We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Butterfly Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Butterfly Lodge to your Saves list
Butterfly Lodge
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Pokhara-6 | Lakeside, Pokhara, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 235 Pokhara B&B and Inns
Montevideo, Uruguay
1 review
“the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

it was an excellent place to relax, chill out, and rest! the rooms are very nice, and the service is very very good. it was very helpful , Kem, wich give us very good advice for our trekking, showing compromise and interesting in everything we ask him. Also our guide Deepak wich was recommended by him, it was the best!!!! Everything in our trip to pokhara was perfect
thank u a lot!!!!
Floro Uruguay

Room Tip: the best are the top rooms with great view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    38
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
46
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Unlike my experience in Kathmandu, I can't say enough good things about the Butterfly Lodge. The rooms are huge, clean and bright. The staff is friendly and helpful without seeming like they want to plan your whole trip for you (and collect commisions for everything).

After my week long trek, I came for a second stay and the front desk staff called me by name when I returned and made me feel very welcome and at home. Laundry service is cheap and efficient as well.

Room Tip: All the rooms with private bath are essentially the same, the higher priced rooms are on higher floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is a great guesthouse which caters to all budgets from backpacker rooms to the top floor deluxe rooms. I've been back and forth here over the years and it's never a let down. And it has the most wonderful powerful showers - a rarity in Nepal!

Lovely little garden to relax and read a book. Shame the restaurant is a little shabby looking, as it could be made into a nicer breakfast room. But then, you're mostly out and about other places eating.

Central location to lakeside with easy access to shops and restaurants. The staff have worked here for years and know their stuff, and are more than willing to help out with logistics, travel arrangements etc.

Room Tip: I wouldn't pay extra for the top floor rooms for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed at the Butterfly Lodge for 8 days whlist I volunteered at the Butterfly foundation child care centre which is located 2 minute walk from the Lodge.
The room I stayed in was large, clean, bright. In addation to this I had my own private bathroom with hot shower futhermore I had free wiress internet conncation in my room all the time due to the location of my room.
All the staff working at the lodge made me feel very welcome and were very helpful, plus they were friendly too. Spooken very good english.
Equally the food was cheep and very nice with many meals to choice from. If I was to return to Pokhara I would choose to stay at the Butterfly lodge again knowning I would be staying in one of the best hotels in town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Great location close to the heart of Lakeside, but far enough up the side street can get away from it all. Clean, large rooms and the best shower I had in all of Nepal! Owners very welcoming and went out of their way to make my friend who was on crutches feel very comfortable. Great vibe, free wifi and very relaxing after Kathmandu.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

A really lovely guesthouse with a beautiful garden, provides a great spot to relax away from the main strip in Pokhara. The staff made me feel very welcome and were very helpful. I stayed in a 2 of the rooms in the old block that have a shared bathroom and found them both very comfortable. They have back up lights so you always have light and the shower was lovely and hot!
I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I had the basic room with the shared bathroom and was very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Love this place!
Staff here are kind, helpful and make you feel very welcome

Also the guest house supports the Butterfly Foundation a nearby school for disadvantaged children so money spent helps a good cause

Clean room, good bed and free WIFI

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Butterfly Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly Lodge

Address: Pokhara-6 | Lakeside, Pokhara, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 235 B&Bs / Inns in Pokhara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Butterfly Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History and reputation of more than 33 years of running come together for an experience like no other at Hotel Butterfly. The spacious rooms, elegant setting and Nepali warmth make it a special retreat, and an experience to treasure. The Butterfly hotel is centrally located in lake side, just 10 minutes drive on a taxi from the Tourist Bus Station and 15 minutes from the Pokhara Airport. Situated just off the main road along the quiet road this hotel has 28 deluxe rooms, 8 standards on suite and 7 shared bathrooms all set up in big acres of land space. Beautiful big garden surrounded by the rooms lends itself to being a great place to relax, sitting in the sun (or shade of the trees). The roof top and top two floors at this Butterfly Hotel featuring incredible sights of the Fewa Lake and the views of Annapurna, Fishtail and other Himalayan ranges. Our lively atmosphere warm hospitality is enhanced by the outstanding services and amenities.Hotel HighlightsThe Butterfly Lodge exists to be responsible. There is a great feel-good factor in knowing that profits from this charming and friendly hotel go to support such worthy work with the poorer community of Pokhara. We carry our charity work in Nepal to provide children schools, educational and social support to the families that most need it, those who live in the hardest conditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Butterfly Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butterfly Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.