We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful rustic jungle stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chitwan Jungle Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chitwan National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chitwan Jungle Lodge
Save
You added Chitwan Jungle Lodge to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Rapti River, Chitwan National Park, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Massachussetts
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Wonderful rustic jungle stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed at the jungle lodge for 3 nights, and we loved every minute there. My 11 year old daughter keeps asking when we can go back.

The cabins are old and rustic, and yes the electricity is limited. How wonderful to be off the grid!

We were able to keep our camera batteries charged, and really it was great to not have our phones nor computers distracting us from the animals and sounds!

We loved the elephant treks and bathing. We had a long walk through plains after a canoe ride. We saw wild Rhinos from the back of an elephant. Monkeys, birds and crocodiles galore.

It took about 4 1/2 hours from Kathmandu. The ride, although long, was interesting. We had a private car pick us up and bring us back. The car was old but fine. We were comfortable. We enjoyed catching glimpses of towns and villages, farmers and school kids walking home.

This spot, and the people at the lodge will stay with us for a very long time. Thank you Santosh, thank you all!

Room Tip: If you don't like where they put you they are quite flexible about moving you around until you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    18
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
14
17
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We knew we'd have no power, though recharging was available a couple of times a day. The lodges were comfortable, good beds and excellent showers. Good range of activities, jeep safari, elephant safari, bird-watching and nature walks, bathing with elephants. Guides were personable, attentive, and knowledgable (20+ years experience for many) and were able to take us to good sights....troops of langurs, rhino and baby, male rhino, as well as spotted and barking deer, wild boar and lots of birds. Food was god, though some lighter options for lunch would be good. It was just wonderful to sleep in a park with all the natural sounds throughout the night. Lovely atmosphere of isolation. Excellent staff, restaurant, bar and elsewhere. Recommend spending three days or more so there's some time to just relax in the lovely surrounds.The activities were early and mid morning, then late afternoon., so the hottest part of the day could be resting. Bathing with elephants was truly memorable. Recommended.
It's a real pity the Nepal Government has decided all the in-park lodges, leaving the park to the militaru underfunded park rangers and the poachers.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

This place was an oasis of calm after Kathmandu. It is really well organised, enough time for activities and relaxing. Rooms are simple but well done and the elephant bathing is a real highlight. Tips are to take a torch as there is no electricity at certain times and if you like bird watching your own binoculars. If you are wondering whether to spend the extra money to be in the park it is worth it. Allow 5-6 hours to get there by road from Kathmandu.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stayed at Chitwan Jungle Lodge for two nights as part of a two week tour of Nepal. The problem for me was that the accommodation was not correctly described by the tour company that we booked through, hence the "What a Shock" title to my review.

Having stayed at "Lodges" whilst on safari in Kenya, I was expecting something similar and this was the complete opposite. I am a lady who enjoys her comforts and amenities which were certainly lacking at the Chitwan Jungle Lodge. I should have questioned the tour operator more thoroughly after I read some of the negative reviews but was assured that I should take the negative reviews with a pinch of salt. Needless to say I will be informing the tour operator of my findings.

My first shock was being told that there was only electricity between 6 and 8 in the morning, a couple of hours in the afternoon (which is useless as you are kept busy during the day so can't take advantage at this time) and between 6 and 8 in the evening. I understand being environmentally friendly but sometimes this is taken to extremes and, in this situation, certainly doesn't do anything for the ecology "cause" in my book.

The rooms were awful - the bathroom was a disgrace. The walls are paper thin so you can hear everything from the next room. The bed was one of the hardest I have ever had the misfortune to sleep on (or try to sleep on - I was constantly awake with back ache, in fact every conceivable ache in my body). The mosquitos are swarming in the room (even though I was told that they spray the rooms to get rid of them, which I don't believe). I was eaten alive, even though I had doused myself in insect repellent and had insect repellent wrist bands.

This is not the type of place to stay unless you are prepared to rough it.

Having said these negative things about the accommodation, I would say that the staff were helpful and friendly and the organisation of the activities was excellent. I thoroughly enjoyed the elephant safaris although we only had one animal sighting - a mother rhinocerus with her baby but that's the luck of the draw as they say.

Having been told by the tour company representative in Kathmandu not to go on a walking safari due to the danger of being attacked by the animals, I was a little concerned about the "Nature Walk" which I thought was going to be a leisurely amble around the surrounding area of the lodge. By experience, I found out (too late) that "Nature Walk" meant "Walking Safari" for over two hours. Some of the terrain was quite treachurous - probably fine if you are young and fit but not when you are mid-fifties and not so fit!!

