We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for The Money!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Barahi (P) Ltd.

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Barahi (P) Ltd. to your Saves list
Hotel Barahi (P) Ltd.
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Barahi Path | Lakeside, Pokhara, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 74 Hotels in Pokhara
Beijing, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Value for The Money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Panoramic mountain views, friendly and helpful staff and front desk, and best of all , only a five minute walk from Lake Pewa and the island temple. We had great luck and travel advise from the Guest Relation Executive,Purima Shreatha.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    113
    52
    17
    9
See reviews for
45
65
25
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Whereas I can appreciate that the New Years festivities bring complexities, we were not amused that the hotel staff could not properly inform us of the correct charges for our stay - despite making an online booking with a common travel portal. We were frustrated that the staff initially told us our room rate was a certain amount to only contact us again in passing out of the lobby that our rate was now higher. Essentially, they raised their prices by 50% for New Years Eve. I can accept that demand dictates prices; in fact, I knew the inflated price when I booked online. What's irritating is the staff on the floor being completely unable to understand our booking and reiterating 3 different room rates at different times. Advice to the hotel management: if your going to price gauge your customers, inform your food staff in advance so they don't take 40 minutes to check out while they figure it out. Training your staff in how to use the credit card machine might be helpful as well.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I booked my trip with a travel company. I left the hotels up to them. I never expected to have a pool! It is in a fantastic location with easy access to shops, restaurants, places to book paragliding and other things and a laundry service is just opposite the gates. Think it cost me 200NPR for 1KG of washing, and it was quick service (when there wasn't power cuts). I stayed at hotel barahi twice. The first time before a 7 day trek in building 2 and then after my trek in building 3, building 3 was better. After not showering for 7 days, I hoped there would be a nice hot shower that worked and it didn't disappoint, the bathroom facilities were all great. And breakfast is nice.

Room Tip: I thought building 3 was better than 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This hotel is well located near the Fewa Lake, approximately 5 minutes away from the main road, where all the souvenirs shops and restaurant are. Walk all the way straight from the hotel for about 10 minutes, you will reach Fewa Lake for boating experience and you may visit Barahi Temple (in the middle of Fewa Lake). Very convenient yet away from the noisy street.

Stayed in the new wing with mountain view, the view is beautiful whenever the mountains shows up, especially those moments with sunlight.

There's no lift, be prepared to climb the stairs. Porter is there to help carrying your luggage up/down. Spacious room, clean but looks dated. For me, the room is rather dim. both the bed sound the moment you sit on it. There's a caddle but no power cable, so no way to boil water. Very basic bathroom, please bring along shower foam. No hair dryer. No WIFI connection in the room unless you pay for it. Nonetheless, you may go to the lobby for free Wifi connection. Sometimes, you may get connected to the free WIFI from your room depending on the signals strength.

Service is good, helpful and fast, the staff can speak basic English. The food at the restaurant is not bad, average, not much choice though. There's cultural dance when we had dinner there.

Wish they could have put a notice for the visitors about the schedule for power cut, rather than having us to ask them. Hot water during winter time may depending solar power reserved/generated. Stayed for 2 nights, 1st morning (where we get up early to catch the sunrise) do not have hot water for washing up.

Room Tip: Ask for room with mountain view (rooms with even numbers) in the new wing. The higher floor the bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Great to chill out at the Barahi after being in the mountains for several days. Spacious rooms, beautiful grounds and delicious breakfast. The staff is helpful and the location perfect! Very close to the lake and views of the mountains.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Endless visits to Pokhara and yet I wondered how could I have not stayed here earlier!! Good rooms, friendly staff, loved the ambience of pool, garden and the bar. Perfect location - on the lakeside!!I am glad I stayed here and will definitely stay here in future too.

Room Tip: Ask for the garden facing rooms as you get the best view of the mountains from here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Great hotel for the money. Good breakfast with a lot of choice. Free wifi near restaurant
Room was clean but old and spacious with a bathroom.
Service is a bit on the slow side, but Nepal seems to be like that.
Would return to this hotel if we go to Pokhara again
Near to shops and lake

Room Tip: get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Barahi (P) Ltd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barahi (P) Ltd.

Address: Barahi Path | Lakeside, Pokhara, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Pokhara
#12 Spa Hotel in Pokhara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Barahi (P) Ltd. 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Barahi is located by the Lakeside. It is away from hustle and bustle, and pollution. Enjoy here the comfort of lush garden. Hotel Barahi's ambience and decor of the lobby with 85 deluxe rooms provide an international standard of accommodation and service with warmth of Nepalese perfect and complete hospitality. Lakeside is one long, highly developed strip in Pokhara. Here hotel and lodges alternate with fields and farm-houses. Hotel Barahi is superb. With so much natural attractions in Pokhara, you wil enjoy and cherish dream of destination in Hotel Barahi. A place where a guest is a God in disguise. Hotel Barahi is well-maintained. Rooms are projecting right over the scenic surroundings. There is block of new rooms, which are exceptionally nice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Barahi (P) Ltd. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barahi Hotel Pokhara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Barahi (P) Ltd., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.