We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Thamel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Moonlight

Save Saved
You added Hotel Moonlight to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Moonlight
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paknajol, Thamel, Kathmandu 6667, Nepal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book direct get 20% OFF
Ranked #49 of 134 hotels in Kathmandu
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
“Best hotel in Thamel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

I stayed at this hotel while traveling in Nepal. The staff was very friendly and helpful! The rooms were clean and comfortable. I looked at a bunch of hotels while in Nepal and this one is by far the best! It is located in a great part of the tourist area! I would recommend this hotel to all of my friends.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    43
    27
    6
    5
See reviews for
17
31
29
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Moonlight hotel when we returned to Kathmandu after trekking in the Langtang region. The room was very comfortable and clean, a great place to relax and recharge after a difficult trek. There is also a good restaurant in the hotel, which is nice when you prefer to relax and stay in.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

Stayed here for the majority of a two week trip to Nepal and would return in a heartbeat; the primary reason being the staff who are some of the most courteous, efficient and charming hosts you could ever hope to encounter.

Set back a good 50 yards from the main road, the hotel is a relative haven of tranquility amongst the hustle and bustle of Thamel. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable and most have balconies with views over Kathmandu. The Moonlight is also one of the few mid-price hotels to boast a 24hr supply of piping hot water.

Also handy are the free online computers stationed in the lobby. Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel.

There is a lovely little courtyard garden to take advantage of at breakfast (reasonably decent buffet, included in rate), lunch or a beer at sundown, and a roof terrace with expansive views.

At around $30 per night, The Hotel Moonlight represents extremely good value and, when considering the bewildering range of accommodation on offer in Kathmandu, I would not hesitate to recommend this as one that really stands out from the crowd.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorinchem, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

In between a few trips in Nepal, we stayed several times in hotel Moonlight. Good value and very nice and friendly staff!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Very nice place and were made to feel very welcome.
Great location and awesome view from the roof.
Staff were super helpful with everything. Very clean and all round a great experience

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nepal
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

I and my friend stayed at Moonlight hotel for five nights, it was my first time in Nepal. I enjoy staying with them and feel is my home. The hotels is quite, comfortable, friendly and ever smile crews. Strongly recommend anyone can stay there without hesitation. They have lovely garden, the view from the roof is spectacular.

Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

Hotel Moonlight is in Thamel area, no doubt for how easy you can get into the center of shopping area, night and day life, sightseeing and eating. Ofcourse, Thamel area is so crowded with many soundtrack of the city, I stay in other hotels in Thamel before but there always some noice from the road and people but that noise didn't come through this hotel at all.

There are 2 ways to enter the hotel, some parking area for cars and lots for motorcycle. There is some small garden in the hotel area, nice and cozy. You can sit there talking with friends or alone drinking some cold beer, see the sky and look at the stars.

There are many types of room as same as other 3stars hotel, Roomy with air-conditioner, The room is clean, all amenities in the room is also clean and good condition. Anyway, the room is decorate in classic style with dark wood and dark blue rug so it's may make the room a bit darker. If you like trendy or modern style you may don't like this kind of decoration. The view from the room is ok because other buildings or houses around the hotel is not so high. The Room is safe enough for travel alone also. In each floor, there is an area that you can sit with your friends to relax or have some meeting.

All staff is nice, honest, polite, friendly and willing to help anytime.

Their restaurant is also good. Maybe not that much very delicious like 5 points from 5 but maybe around 3-3.5 points. There are many kinds of food for you to choose, in my oinion they can cook chinese or Tibetian food very well. There are buffet in the evening also.

Other services, there is a secure store room, in case you want to go trekking or another cities and leave something in Kathmandu. They will give you a card no. and receipt showing that which bag is yours and you need to return it to get your stuff back. One thing make it different from some others hotel is there are some snooker and pool tables in their area but I didn't get any disturb from those sound much.

For overall, everything is good, I like this hotel and it's not much high price too.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Moonlight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moonlight

Address: Paknajol, Thamel, Kathmandu 6667, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 134 hotels in Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Moonlight 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We at Hotel Moonlight would like to add another dimension to your memories of this wondrous Himalayan Kingdom. We not only provide you with comfortable accommodation, but also friendly service and right information for your safe and comfortable journey. The charms and delights of the fabled city of Kathmandu wait for you at Hotel Moonlight. Though situated in the heart of the bustling downtown area, Hotel Moonlight is an oasis of tranquility. There's a lobby on every floor to ensure personalized service. The hotel also has an adjoining annex with 17 rooms, with the same amenities and all luxuriously furnished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Moonlight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Moonlight, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.