We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor front desk service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Orange Hotel (Kaifeng)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Orange Hotel (Kaifeng) to your Saves list
Orange Hotel (Kaifeng)
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.41 Section 1, Kaifong Street Jhongjheng District, Taipei 100, Taiwan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #236 of 446 Hotels in Taipei
1 review
“poor front desk service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

reception service is extremely poor. Room condition is acceptable though. Not recommended to first time visitors to Taipei if you need any basic local info (eg local map or airport bus ...)as the receptionist would either tell you to find it by yourself or give you false info.

Room Tip: not recommended to first time visitors to Taipei.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    38
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
18
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

This hotel was recommended to me and I'm glad I listened to their advice. The hotel is in a convenient location, walking distance to the Taipei Main MRT, stores, restaurants, and the Ximen District. The room was clean and cozy for two.

Room Tip: We were in room 805 which is the front corner of the building, next to the elevator. It was a good r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Excellent location and friendly staff. They helped translate and write directions for my cab ride. Appreciate the pink toothbrush, all day tea/coffee and plush pillows. Sadly, room next door was a smoker. Try the spicy pork bun on the corner of Kaifong and Chongquing, pasta at Yentl and the vegetarian food across the temple. Lychee is in season so buy lots of it!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This is a very "cold" hotel, it was a great disappointment because we heard all about Taiwan's hospitality before our arrival. Since this is our first stay in Taiwan, it is dissapointing.
The lobby is on the 2nd floor and breakfast is serve at "Dante Coffee", a 100m walk down the road. So as a hotel guest, you literally see the staff only during checkin and checkout. For us, in both occasions, we got a very cold reception. They are not rude, but they answer to your queries and period, no suggestion, no greeting and nothing more then just a cold answer.
Room is very small with glass panel partition between toilet/bath room and bed. It is not totally transparent because they have some decor arts to cut away the transparency. However, the top and bottom are transparent, therefore, if you turn on toilet light in the middle of the night, your partner will get the full shine as well.
Room was clean everyday and cleanliness was ok. 2 bottles of mineral water were provided daily. You also get a reasonable speed Wifi in the room
Overall, i do not like the hotel because you just don't feel any warm at all.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a neighborhood very close to the Taipei train station and also the Ximending area. There is a convenience store right below the hotel so it's really convenient. A door card is needed to enter the building so it makes me felt safer too. The rooms are cosy, spacious and clean. Only one thing bad about my stay is the complementary breakfast at the cafe on the next block isn't good at all. The staff was also nice and friendly and there is good wifi signal in the hotel rooms and also the lobby.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Small, clean and Well located ! I spent 2 nights there.

They give you a coupon for breakfast to go to Dante café. Drinks are ok, the food was light for me. You can grab bakeries at the corner in the street before you go to Dante café.

I gave a good rate for its location.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

This is a good value hotel in Taipei. The location is super convenient. It is within a couple of blocks from the post office, a mall and the Taipei Main Station. On the bottom of the hotel is a Family Mart and across the street is a 7/11. There are other Family Marts and 7/11s nearby as well. There are a ton of restaurants near the hotel (including a McDonalds and a KFC). There are also a bunch of ATMs nearby and finding a taxi was very easy.

In the room were the following amenities: shampoo, bath foam and lotion (but no conditioner), slippers, a safe and a small empty fridge with a tiny freezer.

Included in the room rate was free breakfast (although you have to eat it at Dante Café which is a block away) and fee wifi (which was very fast).

There were 2 negatives:
One, the room had an open bathroom. There was a door but it was open a bit on the top (see my pic) and it faced the beds. So this could be uncomfortable if you are sharing a room with someone.

Second, the heat did not seem to work. So if you are one of those people that gets cold easily which I am you might get a bit chilly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orange Hotel (Kaifeng)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Hotel (Kaifeng)

Address: No.41 Section 1, Kaifong Street Jhongjheng District, Taipei 100, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #236 of 446 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Orange Hotel (Kaifeng) 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orange Hotel-Kaifeng Jie has been open since Jan 2008. Operated by Forte Hotel Taiwan, we have been offering budget to Taipei an affordable alternative to 5-star hotels without compromising on good hospitality and design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Orange Hotel (Kaifeng) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Taipei
Taipei Forte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orange Hotel (Kaifeng), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.