We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Koto

Koto
Central Lakeside, Pokhara, Nepal
Improve this listing
Ranked #85 of 175 Restaurants in Pokhara
Restaurant details
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good but expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The food is good and almost authentic Japanese (however the sushi were made more like Korean Kimbab and not like Japanese sushi, but this does not that mean, that they were not good.) Also the other items we ordered were good and tasty. The prices are however very high. For two people we ended up with a bill of 2600 Nepali-Rupees (Drinks only soda and Coke). A lot of money in Nepal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    18
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“not so good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This restaurant is ok only if you are an absolute sushi fan and can't live without it even in Nepal.
To my taste the food there is not good. So little fish in sushi! Mostly it's rice and seaweed.

Note that it's only open 11.00-15.00 and 18.00-21.00

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pokhara, null, Nepal
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pricey but authentic Japanese food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I really liked the Sushi I got at Koto. I was a bit sad because I wasn't full after i finished my dish which by the way didn't take long. I never spend more than Rs.500 so it was hard for me sustain myself. I didn't know the items were comparatively expensive than the ones at other restaurants. But we were there for a friend's birthday and we had already gotten our table and sat down. It would have been pretty embarrassing to get up and leave then.
Anyway, if money is not an issue and you are craving sushi, go to Koto.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehradun, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Copy of Real”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Everything smelled and looked authentic but in my limited experience with japanese sushi I know you should not be able to see through the fish; it was so thin I could not belive and that was after I sent it back because of crusty edges, I thought or was assuming I would get new pieces but they just trimmed off the crusty edge and returned the paper thin fish.
Smelled great but very expensive for not being satisfied.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Real Japan food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The sign is big but the entrance is a little hard to find. You need to go sideway and follow a narrow stair to reach the restaurant. Food is good, staff are nice and the place is neat and clean. Have nothing more to ask from them.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koto also viewed

 
Pokhara, Gandaki Zone
Kathmandu, Kathmandu Valley
 

Been to Koto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.