We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Home Base” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Holy Himalaya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Holy Himalaya to your Saves list
Hotel Holy Himalaya
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jyatha | Thamel, Kathmandu 97701, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 149 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Home Base”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

No electricity, no mini bar, no TV, and no hot showers…. Was my thought 12 hours into my stay at Hotel Holy Himalaya. HOWEVER, these were only minor concerns as I actually thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Let me explain…….

Using the hotel as a base prior and after our trek, I quickly grew to love this hotel. There is major works happening next door in which load shedding at times during the day/night means you may be without power for a few hours. Think about that prior to attempting to use the lift if you have heavy bags.

The hotel also has hot running water for showers only during 6-9 AM and PM, however special circumstances may mean they turn it back on at other times. We arrived back from our trek late morning and they happily gave us hot showers.

The hotel provides all the basic amenities we could want, welcoming security guard on duty, warm and clean rooms, attentive staff and a decent buffet breakfast. Free WIFI is also available throughout the grounds and rooms.

The rooftop terrace provides great views over Thamel, and on a clear morning we caught a glimpse of the surrounding snow-capped peaks. Was great to sit on the terrace in the afternoon, beer in hand reading a book and listening to the constant toots from cars in the distance.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    97
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
13
53
46
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

It's not a 5 star place, but you get a lot more than you pay for. Rooms are always clean, breakfast is awesome, and the staff are so nice they make you feel like family. It's the only place I stay in Kathmandu. It's right in Thamel, but far enough down a road that you are away from the noise and chaos. Great place!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
400 reviews 400 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Was in Nepal for a 2 night stay on a planned trip, coming into Nepal, roads are a horrible mess, cars, motorcycles, bikes everywhere! Lines on the road are just a suggestion here and in India, if you can drive in India and Nepal you can definitely drive anywhere in the world!

Coming into the hotel I was quite impressed with this small nice hotel off the busy shopping district, was a little shocked to find out only once there that Nepal actually turns off the electricity for upwards of 12 hours a day, so therefore when they only work off their generators the elevators do not run, so I would recommend rooms on the 1st or 2nd floor that',.s unless you don't mind walking up 4 stories. Letting others know ahead of time, since I was green to this. Also FYI please bring a passport size photo and $25USD for your Nepal visa, the airport can take your picture but I believe they charge anywhere from $3-$5.

Staff are very friendly and nice especially Ripu, nice young man always with a smile on his face, and just so so sweet. Computers on the 1st floor (4 in total). Just beware of all the traffic as you are walking along the narrow streets for shopping anything and everything you can think of is for sale. Breakfast unforunately was not the best in my opinion, "hot" food was cool to lukewarm at that, but since there is an adjoing kitchen they can probably make a special egg for you!

Rooms are very modest and basically only a bed, gets dusty if you keep your windows open since there is traffic going by periodically. Enjoy your journey!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights before the start of an organised tour around Nepal. V prompt responses to email before arrival, free airport pick up service and friendly staff in the hotel. Don't expect lift to work all the time due to planned power cuts. Free wifi, good breakfast and well located in a quiet street but close to shops and restaurants etc. Luckily were not affected by nearby construction work. There might be cheaper hotels nearby but 28 dollars for the room represented good value.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed here recently as part of Meaningful Trip tour group. Hotel has nice lobby with elevator and friendly front desk staff. Rooms are spacious and clean. WiFi in room. Located 2 blocks off main Thamel shopping streets, so it is quiet at night. In lobby, there even a scale to help trekkers and travelers weigh their bags. Just 50 meters outside is a great restaurant called Gaia.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merelbeke, Belgium
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The hotel lies in Thamel, the touristic site of Kathmandu. Very quiet within a few minutes walk from a lot of shops, restaurants etc... Free wifi. The staff is very kind. Breakfast was superb. They have a storage for the luggage during trekking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed at this hotel three times during the past three weeks. When we first arriving late a night they gave us two rooms (for a family of three) that were dirty, old and falling apart. There is only hot water for a few hours in the am and then again in the evening and the room was freezing cold. There wasn't even a counter in the bathroom to put toiletries and the floor gets soaking wet when you shower too. We switched to another room the following night and it was like staying at two different hotels. And when we came back for the final two nights before leaving we had an even nicer room - with beautiful hardwood floors and a bathtub (dry floors!). The room was very clean and even the blankets are changed each day. So be sure to inquire at the desk and ask for a modern room. Room business aside, the staff were amazing and everyone, from the guards, the bell staff, housekeeping, wait staff and front ofice staff went out of their way to be helpful. The breakfast was ample and delicious. Fresh fruit, pasries and hot items served buffet style were adequate. This hotel was down a quiet street in the heart of Thamel and walking distance to some great restaurants.

Room Tip: There is a new wing with more modern rooms ask for one of them! We loved 416.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Holy Himalaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holy Himalaya

Address: Jyatha | Thamel, Kathmandu 97701, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Holy Himalaya 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Holy Himalaya puts its guests right in the heart of Kathmandu's Thamel district, within walking distance to numerous bazaars, cafes and restaurants.Our hotel architecture is a traditional Nepalese Pagoda style with a multi-roof design. The hotel has 56 rooms which includes 43 deluxe rooms, 2 suite rooms and ONLY! 8 Standard and 3 budget rooms are without A/C. Mornings at the hotel start with an optional yoga class, and in the evening, guests can enjoy Nepalese food in the hotel's restaurant or savor a drink at the bar and rooftop terrace with magnificent views over the city and the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelBookers and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Holy Himalaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holy Himalaya Kathmandu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Holy Himalaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.