We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holy Himalaya Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Holy Himalaya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Holy Himalaya to your Saves list
Hotel Holy Himalaya
Jyatha | Thamel, Kathmandu 97701, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 138 Hotels in Kathmandu
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Holy Himalaya Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Holy Himalaya Hotel has a great location in the Thamel district of Kathmandu. The rooms are clean, have heating and air conditioning. in room WiFi and everything else you would expect from a nice hotel. The rooms and bathroom are of good size with a nice desk, extra chairs and a coffee table. One thing to be aware of in Kathmandu is that electrical outages occur daily but at this hotel seem to be limited to late morning to early afternoon. Usually this is the time you would be out of the hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the Deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    88
    20
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
50
39
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Great location, in a quiet street but still close to the busy shops and restaurants of Thamel.

They have a lovely little terrace on roof-top with actual grass.

The hotel provides free airport transfer, even at night, and that's very appreciable for newbies who don't want to argue with taxi drivers at midnight...

Staff is friendly. Hotel and rooms are nicely decorated. Breakfast is fine.

Got a room on 4th floor. Very peaceful during night time. Towels and bed sheets could be cleaner though... And to get actually hot water, one has to wait until morning, but it's the same in most of Nepal hotels...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Holy Himalaya is fantastic place to stay, especially if you are transiting through KTM. It is a budget hotel, but it was clean and comfortable with really good service. Breakfast was fairly good too. Hot water is guaranteed between 6 and 9 am and pm every day which is a pleasant reliability given the power situation in Nepal. It also has free wifi - which came and went, but during our second day it was reasonably fast for Nepal and stayed on for a fair while. The staff are very friendly and helpful and we had no cause for complaint. It is a budget hotel, but you get a lot for what you pay for.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We Have spent Our Two Night stay here Enjoyed the quiet claim location with Beautiful & Tastefully Decorated Rooms when asked the Heater Provided worked Excellent Delicious breakfast & The staffs were friendliest With the average speaking & Did great job when we needed really a Place that i will go back for with no hesitation This Hotel is really clean just in perfect back drops which still just takes Less than a minute to the Main Drag of THAMEL.

Room Tip: Take the Room beside the veranda
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The hotel is centrally located and you can walk to Durbar Square. There is plenty of souvenirs shops and the local market right around the corner. The property is located on a side street, in a quiet location away from the crowd and the noise. There is a patio with tables where you can sit outside and relax with a beer and a cigarette. The hotel is comfortable, rooms are spacious and the Internet connection is very good. Restaurants are everywhere. I did not eat at the hotel but they gave me hot tea and prepared a box-to-go with breakfast when I left for the airport very early. My only complaint is about the flushing system of the toilets. I used one in the common area and it was clogged. Also the toilet in my bathroom did not flush properly. Overall the hotel is worthy the little money they charge.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here before and after our Annapurna Base Camp trek. The rooms are clean and of a decent size. It is also centrally based but in a quiet street away from the hustle and bustle. The breakfast is average - make sure you don't go too late as the food is served cold! They only have hot shower water in the morning and evening. Overall, its an average hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I have stayed at Holy Himalaya Hotel for at least 4 times now and I am planning to return there again this year. The location could not be any better - right in the heart of Thamel near shops and excellent range of places to eat. The staff and service is excellent - I have been made feel at home every time I visit. Being picked up from the airport by them always makes me feel welcome in Kathmandu. Breakfast is good but there are a few places around where I enjoy it more, so I tend to eat outside. For those that like to get up early, ask at reception about free yoga classes on the rooftop! They are worth getting up for. It's my preferred hotel in Kathmandu.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Holy Himalaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holy Himalaya

Address: Jyatha | Thamel, Kathmandu 97701, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Holy Himalaya puts its guests right in the heart of Kathmandu's Thamel district, within walking distance to numerous bazaars, cafes and restaurants.Our hotel architecture is a traditional Nepalese Pagoda style with a multi-roof design. The hotel has 56 rooms which includes 43 deluxe rooms, 2 suite rooms and ONLY! 8 Standard and 3 budget rooms are without A/C. Mornings at the hotel start with an optional yoga class, and in the evening, guests can enjoy Nepalese food in the hotel's restaurant or savor a drink at the bar and rooftop terrace with magnificent views over the city and the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelBookers and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Holy Himalaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holy Himalaya Kathmandu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Holy Himalaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.