store right across the hotel, though I can't fathom why you would need it given it's Taipei and there is free breakfast provided. The area was definitely safe. No problems / concerns walking around at night.

Service: Service at this place is not great. It's almost clinical in its approach. When I asked for nearby dining options, the front desk wasn't able to recommend any. Even more surprisingly, they weren't able to direct me to Zhongshan metro station (and I spoke Chinese, mind you). Not to worry cos the metro station is super easy to find by yourself. But I felt there could definitely be improvement. When I missed my check-out time by 15 minutes (I did call the hotel to let them know I would be running slightly late because I took the wrong bus) they even reminded me they had "kindly" let me off without a late check-out penalty / fine. Seriously!

Room: The room is small but decently clean. There are only a few floors (I think the highest is 8?) thankfully served by an elevator. There was no view to speak of at mine (looking into a dingy back alley with housewives airing their laundry) so I kept the curtains drawn. There is a small long study table, LCD TV, a few free snacks and bottled water (a nice touch!), a queen sized bed (I felt the quilt was not very clean and had a pale yellow stain but overlooked it), an open-style concept closet (basically a short rod with four or five hangers) and no sofas / coffee table. Basically, the kind of set-up that's only good for sleeping. Bathroom was small and the shower area looked kind of old. The shower liquids / shampoos are out of a wall dispenser and smelled a bit like hand soap so I ended up using my own.

Breakfast: All stays, I understand, come with free breakfast, which is buffet style on the ground floor. This was simple and good - scrambled eggs, sausage links, toast, juices / milk, coffee, tea, and some small dishes of Taiwanese style cold dish (some type of seaweed or konbu salad and a German potato salad) which were tasty and good. I always appreciate free hot breakfast!

Amenities: Sadly, mine was a one night stay so I didn't get to check out the laundry room (which there is one). There are also free reading materials (newspapers etc.) in the breakfast area. However this is Taipei so you should not be hanging around the hotel!! Wi-fi is free and I had no issues immediately getting plugged in on my laptop and iPhone.

Other comments: I frankly felt this place was decent, but the price is a bit steep. Taipei is a very competitive hotel / B&B market and I have stayed before at cheaper but much newer, nicer places, with better service to boot. Advice to definitely shop around.

Room recommendations: None in particular, except to suggest that couples with kids / families NOT opt for the Elite Double option (6 sq m), which is going to be too small and doesn't even have a sofa for the kids . I understand there are a few rooms in this property that are "design themed" available at a higher price but didn't go for those so will leave it to other travelers to comment. This street is OK quiet so if you wind up on a low floor, it's not the end of the world.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DandyhotelTJ, 業者 at Dandy Hotel - Tianjin Branch, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your valuable comments as well as your patronage of Dandy Hotel-Tianjin Branch Taipei.

Thanks to you pointing out the our service did not meet your expectations and I am disappointed to hear that you had an unpleasant experience during your stay with us.
We always strive to make sure that every person has a wonderful stay each time they visit Dandy Hotel-Tianjin Branch Taipei.

We are deeply sorry that we failed you in some areas particularly the cleanliness.
I will certainly take actions to ensure the housekeeping quality,
Please accept our sincerest apology for any trouble or inconvenience caused.

We provide 4 different kinds of rooms and you would see clear descriptions on our website, hope it could help you to choose the room you are satisfied with next time.

Again, we highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do.
It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and we will hope to accommodate you again.

Yours faithfully,

Isolde Lin, Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I've been to Taipei 7 time but it was my first time staying at the Dandy Tianjin hotel. My first but not my last! I had a fantastic experience in this trandy boutique hotel. The staff is very friendly, welcoming and there's always a smile on their faces.

I've requested a quiet room, as I am a light sleeper and the room chosen for me was perfect. Very quiet and comfortable. The room was bigger than I imagined and the bathroom was nice.

The hotel provides a healthy breakfast with diverse selections, as well as a free computer and laundry service. The wifi ( I cannot live without! ) was free and stable. Thanks!

Dandy Tianjin is well located, near a MRT station, restaurants and shops. it's very convenient.

Thanks for everything! I will go back for sure!

xiexie ni

Alex Marsolais - Montreal

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DandyhotelTJ, 業者 at Dandy Hotel - Tianjin Branch, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear Alex,

Xiexie ni for taking the time to contribute your review and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thanks to you for liking our services and the room.
It's certainly our pleasure to accommodate you and we look forward to welcoming you soon.

Warm regards,

Isolde Lin, Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Dandy (Tianjin) this week ( Aug 9 +10) and found it to be great value. It's also 5 minutes walk from Zhongshan MRT station allowing quick access to night markets and other top sights. Breakfast was a nice mix of Asian food and some 'western' standards like cereal, scrambled eggs and so on. Wifi a nice touch. If you book online, make sure you have a copy of the receipt as there was some confusion at the checkout when, for some reason, our bill was higher than that on the internet booking. This was resolved in our favour after some checks were made.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to the next (better) class of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DandyhotelTJ, 業者 at Dandy Hotel - Tianjin Branch, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Sir,

It's our pleasure to had you stayed with us and pointing out the mistake.

For the confusion of the payment, it was included the rest of your room fee and the pick-up and drop of service. However the payments of the transportation has to pay by cash only, as the room fee, which you were willing to pay by credit card. Our staff made a mistake that she accidentally combined this two different ways of payment together.

We would like to apologize for this confusion and inconvenience made, also thank you for checking again with us of your bill and we would retrain our staff to be more careful.

We wish you would still choose us next time you come visit Taipei sincerely.

Warm regards,

Isolde Lin, Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dandy Hotel - Tianjin Branch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dandy Hotel - Tianjin Branch

Address: No.70 Tianjin Street, Zhongshan District, Taipei, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Taipei
#12 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
#39 Business Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dandy Hotel - Tianjin Branch 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walking into the Dandy Hotel, one will immediately find a bold contrast to the city’s often plush and over-powering hotel lobbies. Dandy Hotel’s Nordic ambience is calming with minimal décor; It is a place where you can relax and soak in a natural elegance.In the Dandy Hotel, take a break, log online, or just listen to delightful internet music. The elegant yet low-keyed fashionable city life gives you a new experience life. Every staff in the Hotel is your private secretary and housekeeper; they are ready to take care of you., every detail, any time. Take your time; enjoy the independent natural lifestyle of this hotel in the city.The “Dandy Hotel” Tianjin Branch in the Zhongshen district revealed new version of an old Taiwan hotel that stands on a new world stage. After a completely new remodeling, the Dandy hotel still shows you traces of history from the unique balcony of the 50’s. Stand on the balcony and recall the era of 50 years ago, when so many high officials and leaders visited here!The “Prince Hotel” opened at Hachijoudoori and Tianjin St. corner in 1960. It used to be a tourist hotel to host foreign tourists, which very few hotels in Taipei could do; plus the hotel was close to the American Ambassador Residency (which now has become the Spot-Taipei Film House), and was located on Tainjin St. where Japanese tourists gathered. Therefore, the Hotel was also a social place for officials and leaders.The Prince Hotel, with almost 50years of history, had become worn down by time and turned thoroughly obsolete. However, four professional teams, such as those from CityInn Hotel and Hotel 73, spend several months reorganizing it. You may find that the signboard of the old Prince Hotel is gone if you pass by the corner of Tainjin St. What has taken it over is and all white northern European building; the Prince Hotel has been renamed the “Dandy Hotel.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dandy Hotel - Tianjin Branch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dandy Hotel(Tianjin Street) Hotel Taipei
Dandy Hotel Taipei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dandy Hotel - Tianjin Branch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.