We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely owners - great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green Tara Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Green Tara Hotel to your Saves list
Green Tara Hotel
lakeside 6 Gaurighat Ratanamandir | Lakeside, Pokhara, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 69 Hotels in Pokhara
Edinburgh
1 review
“Lovely owners - great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed here for about a week in December 2011 - and had a great time - the owners are absolutely lovely and could not have done more for us. The best time for showers is in the afternoon and they are so powerful - lovely after trekking the Manaslu circuit and a week in Besisahr visiting friends! I would definitely recommend this hotel. The location is great it only takes 5 mins to walk to the lakeside and from there you can enjoy all the great cafes and places to eat!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    31
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
24
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We spent four nights at the green tara and were somewhat dissapointed by the relatively high rating it obtained from Tripadvisor. The hotel is located in a good location, which means close to Lakeside. Yet, during most of the day there was no electricity in the hotel. The rooms were ok, nothing special, they were not cleaned everyday and the breakfast (we took it only once) was of low quality. The staff was very polite but if someone looks for a hotel where he/she wishes to spend more than just the night, green tara is not recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

I have stayed at Green Tara Hotel several times over the last five years. Last time I stayed at the hotel was March 2011. Major reasons for my repeated stay at the hotel include 1) its superior location in the middle of Pokhara, 2) roomy and spotlessly clean rooms, 3) very friendly staff, especially manager Giri, who is always willing to help out his guests. Also, they have a rather large solar system in place, hence a better chance of taking a hot shower during the day. I never had a problem with a cold shower at this hotel.

I highly recommend this hotel to my colleague travelers in Pokhara.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a mountain view where you can see Mt. Machapuchure and Annapurna Range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limbo
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

If Nepali women were emancipated enough to provide a Sybil then the cast would be in place for a remake of the famous 70's comedy show. It was a fascinating insight into the Nepali hospitality industry. The other reason to stay here is from some of the top floor rooms on the left of the building you can watch the sun rise over the Annapurna range of the Himalayas from the comfort of your bed!

It also has wide cool plant lined corridors which add a great feel and must bring some coolness in the summer season. However they also provide a reason not to stay here out of season. Mainly for European tourists who haven't developed the South Asian virtue of tolerance when woken at all hours while people talk loudly on their mobiles which echo down the same corridors, slam doors, etc.etc..

I usually sleep on the floor but made an exception for the mattresses. However the view, the quirky kindness of the staff, the all but constant hot water, daily cleanliness (the fixtures and fittings are a little worn) at such a reasonable rates (do negotiate) honestly outweigh the noise at weekends. As you're also on a side road towards Dam-side you don't step out into a sea of toursit touts.

The staff are great and I'd love to have stayed as a fly on the wall. Any reasonable request or problem is sorted out swiftly. I can't say for sure if I'd stay again, I'd have a look round first. I'd advise the same If you can't get a mountain view room, but if you can - you could do a lot worse. You might even find yourself whistling a famous theme tune as you leave...

Room Tip: Top floor left hand side for the HImalayas but local noise at weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

We booked two rooms here on short notice after freezing at another hotel. We stayed with our two kids, 10 and 13. Girl was amazing and very helpful. Rooms are large and well equipped with endless hot water and our rooms were heated with tv. The view of the mountains was incredible from the roof. Pillows were very soft, but beds were rock hard. The southern facing rooms were much brighter with sun and are the pick. Quite location, but still close to the action. Food was good and exchange rates were as good as from any vendor n the street. Giri also arrange a almost new Corolla to transport us to Chitwan for 6000 ruppes. Took four hours in luxury! Great family location and family size rooms.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011 via mobile

We stayed there for couple of weeks and really had niece time, rooms were clean but beds could have been better !!!
Liked the location but Internet was slow,hopefully these would be sorted out if we happen to stay there when we go next time..
Overall we had niece time

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagoya, Japan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

They had very clean rooms and very very good foods. (Especially, I recommend Nepali and Indian style foods! )
All staff were kind and friendly like a family. They always helped me well when I needed.
You can relax at the roof top with beautiful mountain view and good Nepali tea!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Tara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Tara Hotel

Address: lakeside 6 Gaurighat Ratanamandir | Lakeside, Pokhara, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 69 Hotels in Pokhara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Tara Hotel is situated in natural environment with green trees around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Green Tara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Tara Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.