We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, good value family business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laughing Buddha Restaurant

Laughing Buddha Restaurant
Hallanchowk-6, Pokhara, Nepal
061-530932
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 163 Restaurants in Pokhara
Cuisines: International
Restaurant details
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Friendly, good value family business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

During our week in Pokhara we tried many places before we discovered the Laughing Buddah, which then became our only eatery.

It's always a good sign when day after day you see a restaurant that is pretty much full 24/7.
Even better when the bulk of regulars customers turn out to be forigners working in the tourist industry.

The Laughing Buddah isn't a McDonalds but it provides honest to goodness, value for money Nepalese food served by friendly, helpful and informative staff.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    12
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Cheap but not Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We were excited after seeing this quaint small restaurant on the north side of Lakeside. Passing by one night a fellow sitting at the front looked across to us and said, "great food and cheap". It's neat atmosphere and solid recommendation prompted us go back the following night. Looking forward to a good meal we ordered two of their popular dinners, Buddha Chicken and Chicken Spring Rolls. Verdict? Worse meals we had in Nepal this trip. The spring roll was unexpected. The filling was fried noodles with a bit of chicken wrapped in - yes a tastey pastery, but those noodles. Never had we had a spring roll made with mostly a fried noodle filling. I expected possibly some noodles as in a Vietnamese style Spring Roll, but mostly thought I'd have a filling of vegetables, but with chicken added, but not 80% fried noodles in less than inspiring seasoning. We had many spring rolls over two-years of trekking in Nepal, but nothing quite like this. The dish came with fried potatoes and again, disappointing, soft and oily, nothing like the firm tastey fried potatoes we had from the Khumbu. The Buddha Chicken - same, same, nothing special. Give it a try if you like, but there are many wonderful eateries on Lakeside.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quick and easy place to get breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Nice and fast for a breakfast place, their lunch is very good as well. They are welcoming you with smiles, dinnertime can be a little slow.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Small is beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This place has been around for a while. I was ate here in 2006, 2008 and now. It hasn't changed, the prices are still the same and the interior is still as old as it was years back. What hasn't changed is the excellent food, good service and local atmosphere. This is my favorite go-to place for food in Pokhara.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pokhara, Nepal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Family owned, good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Small and simple place, family owned and good food for good prices. The daughter is a funny, lovely girl, always smiling and suggesting good options on the menu.
I had a veggie burger and it was one of the best in Pokhara, for a reasonable price, with chips and fresh salad.
If you sit close to the entrance probably street kids will ask you for money or food.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laughing Buddha Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Laughing Buddha Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laughing Buddha Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.