We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-deserved reputation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Tainan

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Tainan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Tainan
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.89 West Section, University Road, Dong District, Tainan 70146, Taiwan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Your Best Summer Deal
Ranked #1 of 94 hotels in Tainan
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Well-deserved reputation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

It's an oasis in the city. Very efficiently-run and yet personable. The hotel is just behind the train station, and next to one of the nicest malls in the city. It's in the university area - a much more organised part of the city, and yet as most public transport would pass by the train station, it's easy to get to anywhere. In any case, Tainan is a small city that is easy to navigate.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    357
    90
    17
    3
    7
See reviews for
106
114
55
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed a total of 5 nights at the Shangri-La in Tainan and only have positive comments. The staff were always friendly and tried to be of assistance whenever possible. The rooms were well maintained and comfortable with great amenities. The location is also ideal, as it is right next to a mall, the train station, and a short walk to other malls and lots of local eateries. We really enjoyed our stay and will be sure to book this hotel again the next time we are in Tainan.

Room Tip: You will get a great view of the city from the higher floors as Tainan does not have many buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is our second time staying at this hotel. From the minute we walked into the hotel we were wowed by the decor and the service. From the door man to the concierge desk it was obvious these people are very proud of their hotel and they enjoy working there. The downside to staying at this hotel is that it is a little bit of a walk to the historical sites. But if you don't mind walking this hotel is awesome.

The rooms are decent . I wish the decor was more consistent. Last time we had gotten a room with glass shower stall which was nice but this time we got a shower with a seemingly cheap shower curtain that does not prevent water to splash out of the stall.

Besides the problem with the shower our whole experience here at the hotel has been great! The food at the breakfast buffet is delicious and the servers are very courteous.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This spacious and beautiful hotel has lovely rooms and amenities galore! A club room here is well worth paying for. The club buffet was limited in selection, but everything offered was fresh, flavorful, and beautifully presented. The club room itself is large and airy but with several private areas. Large screen TVs are available and the staff will turn them to a preferred station or totally off as you request. In fact, the staff seemed eager to provide almost anything we could reasonably wish for. The club room has an open full bar with several wine choices. The hotel is across the street from a university and next door to a large shopping mall.

We got a couple’s massage in the spa and don’t recommend it unless you are pressed for time. The setting is luxurious and the staff was courteous but you can get better massages for half the price on the street. Reason? As anywhere in Asia, the street places serve mostly locals and hope you’ll return; hotel spas assume you are a one-off.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Coming from the w hotel in taipei to this was disappointing. The spa facilities were not that nice and they require you to not wear a swim suit in the wet areas and the local Taiwanese refused to allow me to enter unless I was naked, very unfriendly and inhospitable. This hotel is not friendly to Americans . I have never felt to unwelcome.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Tainan, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Joannayeh,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel, Tainan. In regards to the mentioned issue, it is with our policy that clothes (including swimming suit) and towels are not allowed inside the sauna jacuzzi area due to sanitation. We apologize if the way of our explanation made you feel uncomfortable. If you would like to discuss this further or can provide any other details please feel free to contact me directly at marco.vazzoler@shangri-la.com or my direct line +886-6-702-8818. We look forward to hearing from you and would certainly love to have another opportunity to provide you with a better staying experience at our hotel the next time you're in town.

Best Regards,
General Manager
Marco Vazzoler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was a trip to visit relatives in Tainan, travelling with two young children. The room is a large size and they provided a crib and baby tub. Staff were very welcoming and friendly, allowed us early check-in which was key to work around nap times. Location is a bit away from the hustle and bustle but the city is so small who really cares. There is a department store with a Starbucks and several restaurants, as well as a food court attached to the hotel. Across the street is a University which had nice green areas for the kids to run around after breakfast. My only gripe is that the carpets were not clean. My two year old's feet were filthy after walking around the room, as were my own. So we wore the provided slippers the rest of the time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLFEPHOfficial, General Manager at Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Tainan, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear AGlining,

Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback with us of your resent stay in Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Tainan. It is our pleasure to know that you enjoyed our service and location during your visit in Tainan. In regards to the mentioned carpet issue, we will inform our team to further investigate to it and ensure that the cleaness of the carpet is up to our usual standard. We would certainly love to have another opportunity to provide you with a better staying experience at our hotel the next time you're in town.

Best Regards,
General Manager
Marco Vazzoler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Rooms a bit outdated but clean for Taiwan. Room service excellent and very attentive to your needs and special order. Morning toast came with bread and an actual toaster. Bed v comfortable and bathroom lots of space. Check out easy and pleasant

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Tainan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Tainan

Address: No.89 West Section, University Road, Dong District, Tainan 70146, Taiwan
Location: Taiwan > Tainan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 94 hotels in Tainan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Tainan 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Tainan, Shangri-La Far Eastern Plaza Hotel, Tainan is the first internationally-affiliated deluxe hotel outside Taipei which offers an idea base for both business and leisure travelers. The hotel has the largest guest rooms among Tainan hotels, with various choices of restaurants and first rate facilities and services. Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel, Tainan, sets a new benchmark for luxury in Southern Taiwan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Tainan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Tainan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.