We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel great staff , old building, fantastic views, hard beds!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tulsi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tulsi to your Saves list
Hotel Tulsi
P.O. Box 476, Barahi Tole, Lake Side, Pokhara, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 69 Hotels in Pokhara
Cairns, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ok hotel great staff , old building, fantastic views, hard beds!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

I am here for a week . Close to everything, great massages across the road! Rooms are a good size but very brown and dated, but the staff are great! Terrific views all around, food here isn't great but lots of good places nearby. If you do one thing here make it the Zip Line!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    17
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
11
10
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed at this place for two nights. The rooms were very comfortable and well-lit. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and the restaurant at the top (fifth floor) has an amazing view of Lake Phewa and snow-topped mountains.

I am very satisfied and would recommend this hotel to all travellers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

After six bone jarring hours from Kathmandu, this place was heaven.
Very clean rooms with CARPET - which was excellent and powerful heating, hot showers and thick blankets. It is modern and has large windows and plenty of power points and good lighting.
The front desk staff were very friendly and accomodating and being behind the main street, the place was silent.
Electricity can be an issue, as with much of the country, so ask, esp if trying to charge something, they do have a generator. The breakfast from the rooftop cafe and the views, were also great. Is a great base for Pokhara and beyond.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room that has a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our honeymoon after reading some of the great reviews on trip advisor. However, we had a pretty bad. Our room was very, very, very dusty - so much that my dust mite allergy went into overdrive, making me quite ill, something that had not happened for nearly 10 years. The bed also felt dirty - after a nice shower, it felt like you were back on the street after a night in the beds. The beds were also hard, even the pillows were hard. We asked for soft pillows, which we got, which helped. The brochure advertised 24hr hot water, but we had 1 hot shower in 3 days. To top it off, we ordered drinks at the restaurant and received off juice (which we didn't drink) and the milk tea gave me gastro - I know it was the tea as I felt strange in my belly almost as soon as I had finished drinking. It completely ruined our first night in Pokhara, sadly. A disclaimer, we can usually rough it with the best of them - and have stayed in budget hotels in Kathmandu and Chitwan. However, the fact that the drinks were either off, or making us sick meant we avoided the free breakfast - being worried we would get sick again. It turned out to be a wise choice as we had no other gastro problems when we ate every where else. On a smaller note, the TV didn't work - and when we turned it on, it made a bad noise then died. We unplugged it, worried it was faulty.

There are positives though. The rooftop restaurant has amazing views, and the location is perfect. It is in the middle of everything which makes it great for sightseeing. The staff were also very polite and friendly.

However, we decided to check out early and change hotels - and it was the best decision. We both felt better and my allergy went away. For what we paid, for such an unclean hotel with dubious food and drink - it was very poor. Judging by lonely planet and trip advisor, there are much better options for this budget. We're not picky people and were happy to do it on a budget, but to get sick from food and to have an allergy flare up because of dust, its really not worth it.

Hopefully they can get things together quickly because in all other aspects it is a fantastic hotel. It just needs the upper management to inject a bit of money (easier said than done, I'm sure) and bring it back up to scratch.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Four nights stay at Hotel Tulsi has been pleasant, and of course homely. The rooms were cleaner than expected, the staff were friendly and very hospitable. The stay couldn't have been comfortable without the quality service from the staff. My husband found the place to be too homely, he would love to be there more often everytime he visits Pokhara. Besides, Mr. Arjun Shrestha from the Reception in Hotel Tulsi has been very humble and helpful.

The new year couldn't have been more special, thanks to Hotel Tulsi's comfy rooms!

Room Tip: Room 406 has a great review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We were here for 2 days and found the experience quite pleasant. The hotel staff were very helpful and courteous. The only negative point is that the lighting in the hotel is quite dim. Apart from that I had no issues with the hotel. Additionally the hotel is right next to lake and in a commercial place so you will never get bored.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Great location just up the road from city centre, rooms are tidy, breakfast upstairs was good value.
The view from the roof is stunning, worth going up on the water tank area for a photo or two.
Power comes in and out but that's common place in Nepal
Would stay there again

Room Tip: Dont get ground floor as they are in the foyer and you hear all the people coming and going
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tulsi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tulsi

Address: P.O. Box 476, Barahi Tole, Lake Side, Pokhara, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 69 Hotels in Pokhara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed for both business and leisure travel, Hotel Tulsi is ideally situated in Phewa Lake; one of the city's most popular locales. Only 0.5 km from the city center, the hotel's strategic location ensures that guests can quickly and easily reach many local points of interest. This modern hotel is in the vicinity of popular city attractions such as Avia Club Nepal, MS Communications, Natural Health Center.Hotel Tulsi also offers many facilities to enrich your stay in Pokhara. This hotel offers numerous on-site facilities to satisfy even the most discerning guest.The hotel features 35 beautifully appointed guest rooms, each including internet access – wireless (complimentary), ironing board, separate shower and tub, internet access – wireless, desk. Throughout the day you can enjoy the relaxing atmosphere of the massage, garden, spa. Hotel Tulsi is a smart choice for travelers to Pokhara, offering a relaxed and hassle-free stay every time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Tulsi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tulsi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.