We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trek” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poon Hill

Poon Hill
Pokhara, Nepal
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 59 things to do in Pokhara
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Poon Hill is one of the most famous view points in the World and in Nepal, it is probably the second most famous viewpoints after Kala Pattar. Poon Hill offers impressive natural scenery, marvelous views of Annapurna, Dhaulagiri, Machhapuchchhre and Himchuli. Would like to visit Poon Hill? Contact Breakfree Adventures for special offers including trekking guide, porters etc.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Trek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

This trek was hard but I was pleased I did it. The best way to see the mountains. I enjoyed walking by myself. You do need others help though, where to go. I didn't have guide or porter. Definitely needed the stick a man gave me. Should take your own water bottle and don't drop rubbish

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    93
    23
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
123 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“You can skip it, if you walk the whole AC circuit ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We walked the AC circuit from Besihasar, over Thorong La pass with excellent views of 8.000 peaks on our way. From Tatopani, we walked up some 1.600 m to Ghorepani to see Poon Hill next morning. From our lodge there were nice views already in the evening, including Dhaulagiri mountain. In the morning, around 4.30, we started to ascend to Poon Hill (paid entrance!!!!) in a hope, that we would see something more extra. It didn't happen. All was nice, but almost like the views from the lodge in Ghorepani. I frankly could not recommended that effort climbing there.
The worst came next day : whole day steep descent down to bus station for Pokhara.
Thousands of never ending stone steps and many tourists going up from Pokhara.
I felt very sorry especially for them. Paying so much money for this is completely unimaginable for me.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Sunrise spectacular”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

from the cold 45min hike in the dark up narrow switchback steps it is all completely worth it for the hot chocolate at the top and the spectacular view. Go really early as it can get quite crowded

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Poon Hill Platoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

A group of six of us made the day and a half trek up to Poon Hill from Nayapul. The climb was arduous but worth every step. The town of Ghorepani was a one horse town with cool little cabin accommodations and a lighting storm to end the night. The temps dropped but the beer and food were great. The early morning sunlight hitting the Annapurna Range was breathtaking. Stunning vistas meet you at every turn. Seeing the Himalayas at dawn is something everyone should see at least once in their life. Can't say enough good about the whole experience!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“VIEWS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

One gets Great views of the Annapurna Range. The landscape through the morning trek up is astonishing in sunrise! Wake up early, it is all worth it!!!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poon Hill also viewed

Pokhara, Gandaki Zone
 

Been to Poon Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poon Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.