All in all, I will remember this stay as an "experience" in my world travels but I wouldn't want to go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We picked this lodge out based on other recommendations. We didn't know what to expect but went away very happy. The director of the lodge spoke perfect english and was very courteous. Activities were well planned and kept things moving along to keep us busy. We saw many different animals and enjoyed the scenery. The rooms were simple and clean. The bathrooms were clean and had been obviously washed thoroughly before we arrived. Showers were hot. Electricity was available (with a charging station for electronics) several hours per day. The food was simple but hearty. The water was clean (boiled). The bar had cold drinks at very good prices.

The trip to the lodge was great, and you get to see quite a bit of the country side and the local people going about their lives.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed there 2 nights and enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere set by the skilled and top service minded staff. Went for elephant safari, elefant bathing, birdwatching, jeep safari etc. The rinos and crocodiles lives right outside your window. The nature is fantastic and the staff does everything to make you feel so well. The rooms are a little old .... but you only sleep there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile


On arrival there was no introduction no welcome, no orientation. The "manager" didn't greet us or even ask our names. Instead he informed us that there was no electricity (not correct there is limited power at specified times) and that activities started promptly (bootcamp style we discovered later, with a bell ringing) . He then demanded  payment  in full immediately for the planned 3 night stay (approx  $1100). He stated an unreasonable exchange rate for payment in Nepali rupees though we offered to check rates on xe.com 

Next we were told to have lunch immediately (it was now 3:50pm) or drop our bags in the room and be ready to leave in 10 minutes for the elephant safari. We opted for the latter, dashed to the rooms, went to the loo, put on appropriate clothes. we had to ask for a welcome drink back at the reception area and gulp it down in seconds. We were very nearly left behind. The seating on the elephant is dangerous as there is no rear safety bar which is standard with all other elephant rides we have taken in chitwan. During the elephant safari the mahout got off and left us for several minutes without explaining anything. 

In the morning we were woken at 5:45 for the bird watching even though we had not been asked to confirm if we wanted to do it or not. the breakfast was unappetising - badly fried eggs swimming in oil in a catering tray and lukewarm tea/coffee. We missed the nature trail - the guide left without us and no one came to the breakfast area to alert us that they were leaving. My daughter was bitterly disappointed by that.

The manager was rude, dismissive and threatening at times. Common courtesy was lacking and his manner offhand at best. The atmosphere at the lodge was tense and subdued and we felt uneasy and unwelcome. Others in our group will say more about our experience on their reports. 

We decided to cut short the stay and offered to pay one night pro rata even though we had been at the site less than 24 hours and missed lunch and two activities out of 3. The manager refused point blank and threatened not to arrange transport off the site and out of the park until we paid in full.   We were increasingly worried by the managers aggressive attitude and behaviour eg saying we couldnt charge our phones to check the exchange rate, we couldn't speak with his manger to discuss the situation, pretending to use both the landline and his mobile to call his boss and then pretending to be cut off.  

We didn't argue the unreasonable exchange rate and tried to pay cash but he would not accept the money. At this point things were very stressful and we decided our only option was to walk off the site 7km through the park to the road. After some minutes he caught us up and said he would accept the money and get a jeep - we gave him the money but he started arguing again about full payment for 3 nights and did not call for transport. We were getting very worried by his devious actions and no longer trusted him. We took the cash back out of his hand and said we would give it him only when he brought transport. Finally he called a jeep and we got in. As we set off I had to ask him for his name!  We were dropped off at the road and i asked the driver if he would take us to Sauraha - he said yes for 3000 rupees. We declined and got a public bus for 100 rupees for the 4 of us. 

We went to Sauraha and the following morning were shocked to find Santosh had tracked us down, called our new hotel manager 7 times, driven more than 30km to approach us at the breakfast table demanding we settle a small bar bill and threatening not to leave until we had. we asked for a full itemised receipt for the $360 we had paid and an invoice for the outstanding amount he was demanding but Santosh refused. CJL need to replace him immediately and get a professional in. 

Other reviews explain the dilapidated state of the site and room furnishings etc. CJL is not an Eco lodge it's a run down place with waste water leaking from rusty pipes and neglect masquerading as simplicity and oneness with nature . The place has a lot of potential though and perhaps under different management it could get better. Reviews from 2009 suggest it was better then. 

We are not fussy people, we have trekked and travelled and stayed in very basic accommodation in Nepal where we have always had a warm and friendly welcome.

All in all a dreadful experience for all of us but particularly for my young daughter and extremely poor value for money

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chitwan Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chitwan Jungle Lodge

Address: Rapti River, Chitwan National Park, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Narayani Zone > Chitwan District > Chitwan National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Chitwan National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Chitwan Jungle Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chitwan Jungle Lodge is one of the few select hotels operating inside Chitwan National Park, which is a World Heritage Site rich in unique flora and fauna. Come to CJL for an unforgettable jungle experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chitwan Jungle Hotel Chitwan National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chitwan Jungle Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.