We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful homestay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rupa View Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pokhara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rupa View Guest House
Save
You added Rupa View Guest House to your Saves list
Lekhnath-11, Pachbhaiya | Kaski, Pokhara, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 220 Pokhara B&B and Inns
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“Beautiful homestay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

First time I have visiting Nepal 1978, and I came back to this beautiful country again and again...
Few years ago, i found out about the fantastic Rupaview Guesthouse, and I came again and again...

Rupaview Guesthouse is the perfect stay Nepal. The hospitality of family Thapa is famose. If you are a lover of nature and if you will join the real nepali life, you will find in Rupaview Guesthouse a perfect accomodation!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
10
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Vlaams-Brabant, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I stayed in Rupavieuw Geusthouse in April 2013 .For sure this was the best stay I ever had in Nepal where I already was for 6 times.
I defenitely enjoyed the time with a lovely caring family, the food was excellent, the environnement was just amazing between these 2 lakes and living with a Nepali family was a great experience.I just loved it!!
If you are looking for peace and if you want to discover the real Nepal, than you should go and visit Rupavieuw!
For sure, I will go back on my next stay to Nepal.
Congratulations to Damodar and his nice family!Catherine Maes Belgium

Room Tip: All rooms have a beautiful vieuw and are very quiet and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Rupaview Guesthouse for two nights during August. It was the rainy monsoon season. We initially thought we would go for the bungalow at NR500 a night, however, we took the first room we were offered in the main house on the upper floor for NR700 without checking the rest thanks to the stunning view from that room on two sides.

Staying with Damodar and his family was quite a pleasant experience. The location is wonderful in the middle of pure nature overlooking the Rupa lake and nearby hills and fields. This is purely a family run business. Damodar, his wife and two children take care of everything. We were the only guests at the time as it is a low season, however, listening to the rain, watching sporadic rainbows, observing the morning mist and clouds fade out or going for even simply sitting somewhere and enjoying the nature in this place are all worthwhile.

Food options are limited if compared to a touristy area with several choices, however, is fairly decent if you consider it is all being prepared at home by a family. Breakfast was our favorite meal (pancakes were great, and the coffee was from their garden produce!). Dinners are with the family and you would experience traditional Nepali dining (Dal bhat, gathering on the floor, eating with your hand if you want).. we have not opted for a picky option and went with the flow. It is not a place for a fussy or picky person or someone who would like to try so many different things probably.

The room was very clean and we appreciated the fact that it had a ceiling fan during the summer. We had expected bugs and ants in our room but you're in the middle of nature and they are in their home and nearly impossible to avoid but we had no problems with that at all. Mosquitoes were not a serious problem either given the amount of vegetation in the area.

Prices are very reasonable. Actually, below what we thought we would pay. (just above NR 3000 for two night stay with 3 vegetarian meals a day for two and a lot of bottled water).

Damodar was very responsive to all the questions sent via email upfront in a timely manner which was highly appreciated.

The place is a taxi ride away from the busy touristy Lakeside area. You can commute via a couple of bus rides, if you have an hour or so to spend. If in Pokhara, do consider a stay at Rupaview as it is really a pure place with nice people's company.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ameland, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Rupaview Guesthouse has all a nature and culture lover might wish.
For a family it is a great experience to see family life an join with the local children for whatever play or exchange of custums.
Biodiversity is very rich in this region with 7 lakes, more than 100 species of butterflies or birds can be spotted on rooftop or around in the lakeforrest.
When the weather is clear there is a breathtaking view on several 8000+ peaks in the complete Annapurna & Manaslu Himalaya as wel as parts of Daulagiri, Ganesha and Langtang.
Rooms are allmost perfect, bathrooms are above 'Nepali standard'. The full hot shower and a complete toilet fascility will not disappoint a Nepaltraveller.
Around the Rupa- and Begnaslake it is a great experience to walk to Rhododendronflowered hills of 1200 - 1400 meter. Swimming in the clean Begnaslake is fun.
For relaxing for a few days or a short week is Rupaview the best place to be in Nepal!

Room Tip: A lot of fittnestraining in trekking in the mountains! Begnaslake is the natural swimmingpool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

If you're spending any time around Pokhara you would be crazy not to stay here; only 40 minutes from the tat of Lakeside you can be staying in lovely clean rooms with lovely hot power showers at very little cost.
The setting is idyllic with all the birds of South-East Asia coming to play in the trees in front of your veranda each morning.
If you've been trekking the food will restore your faith in Nepalese cuisine.
There are some fabulous day treks to be done.
Best of all is the chance to meet a lovely Nepalese family, share meals with them and learn about the lives of the people in the area.
600 rupees by taxi from Lakeside.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bega, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Let me start by saying I've been in Nepal for a month, and this is the best place I've stayed. For 500 rupees, the rooms with attached bathroom were great. The food was amazing (funny how different dal bhaat can be), and the experience of eating with the family is something I will cherish. More like being accepted into a home than staying at a hotel. A great place to relax.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adare, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

What a great place to stay for a couple of days !
Delightfull and charming nepali family.
Fantastic view on the lake and the whole Annapurna range !
Off the beaten track , wittness real Nepali village live.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rupa View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rupa View Guest House

Address: Lekhnath-11, Pachbhaiya | Kaski, Pokhara, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 220 B&Bs / Inns in Pokhara
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is run by a local family, uses local products and supports the local community. Most of the food we serve is purely organic comes from our own garden and neighborhood. We use solar power and bio gas to reduce the demand of energy and we are leading guest house in the region for educating and working with local community to preserve its rich bio-diversity and unique land scape. In fact you will feel "a home away from home". ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rupa View Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.