We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay anywhere else!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orange Hotel (Kaifeng)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Orange Hotel (Kaifeng) to your Saves list
Orange Hotel (Kaifeng)
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.41 Section 1, Kaifong Street, Jhongjheng District, Taipei 100, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #183 of 467 Hotels in Taipei
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wouldn't stay anywhere else!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

I loved this hotel. It was clean, modern, close to MRT Main Station (about 5-10 min walk). It has free internet (yay!). Beautiful huge bed with nice pillows and comforters. There is a kettle in the room and free bottled water. There is a Starbucks and McDonalds right up the street, and many other local restaurants and coffee/tea shops nearby. There are two locations - one on Kaifeng Street and one on Hankou Street. I stayed at the Kaifeng location. If I came to Taipei again, I would only stay here!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    41
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
18
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

The 6 of us stayed in 3 double rooms. And the interior arrangements of the 3 rooms were different – because the size of the rooms is not standardized and one of the 3 rooms was relatively smaller where the bed is right next to the shower area glass walls.

The room should be described as a studio where the sink, the toilet, and the shower area are actually all in the room right next to the beds, with the toilet and shower area separately by glass walls only. It was fine with me and my bf but I am not sure for non-couples because you could just see quite clearly the silhouette from outside (well, much more than a silhouette actually…).

The most attractive part to me (a clean-freak) is that every thing looked very new and clean to me. Not even a patch of mold in the shower area. Though the water rays coming out from the shower did not all go in the same direction which was a bit annoying…

The location is excellent. It is just 5 minutes away from the airport shuttle – which is the line that transports directly between Taipei Station and the international airport unlike other shuttle lines that stop a hundred times to pick up people from various hotels…

Breakfast was included in the rate but it is not provided by the hotel themselves – you just have to go to the Dante Cafe (“Starbucks in Taiwan”) around the corner and my friends liked their coffee pretty much (I woke up too late for breakfast…).

However, there is only one small round desk mirror in the entire room. This is definitely not enough if both of us need to do make up and/or whatever-you-need-a-mirror-for when you are in a rush in the morning.

And even when I turned on the light of “Do Not Disturb” before leaving for the day hoping that the maid would not touch any thing in my room, I still found my room tidied up when I returned that night.

Walls are quite thin that you could hear the hangers sliding across the bar in the closet when the residents in the next room moved them in the middle of the night…

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
162 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights during September 08 as part of my family trip. Though the room is considered small and only a few rooms are available on each floor, the comfy hotel makes it ideal for business travel as well as for budget traveller. The hotel is located not far from Taipei Main Train Station and near the bus station to airport.

The room though small are comfortable with modern facilities and since this is a budget hotel, there is no restaurant but being in Taipei, there are plenty of choices for food around the vicinity. There is a convenience store just downstair as check in reception is on the first floor. There are added security as you need a card to access the room but then again, there is a staircase next to the lift so the security is just perhaps an "added bonus" which may not serve its purpose.

The toilet is an open concept as I was in a single room so it does not really matter but it is a nice avant grande concept.

For budget consious travller this hotel serve its purpose of having a comfortable place to sleep in near central Taipei and not far from Ximending, will definitely stayed here again if travelling with friends.

Good and highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

My personal trip to Taipei Taiwan and First time to this hotel, I like this hotel --"Budget Hotel" very much. This hotel's location is so good and near by Central Train Station and can take MTR to anywhere. The rate is very reasonable + simple breakfast. The hotel staff are very nice and friendly. Especially, the room is very clean and conformatable......I like it. I heard they will open an Orange Hotel in the end of Jan ( in CNY), I would like to there again and to introduce to my all friends to this " excellent " Orange Hotel.

  • Liked — location is good, the room is clean and confortable
  • Disliked — is a very good "budget hotel" for everyone
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

Booked the hotel through the hotel's website.

After arrival,me and my fiance were amazed at the quality of the place (although the lobby/reception is very small):Clean,good room size,excellent customer service (replying emails within a few hours),polite and helpful staff,convenient location (less then 8 min walk to the underground system MRT).

And most importantly the staff speak English!!

The bed is clean and comfortable,I had four nights of quality sleep in the room.The street is quiet enough at night.Although you can hear the motorbikes sometimes.Hotel amenities were excellent too!!And powerful hair dryer is provided,which is important for ladies :)

There are many TV channels (but not many English channel) to choose from,so even if you decide to have a lazy day or the weather isn't nice,it's not too bad.

There are places you can eat within 3 minutes walk from the hotel!There is also a 24-hour convenient store right beside the hotel,so if you are really hungry at 3am,you can still eat!

One thing that may not be so pleasant for some people (esp if two people are just friends) is the open plan toilet.there's no door to the bathroom/toilet area.(the twin room has a glass door.

  • Liked — Cheap,spotlessly clean and convenient location
  • Disliked — open plan toilet
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2008

This is a rather new hotel, their facilities are quite new and i stayed at the deluxe room for 5 nights.

Location: Near tapei mainstation, (underground shopping mall exit 1). Within walking distance to Xi Men Ding, approx 20 min walk. 24hr convience store right beside the hotel. There are many eateries around.

Room: Spacious, clean and design is nice. Air-con temperature can be adjusted. The bed is a little small for 2 person but overall i don't have problems for that. There is no fridge also. Toilet doesn't come with bathtub. WARNING: They are using glass doors for the toilet and shower area. Only the bottom part is covered with something to make it looks blur! Hence, this is a virtually see-through toilet! :) Also, there isn't any locks. If you are not comfortable with it and need total privacy, then this hotel is not for you. (perhaps you can email them to check whether all room toilets are like that)

Security: Not bad. Need to tap your room card in the lift in order to access other levels. Reception is on level 2 and i also saw there are many CCTV cameras around.

Customer Service: OK. They are able communicate in english.

The only negative comment that i would state is that you have to checkout at 12 and have leave your luggages at their reception due to space constraint. (i.e If you are leaving around 3pm, your luggage would be visible to anyone for the next 3 hours.) Nevertheless, they will write the no. of bags on a tag and i think is quite safe.

Try to request a room that is not at level 2 as it is very near the lift and reception area.

I would definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Liked — Near subway and rooms are new.
  • Disliked — Just take note of the see-through toilet doors. I got no probs with that.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2008

This hotel is all about its near central location. The room is small with no views but it is okay. Bus to the airport and other towns are only one block away while the Taipei Station (for MRT, high spee train or normal trains) is another two to three blocks away. Ximen is also within walking distance.

Breakfast is included but not in the hotel itself. The reception gave us two breakfast vouchers a day for use at the Ikari Cafe one block away. The voucher only allowed us to order hot dog, roast beef sandwich or another item (I don't remember what it is), with salad and coffee.

There is a Family convenient store right next door for your provisions.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast. I will get my own, there are numerous eateries nearby.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Orange Hotel (Kaifeng)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Hotel (Kaifeng)

Address: No.41 Section 1, Kaifong Street, Jhongjheng District, Taipei 100, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 467 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Orange Hotel (Kaifeng) 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orange Hotel-Kaifeng Jie has been open since Jan 2008. Operated by Forte Hotel Taiwan, we have been offering budget to Taipei an affordable alternative to 5-star hotels without compromising on good hospitality and design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Orange Hotel (Kaifeng) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Taipei
Taipei Forte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orange Hotel (Kaifeng), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.