We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ximen Red House - Ximending

Ximen Red House - Ximending
No.10 Chengdu Rd., Wanhua Dist., Taipei, Taiwan (Neihu District)
02-23119380
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 121 Shopping in Taipei
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Full of tourists, but with street performances and shows to entertain kids and adults alike. A fun and affordable place to shop for souvenirs and eat street food.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“GREAT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

A lot of things to eat and buy. It is full of people every night. There there are also not so expensive but have to be selective.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    502
    278
    20
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A place for the young to hang out.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is the youth centre of Taipei. It is a shopping paradise. Ximending is located right at Ximen station. There is the famous Red House there. I have no idea what the place used to be, but the outer look of it is really cool. There are fortune telling shops, adult stores, souvenirs of any kind and of course food!

Ximending is really big and I don't think a day is enough to look around for the best gifts. We spent six hours there. Walking around that long was seriously tiring. And I'm not even sure we explored the whole place.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A fun place to hang out for some food and shopping for everyone in the evening.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I went on 1st January, 2014 evening. It was packed with fashion conscious young locals and tourists. Thousands of shops, and balanced with hundreds of food stalls where you can sit down, take a break, fill your stomach and use the toilet. I bought some shirt in a chain store there which was 50% off.
Lots of taxi to send you back to your hotel when you can no longer walk

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Night market with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

When we alighted from the cab, there was a light drizzle, but thankfully one of the restaurants that I wanted to visit "鴨肉扁" was just at the alighting point! After a good meal there (with slightly impatient and rude servers...), we had a pleasant walk around the area.

Generally an ok area to go with young children. Not overly crowded.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Little Jem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We didn't went to the Red House during our previous trip.
And thankfully it was a Sunday when we decided to drop by.
The outdoor stores are only open during weekends and they have lots of accessories especially for the ladies.
Inside Red House, there are small boutique selling clothes, camera accessories and many more.

It just directly outside Ximen station so do drop by especially on weekends!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ximen Red House - Ximending also viewed

 

Been to Ximen Red House - Ximending? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ximen Red House - Ximending, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.